Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
12.90909345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
February 10, 2014

more

February 10, 2014

helping the most vulnerable women in the world is not only the right thing to do, it is also a really good investment in our future. women for women is great and very necessary work. I am proud to play a very small part.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
June 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am glad to be of help to women who have so little. When thy write to me, I am amazed they they have such passionate devotion to their children and lives, and I am also ashamed that have so much and am often disgruntled.
My donation is so little out of my purse, yet it makes a big
difference to them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
June 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This is one of the truly great programs. I have been with the program for many years.
The letters from the women who it has helped are WONDERFUL!
I appreciate the help they are getting for the betterment of their lives - and their families lives!

Thank you!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a thing!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Mary 159 and Maria de Magdala have pretty well said exactly how I feel. I am also a professional woman but I live in Canada. My travels have taken me to some very poor countries such as Columbia and Bolivia where I was humbled by the people who still smile even though they live in such poverty. For a long time I looked for a charity that I would like to donate to....One that would really make a difference to the lives of people who need help. I was confused because I didn't know if I should dontate to an organization that helped children, families, countries...there are so many choices. What I have learned is that orphans are often the result of widow's being forced into new marriages to escape poverty. I definitely want to help the children but I thought that if I helped the mothers first the children and the community as a whole would benefit and thus the reason I chose Women for Women International. I donate money monthly and every time I see a commercial about a charity that needs money...I feel good inside tknowing hat I am doing something that I feel every person who can afford it should be doing. So far I have sponsored two women and I plan to continue sponsoring as long as I can afford it. Thank you Women to Women and please continue the fight against poverty.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a professional woman in a caree of counseling, living in the United States of America. I realize how much of the bounty of life I enjoy is an accident of my birth. I have a deep desire to be of help to women around the globe, whose birth has given them more life challenges than I can ever imagine. It is with deep humility and profound admiration that I donate to Woman For Women International. This organization has a program and structure which allows women to learn the shills they need and the support they deserve to create a life of advancement and hope for the people in their lives reliant on them. I am beyond humbled to receive a letter from a woman who has been helped by my donation. She often expresses deep gratitude and I am brought o tears with gratitude that I have been able to use the benefits of my position to help another woman and to be edified by her courage.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

October 28, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

I was very excited to begin sponsoring woman in need, but from the beginning the communication and website were woeful. I was sometimes notified a payment had been received ($27 per month) and sometimes not. I received no communication from the first woman I sponsored until after her program ended. When I tried to talk to learn more about their organization, I found many of their click-ons take you nowhere - their site hardly works. Eventually I was assigned to another woman without being notified, and only then realized they give themselves permission to do so in their fine print, (on another page from the sign-up form). Finally, as directed by their site, I called in and cancelled, in May '11. In Mar '12, they dipped into another credit card I'd used to make a one time donation of $100, and simply took $603. I went back over their correspondence, and found no notification of this $603 payment. On my account, where they say 'click here for a full summary of your donations' it brings up the figure of $81 where they should have listed over $1200. Though I cancelled my association with them long ago, they just assigned me to another woman and I had to call in again and demand that they stop. They had me scheduled to make another payment in Mar '13. I don't agree with one reviewer that they only care about big donators. I say they have set this up to prey upon the poorer donators mercilessly. They actually steal from their supporters' credit/debit cards. They should be investigated in the most serious way.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 1, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 1, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

I was originally so pleased to find this non-profit. As a donor for a few years, I looked forward to exchanging letters with my overseas "sisters," and I was confident that my donations would support the endeavors of women trying to improve their own lives and the lives of their families in the midst of harsh and, possibly, oppressive circumstances. There was never time for a relationship to develop, however. Either there were no letters (understandable if the sister was illiterate) or as I waited for an answer, I'd get a notice that my sisterh ad changed. Other times I'd be notified of a change but would never get the profile of the new sister. Although I kept getting e-mail alerts that Women for Women had received my donation, e-mail requests of their administrators fell on deaf ears. Finally, I changed to another non-profit with similar goals as Women for Women, but I had to call twice and e-mail a few times before the administration heeded my request. My American Expres card continued to be tapped. I had to call Am Ex and put a block on that payment. About two months after stopping payment, I received a letter from a sister accompanied by a letter from W. for W., ackinowledging that I had "left," but still enclosing the letter of appreciation from this sister. What was that about if not to impart shame or guilt? In all, the cause is great; the need is enormous, but the administration needs tightening, despite the myriad obstacles in running such an organization. Oh, and I also called the sponsorship director, thinking my feedback regarding my experience might help them to respond to donor frustrations was met by indifference. I left a message but never received a reply.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 24, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

March 24, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

hello, all - I have read the reviews here - i have no special allegiance to W$WInternational - I am sponsor at $30./month of a woman in Nigeria. When my original recipient left the program, or was chronically absent for whatever personal reasons, a new woman was assigned to me & I rec'd a thorough letter advising me of that. I do not remember receiving an original letter re. the 1st woman I sponsored (mentioned above), but I may have overlooked it. I would like to respond to a few of the remarks made here when donors & a volunteer reviewed the org for this website. If you will look at this site, you can see that W4WI gets a good review at Charity Navigator: http://www.charitynavigator.org/index.cfm?bay=search.summary&orgid=7623. I see no mention here of this org's poor accounting, so the person who wrote that may want to explain bit. I would also like to say that while I am sure it is disheartening to work as an intern in an (allegedly) disorganized org. & not to receive appropriate raises, people have to know that to keep the admin costs low, the good work of interns is necessary -- & appreciated by me! This is a large org w/ a far-reaching mission, so I'm sure it is difficult to run it w/ low overhead while relying a lot on interns. Finally, the donors who were not satisfied w/ the customer service at this org may want to balance that against the work the org accomplishes. Myself, I support an org that is grassroots & empowers women. Your $30/month undoubtedly saves MANY lives in the family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

use care re. the # of interns you use & the supervision they have

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

women

Why did you make your donation at this time?

a mere $30/month saves & improves lives of WOMEN & they get the donation & support directly (not their husbands, etc)

What would you tell others about this organization?

see my comment/review above

February 26, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 26, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

I have been sponsoring various "sisters" over the past few years for $27 per month. I am about to cancel my monthly sponsorships for the following 2 reasons. First, I used to be able to access their website and have had recent problems with accessing their website with no solution. I've called their D.C. offices and spoken to staff over the phone who vow to help but then never solve the problem. Second, all of a sudden my credit card charges boost to $30 per month without my knowledge. The staff member politely stated that when I agreed to the Terms and Conditions clause on signing up as a sponsor, I agreed to gradual increases as necessary, and they will make reasonable effort to notify me of those intended increases. This is shady. I donate to other causes and have a limit to what I want to contribute to this organization. Their reasonable attempt to notify me is QUESTIONABLE. They are highly disorganized in their offices, unable to solve basic access problems to their website, and give you the run around when on the phone while not helping to solve your problems. I've never been critical of a non-profit before...this is so unnecessary. Once you lose a donor I am sure that they will never return.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 23, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

February 23, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

I love the idea of sponsoring a woman, but, with Women for Women, there isn't much difference between sponsoring a woman and giving a donation to the organization. The customer service is surprisingly horrible. They seem to disregard small donors like those who would sponsor a woman. I have had absolutely no communication except that they received payment in the first 5 months of signing up. I sponsored a woman years ago and stopped because of slow responses. I decided to try again and the customer service has gotten even worse. When I tried to cancel my account, I called, spoke to someone who was very nice and then received a confirmation email that my payment has been received. Calling again, I've been put on hold for over a half hour. It seems they rely on large funders, which is great for them. If the work that they claim to do is real, they are amazing. However, it feels that they disregard/disrespect people who make small donations. I was happy to hear that the woman I sponsor should not be affected if I pull out. It seems they don't need my donation at all. Has the sponsorship just become a marketing tool? It should be eliminated from their website.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers