Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
58 Reviews
1234.913795
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
February 8, 2014

more

February 8, 2014

Women In Film in Washington, D.C. has welcomed me and my Film Option book, "Pinkhoneysuckle," in to a world where I had no understanding. We, on joining are welcomed, and library and film services are made known with the kindest of welcomes. I read the news letter with amazement as I learn every thing from the language and complexity of film--Then I breath deeply to see this 3000 plus member organization allow people to offer services from anything to do with film or to search for housing or a particular job. The price of membership is negligible to the offerings from the best of film libraries to technical support to we technically challenged persons who knock at the door of WIFV. Any person who has an interest in great film will see results of so many studies, reports of foundations and for the young and excited, I see internships and scholarships which you will find no place else. There is an over tone of excitement laid out before us about whatever is going on across the country in film at any level, and I am surprised that I have felt such a personal and early comfort in laying forward issues regarding film in our country when my area is writing. I guarantee that one will learn something through this boundlessly generous organization just by asking, for at no point has someone failed to respond to this novice who knew nothing of how my book could transform from book to film. Generosity is the number one anchor of WIFV which I see open to all, and along with that--Hospitality, and placing the two together was like coming home to a good mother after a long time being away. I do thank Washington D.C., and the workers from directors to volunteers who keep this organization at a level of humility even with its wondrous works and generous support. May each know that we are aware out here as members, and I gladly give my name to this 5 Star organization. Thank you. Barbara Everett Heintz

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would endeavor to hold on to the spirit which has brought it to where it is at this time, for the measure of its worth is not overstated in its best reviews.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 19, 2013

more

December 19, 2013

The Women In Film and Video (WIFV) members are a group of filmmakers who bring expert knowledge, honesty, passion, and focus to all film and video projects. You are outstanding role models that continue to guide actors, writers, producers, and directors on a daily basis. I recently met with a feature-film producer and we are moving forward on the film development project. You are and continue to be a blessing in my life!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 19, 2013

more

December 19, 2013

I had the amazing opportunity to volunteer on WIFV's first 48 Hour Film Fest entry. It was exhausting and exhilarating at the same time. Exhilarating because of the caliber of professionals that were working alongside me. This experience led me to another opportunity whereby I produced and directed WIFV's first Web pilot. I cannot think of many volunteer jobs where I could tap into an entire organization for assistance. I was able to find production assistants, a DP, an audio technician, actors, a set designer, a costumer, an editor, a music composer and the list goes on... I have cultivated so many friendships from this organization! My experiences with WIFV have made me a little smarter, a little more confident and definitely more media savvy.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would clone Melissa Houghton, the director. She is amazing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

WIFV is a key organization that promotes the work of women filmmakers while providing the tools and training to succeed both personally and professionally. With over 70 events a year, WIFV plays a key role in the community by bringing together speakers, sponsors and influential members of the community to share their expertise and educate others.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

WIFV-DC Is a super-supportive community consisting of veteran, seasoned, and in-transition professionals in film, video, + just about any multi-media platform. You will find a healthy representation of freelancers, small/large production companies, and network executives. Each function presents a good time to network, get the latest industry news, and identify resources to grants and programming. As a three-year volunteer of its Image Makers program, I became hooked on WIFV and found each subsequent volunteer experiences equally rewarding.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

This is a group of very positive folks whose chief endeavor is to support women to the nth degree in their cinematic endeavors. They are so positive (and it comes from the top!) you just want to do your very best when working with them and you get a lot more in return, and I'm a guy...

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I first learned about WIFV when I was a WIFV intern and aspiring filmmaker in 2004. From my very first day in the office, I realized how much the organization served the needs of over 1100 members. The phones never stopped ringing and the WIFV list served was a vibrant forum for jobs, opportunities, and discussion about the DC film industry. I loved every minute I spent in the office-- this time allowed me to see not only how a small staff of two people could do enormous things included dozens of public events each year, but also, advocating for women both for jobs in the media but also the representation of women in the media... That same year, I was utterly inspired by the Women of Vision gala when I had the chance to see honoree Carrie Fishcer speak in addition to other major women leaders in the industry. That one evening inspired me to follow my dream to work in film production and to create visionary goals for myself.

Since then, WIFV has continued to be a huge source of opportunities and friendship for me. In 2011, WIFV became the fiscal sponsor of my documentary, The Last Song Before the War, and, with the help of Melisssa Houghton, the film received an NEA grant for post production and outreach. Today, the film is playing in festivals around the world.

I can't say enough good things about WIFV or Melissa Houghton. The organization has opened so many doors for me, that I can't imagine my career without them. Finally, the camaraderie and support of every member that I meet is incredibly touching. Whenever I have the chance to give back, I do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would wish it had more funding so that it could do more of the same great work!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I cannot say enough positive things about WIFV. I joined the organization as a neophyte in the film world and quickly found a wonderful, supportive and talented community in WIFV. I recommend this organization to every filmmaker I meet and attend as many of their valuable events as my schedule allows. Their dedication to the profession is remarkable and both men and women will find helpful resources through WIFV.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

WIFV is an awesome organization for anyone looking to be more connected and educated within the media space.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

When I first began exploring the area, I joined WIFV DC and was blown away with the quality of people I met. The work members are doing is not only passionate and personal, but also echoes the world class production community that resides in DC. There is such a diversity among members - producers, editors, writers, artists, filmmakers of all genres as well as those in the technical side of the biz. We even have members who just love film. Its been a tremendous resource for me and constant inspiration. There are numerous workshops and roundtables regularly, as well as a commitment to community involvement. Any member will find support and expertise available to them, and the warmth and hospitality of a real community. As a new board member, my experience was validated when I learned most members chose to run for the board because they simply wanted to give back to an organization that has given so much to them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to find ways to clarify and streamline the many and varied opportunities presented so the public can grasp all it has to offer.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers