Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
63 Reviews
1234.920635
Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
September 12, 2014

more

September 12, 2014

WIFV DC far exceeds a geographical classification. Its members are actively connected to a global network of industry professionals, expertise, and resources.
September 12, 2014

more

September 12, 2014

Workshops, meetings, social events are exceptional and always timely with
leading experts in our communications arena. The executive director and team
very helpful in anything you need. I have been a member for years. A very supportive
community!
September 4, 2014

more

September 4, 2014

As a newer member of the film industry, WIFV DC has given me incredible access and support to a world I had previously felt was closed off and only for a select few.

I have no film school background nor connections but I have great curiosity and a desire to work and learn. Luckily, WIFV,
its board members, Director Melissa Houghton & staff, provided mentoring opportunities, tons of member support and exposure, and accessibility.

WIFV DC has been there for me from my first screenwriting workshop ever to helping me co-produce a short film and a lot in between.

Thank you, WIFV DC!
September 4, 2014

more

September 4, 2014

Women in Film & Video is a great resource for anyone working in the industry, both in DC and beyond. I have found several jobs through their email listserve, gone to countless wonderful panels and events, and have made inroads with what turned out to be a very supportive community of filmmakers. Their listserve is amazing - you can find anything you need, even if it's not film-related (but especially if it is). I can't speak highly enough of WIFV. I would not have as high quality a career in the DC video production scene if it weren't for this organization.
September 4, 2014

more

September 4, 2014

Women in Film in Video is an incredible resource to independent producers in the Mid Atlantic States. The group is actively engaged with the film and broadcast community on all levels, local, regional and national. The executive director is incredibly pro active and is always looking for new and inovative ways to provide its members with programs to enhance their skill set and knowledge base. The WIFV list serve provides independent producers with a sense of community and support.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 8, 2014

more

February 8, 2014

Women In Film in Washington, D.C. has welcomed me and my Film Option book, "Pinkhoneysuckle," in to a world where I had no understanding. We, on joining are welcomed, and library and film services are made known with the kindest of welcomes. I read the news letter with amazement as I learn every thing from the language and complexity of film--Then I breath deeply to see this 3000 plus member organization allow people to offer services from anything to do with film or to search for housing or a particular job. The price of membership is negligible to the offerings from the best of film libraries to technical support to we technically challenged persons who knock at the door of WIFV. Any person who has an interest in great film will see results of so many studies, reports of foundations and for the young and excited, I see internships and scholarships which you will find no place else. There is an over tone of excitement laid out before us about whatever is going on across the country in film at any level, and I am surprised that I have felt such a personal and early comfort in laying forward issues regarding film in our country when my area is writing. I guarantee that one will learn something through this boundlessly generous organization just by asking, for at no point has someone failed to respond to this novice who knew nothing of how my book could transform from book to film. Generosity is the number one anchor of WIFV which I see open to all, and along with that--Hospitality, and placing the two together was like coming home to a good mother after a long time being away. I do thank Washington D.C., and the workers from directors to volunteers who keep this organization at a level of humility even with its wondrous works and generous support. May each know that we are aware out here as members, and I gladly give my name to this 5 Star organization. Thank you. Barbara Everett Heintz

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would endeavor to hold on to the spirit which has brought it to where it is at this time, for the measure of its worth is not overstated in its best reviews.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 19, 2013

more

December 19, 2013

The Women In Film and Video (WIFV) members are a group of filmmakers who bring expert knowledge, honesty, passion, and focus to all film and video projects. You are outstanding role models that continue to guide actors, writers, producers, and directors on a daily basis. I recently met with a feature-film producer and we are moving forward on the film development project. You are and continue to be a blessing in my life!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 19, 2013

more

December 19, 2013

I had the amazing opportunity to volunteer on WIFV's first 48 Hour Film Fest entry. It was exhausting and exhilarating at the same time. Exhilarating because of the caliber of professionals that were working alongside me. This experience led me to another opportunity whereby I produced and directed WIFV's first Web pilot. I cannot think of many volunteer jobs where I could tap into an entire organization for assistance. I was able to find production assistants, a DP, an audio technician, actors, a set designer, a costumer, an editor, a music composer and the list goes on... I have cultivated so many friendships from this organization! My experiences with WIFV have made me a little smarter, a little more confident and definitely more media savvy.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would clone Melissa Houghton, the director. She is amazing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

WIFV is a key organization that promotes the work of women filmmakers while providing the tools and training to succeed both personally and professionally. With over 70 events a year, WIFV plays a key role in the community by bringing together speakers, sponsors and influential members of the community to share their expertise and educate others.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

WIFV-DC Is a super-supportive community consisting of veteran, seasoned, and in-transition professionals in film, video, + just about any multi-media platform. You will find a healthy representation of freelancers, small/large production companies, and network executives. Each function presents a good time to network, get the latest industry news, and identify resources to grants and programming. As a three-year volunteer of its Image Makers program, I became hooked on WIFV and found each subsequent volunteer experiences equally rewarding.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers