Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
March 24, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

March 24, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

hello, all - I have read the reviews here - i have no special allegiance to W$WInternational - I am sponsor at $30./month of a woman in Nigeria. When my original recipient left the program, or was chronically absent for whatever personal reasons, a new woman was assigned to me & I rec'd a thorough letter advising me of that. I do not remember receiving an original letter re. the 1st woman I sponsored (mentioned above), but I may have overlooked it. I would like to respond to a few of the remarks made here when donors & a volunteer reviewed the org for this website. If you will look at this site, you can see that W4WI gets a good review at Charity Navigator: http://www.charitynavigator.org/index.cfm?bay=search.summary&orgid=7623. I see no mention here of this org's poor accounting, so the person who wrote that may want to explain bit. I would also like to say that while I am sure it is disheartening to work as an intern in an (allegedly) disorganized org. & not to receive appropriate raises, people have to know that to keep the admin costs low, the good work of interns is necessary -- & appreciated by me! This is a large org w/ a far-reaching mission, so I'm sure it is difficult to run it w/ low overhead while relying a lot on interns. Finally, the donors who were not satisfied w/ the customer service at this org may want to balance that against the work the org accomplishes. Myself, I support an org that is grassroots & empowers women. Your $30/month undoubtedly saves MANY lives in the family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

use care re. the # of interns you use & the supervision they have

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

women

Why did you make your donation at this time?

a mere $30/month saves & improves lives of WOMEN & they get the donation & support directly (not their husbands, etc)

What would you tell others about this organization?

see my comment/review above

February 26, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 26, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

I have been sponsoring various "sisters" over the past few years for $27 per month. I am about to cancel my monthly sponsorships for the following 2 reasons. First, I used to be able to access their website and have had recent problems with accessing their website with no solution. I've called their D.C. offices and spoken to staff over the phone who vow to help but then never solve the problem. Second, all of a sudden my credit card charges boost to $30 per month without my knowledge. The staff member politely stated that when I agreed to the Terms and Conditions clause on signing up as a sponsor, I agreed to gradual increases as necessary, and they will make reasonable effort to notify me of those intended increases. This is shady. I donate to other causes and have a limit to what I want to contribute to this organization. Their reasonable attempt to notify me is QUESTIONABLE. They are highly disorganized in their offices, unable to solve basic access problems to their website, and give you the run around when on the phone while not helping to solve your problems. I've never been critical of a non-profit before...this is so unnecessary. Once you lose a donor I am sure that they will never return.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 23, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

February 23, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

I love the idea of sponsoring a woman, but, with Women for Women, there isn't much difference between sponsoring a woman and giving a donation to the organization. The customer service is surprisingly horrible. They seem to disregard small donors like those who would sponsor a woman. I have had absolutely no communication except that they received payment in the first 5 months of signing up. I sponsored a woman years ago and stopped because of slow responses. I decided to try again and the customer service has gotten even worse. When I tried to cancel my account, I called, spoke to someone who was very nice and then received a confirmation email that my payment has been received. Calling again, I've been put on hold for over a half hour. It seems they rely on large funders, which is great for them. If the work that they claim to do is real, they are amazing. However, it feels that they disregard/disrespect people who make small donations. I was happy to hear that the woman I sponsor should not be affected if I pull out. It seems they don't need my donation at all. Has the sponsorship just become a marketing tool? It should be eliminated from their website.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 20, 2012
14 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 20, 2012
14 people found this review helpful

I worked for Women for Women International for 9 months. I first work as an (unpaid) intern in the Sponsorship Department and then as Data Entry clerk. The Sponsorship Team consists of 4 paid employees and the brunt of the work falls on unpaid interns and volunteers. These unpaid workers are responsible for keeping track of and sending sponsorship packets (information about with whom sponsors are matched and updates on their "sisters") and forwarding correspondence between sponsors and the women they are sponsoring. There are not nearly enough employees to perform this work and the fact that this organization uses unpaid labor as a crutch to cut administrative costs is truly disappointing. Letters and photos between sponsors and their "sisters" pile up and those working and WFWI are told to SHRED these heartfelt letters and family photos when they have not been forwarded in time. It would be in Women for Women's best interest to invest in their workforce so they are not breaking their word to those who keep their organization running rather than paying their founder and CEO exhorbitant amounts of money and relying on unpaid labor to cover up their shoddy business practices. Following the internship I worked in Data Entry where the Director of our department avoided contact with the Data Entry clerks after we emailed asking for a meeting to discuss the fact that no one had been paid properly for overtime worked. The Director claimed she was "out of town" for a while (though we saw her in the office) and three months later we received flowers as opposed to the requested meeting. While I don't deny that women have been helped by this organization, I was appalled by what goes on behind the scenes and hope that Zainab Salbi will eventually spend more time at her headquarters so she can become aware of the issues faced by her employees.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 16, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

more

February 16, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

I loved the premise of W4WI. I sponsored a woman in DRC 6 months ago. The website says that I sponsor 0 women, although my credit card is charged the agreed $30 per month. I received one email with a woman's name and no other updates. I have emaiied and left phone messages and cannot make contact with anyone to stop my sponsorship. I was excited about supporting a woman and having a way to communicate with her, but this has not happened unfortunately.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 6, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 6, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

I donated and placed an order at Christmas with the hopes of giving my purchases as gifts and at the same time spreading the word about the organization -A win/win for everyone .
The gifts were ordered at the suggested time so that we could in fact send them in time for Christmas-
As
Christmas neared and the package wasn't appearing in the post day after day-several phone calls were made -but no bracelets were EVER received! We have YET to receive the items we ordered in December.
I am so disappointed. I am disappointed in the Organization and even more disappointed on behalf of the many people who were hoping and expecting to be their beneficiaries.

Kelly Gonda

P.S.
I might add the organization has failed to do its part in even trying to track our purchases in any way.
Is this customary?

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 14, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 14, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

The founder of W4W is an amazing human being, and I don’t know how/ where she finds energy and inspiration with so much despair, war, and illnesses around her. I’m very happy what her work and that of her organization has achieved. I’ve sponsored 10 sisters with W4W since 2008, and have corresponded with all of them. I’ve also received their information and a summary when each woman completes her yr of training. I’ve written letters and sent photos as well. I never had issues with payments. W4W’s goal is to assist women (education, learn a skill to earn income, and thus impact their communities) and not for them to become pen pals with sponsors. Remember that most cannot write, which require someone else to do for them (who must know English and other “sponsor language”), which in turn is time consuming. I rather see them use the time for their education than to write me. Sometimes sponsors make the assumption that everyone speaks and write English; far from it. Remember that those women live in survival mode every single day.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Sponsoring 10 women and knowing the completed their program.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Why did you make your donation at this time?

Monthly donations since 2008.

What would you tell others about this organization?

That I'm very satisfied with the results.

October 3, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

more

October 3, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

I was excited about supporting a women in a conflict zone. It's been over 4 months and never received any kind of information about her nor about how my contributions are being used. They promised updates but received nothing so far. Too disorganized. In the meantime. my contributions keep being subtracted each month. I'll cancel my participation in this program. Hope I can find a more serious one soon.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

none

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide info to the supporters on how their contributions are being used. Do not promise changes/updates if you are not planning to provide them.

September 23, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 23, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

I've sponsored several women through W4W and am very satisfied with the work this charity does. I agree with some of the more critical reviews that the feedback from the women I've sponsored is sometimes sparse, but that's not what attracted me as a sponsor. The good work W4W does for victims of war is what matters most to me and I feel good about supporting them to that end. More correspondence from my "sisters" would be great but as long as W4W is making a difference in the lives of the victims of war, I feel my money is well spent.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Letters and exit updates from some of the women I've sponsored.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide more regular correspondence from sponsored women.

September 12, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

more

September 12, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

I, too was excited to donate to an organization that would help another woman on a one-to-one basis. Unfortunately, WWI does not live up to its glossy promises. Instead of the promised monthly updates, I have received but one half-completed entry questionnaire in 10 months. Despite contacting the organization and being promised an update, there have been no further communications or information on my sponsored sister. This group excels in fancy advertising, but it seems the money must all go to an ad agency, because the promised program never materialized.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

No tangible results.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Cut back on the slick ads and start performing as promised.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers