Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
30 Reviews
1234.666675
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

So impressed with the support that WAW provides for women and children in crisis both here in New York and in Afghanistan under very challenging financial and political circumstances. From my experience visiting their New York site and getting to know the staff and seeing their programming, WAW should be very proud of the dedication of their staff and creativity in providing services under often difficult circumstances. I know that WAW makes a difference every day and I know that they have a lot on their plate keeping shelters open in Afghanistan as the political landscape becomes often dangerous. The New York site is both welcoming and efficient in helping women and children create a community here in the States and meet challenging adjustment issues.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 4, 2014

more

August 4, 2014

I was at you Eid Mela on Augest 2nd it was a disaster the music was horrible they promised henna tattooes there was no henna tattooes they said there will be food but there was no food it was our Eid weekend with our families we wanted to have fun but unfortunately it was a horrible experience we will never attend any of your events in the future. I think the event coordinator should get fired for doing such a poor job.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Definitely fired the program coordinator

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 2, 2014

more

August 2, 2014

As a volunteer, I had the opportunity to see what a great organization WAW is. They help the women of the Afghan community wholeheartedly. The WAW team helps these women become confident through their wonderful programs and events.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

WAW has done a great job in helping Afghan women who face lots of difficulties. I have had the honor to meet some WAW members - they are dedicated individuals who work wholeheartedly and selflessly. They work in a very tough environment, majority of Afghan provinces and districts are unsafe, yet WAW colleagues are there, with their limited resources. Their work should be supported and their voices should be heard.

Thank you.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 28, 2014

more

July 28, 2014

I found WAW on google, signed up for the annual 4014 Gala in NY and was totally amazed by the life changing work they do for women of Afghanistan. The personal stories of children, at the Gala, who benefited from WAW services touched my heart. WAW is in the front lines helping the most vulnerable members of the society -women and children- in times of war (yes war in 21st century). WAW dedication and focus is changing the world one child and woman at a time. More power to them!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more support for the fundraising activities. There is so much demand for their services.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 28, 2014

more

July 28, 2014

I have working as a volunteer tutor for school-aged children at this nonprofit organization for six months and plan to continue during the next school year. I find it rewarding. The paid and volunteer staff make me feel welcome and useful.

Since I am a retired English as a second
language teacher, I able to help the children practice their English and complete their homework. Many of the kids are newcomers to the USA. They attend public schools where classes are large and teachers cannot tailor every lesson to the kids' levels. Therefore, the extra help is needed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 28, 2014

more

July 28, 2014

I have been volunteering at WAW for almost a year teaching adult ESL classes and tutoring children. It continues to be a wonderful teaching and learning experience. Everyone's time and efforts are welcomed and appreciated. The women are amazingly strong and authentic and motivated. What a great community of people doing incredibly important work. Supporting and empowering women helps families and communities in immeasurable ways. Glad to be a little part of that.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 28, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 5, 2013

Women for Afghan Women is a wonderful organization, which has, over the past 10 years, been able to turn around the lives of thousands and thousands of Afghan women and children. They run many program... more

July 28, 2014

A fabulous and well-managed organization that does unbelievably incredible and life-changing work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 5, 2013

Women for Afghan Women is a wonderful organization, which has, over the past 10 years, been able to turn around the lives of thousands and thousands of Afghan women and children. They run many programs that are crucial to their clients wellbeing, including shelters, homes, legal support, and more.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 15, 2013

more

September 15, 2013

Amazing org! As a volunteer, there are many different ways to get involved. I loved teaching ESL!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

Having given money to WAW in the past, I was familiar with the good work they were doing overseas. But when I learned they had a U.S. office that served middle eastern women and their children stateside, I got in touch. The staff there was very welcoming and receptive to me and although I hadn't taught English as a second language, they gave me the confidence and opportunity to dive in. Just in one day at the center, one can see what a vital function they serve. They not only give classes in English but help women obtain driver's licenses and help tutor them towards citizenship. Their services are expanding and spending one day there, one can tell what an important function they serve----a safe and comfortable place for women, new immigrants and older, to gather and share.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find them a bigger space.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

-Teach an ESL class or tutor a child in our WAW NY Community Center- Become a WAW advocate by hosting an event such as a walk-a-thon, dinner party or panel discussion. Volunteer