Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
1234.863645
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 15, 2013

more

September 15, 2013

Amazing org! As a volunteer, there are many different ways to get involved. I loved teaching ESL!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

Having given money to WAW in the past, I was familiar with the good work they were doing overseas. But when I learned they had a U.S. office that served middle eastern women and their children stateside, I got in touch. The staff there was very welcoming and receptive to me and although I hadn't taught English as a second language, they gave me the confidence and opportunity to dive in. Just in one day at the center, one can see what a vital function they serve. They not only give classes in English but help women obtain driver's licenses and help tutor them towards citizenship. Their services are expanding and spending one day there, one can tell what an important function they serve----a safe and comfortable place for women, new immigrants and older, to gather and share.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find them a bigger space.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

I began working with WAW in the fall of 2010, as a development volunteer. I worked on social media and promotional materials. I got invovled after I saw a video on CNN about a young girl who was beaten for runnig away from her forced marriage. It was WAW's shelters that were helping the girl rehabilitate and also protecting her from the mobs of people who wanted to see her killed for running away. The girl was around 14, and for that shelter to take such a stand for her and take care of her was courageous. Then I learned about all of the programs they do for Afghan women in New York, and I had to get involved. Giving women the chance to be human beings and not property is an amazingly courageous missiona and one that WAW does with great conviction and foresight. They are always looking at a large vision and working extremely hard to help the entire community in Afghanistan work towards a progressive future. They don't sacrifice the national identity of Afghanistan, and are able to build community in which all persons are treated as human beings. I cannot express enough the great work WAW is doing and how much they are needed for the women and communities of Afghanistan as well as the global change in women's rights.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Set up more community bases of WAW across the US, they are needed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013

more


1 previous review
April 5, 2013

As board member and co-founder, and now, full time volunteer for Women for Afghan Women, I feel uniquely positioned to review the organization. I am based in NY, and am engaged in usual board duties,... more

September 6, 2013

Women for Afghan Women is a 12 year old human rights organization which is saving and transforming lives across Afghanistan and in New York. I am honored to be a co-founder of this organization, and a full-time volunteer. I am so very proud of WAW because we have been bold -- when no one else will take on a case or a controversial position, we will stick our necks out because it is the right thing to do. We walk a fine line between a commitment to women's human rights and a commitment to local Afghan community -- we are able to be unwaveringly true to both these commitments! WAW has been in the international news for our care (shelter, medical care, legal representation) of the following high profile cases: Bibi Aisha, Mumtaz, Sahar Gul, Gul Meena.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Raise money for WAW to have a robust communications department.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

As board member and co-founder, and now, full time volunteer for Women for Afghan Women, I feel uniquely positioned to review the organization. I am based in NY, and am engaged in usual board duties, but also fundraising, advocacy and communications work. The real stars of WAW are our staff, 430 of them in Afghanistan and 4 in New York, all led by our amazing leader Manizha Naderi, quietly fierce, unstoppable, unwavering in her mission to fight for Afghan women's rights, their very lives. Our organization is extremely efficient -- we utilize the help of hundreds of volunteers, and put almost all the money we raise into programs. In spite of the uncertain future of Afghanistan, WAW is expanding--by the end of 2014, we will be running programs in two new provinces, ten in total. And we would like to expand even further.

I have been involved in many women's organizations and what I love most about WAW is that we are at once strident in our advocacy at the international level, and rooted in grassroots work at the local level. We maintain footholds in both those arenas, ensuring that the most local grassroots voices are heard in the most global settings for policymaking and decision-making. I also love WAW's ability to promote women's human rights in the most conservative communities. We work with religious leaders, community elders and other community leaders, persuading them to champion our cause. Our organization really is a labor of love, and our community-rootedness is the reason our model is successful.

Please consider supporting WAW in any way that is possible for you.
* Let us know if you'd like to volunteer for WAW.
* Organize an event in your community to raise funds and awareness
* Send us a check. Your donation will literally save lives. Be generous.
* Find a way to help us make our May 30th Gala event successful. Get a company or business you know to sponsor the gala at any level. Purchase tickets and attend!

Thank you!
Sunita Viswanath

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

This is such a great humanitarian organization. Staff has selflessly dedicated their time and energy to do whatever it takes to bring change in the lives of those women and their families. Nothing pleases me more than seeing a bright shine in my students' eyes when they learn something new!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

When thinking of my time at Women For Afghan Women, it always brings a smile to my face. I saw with my own eyes the changes in the women that attend their empowerment classes; they quickly gain confidence & pride in their ability to be more independent. Native English speakers may take our skills for granted but learning to speak English is a huge accomplishment for these women. Through these empowerment classes women get the academic assistance & emotional support necessary to thrive in this new world & culture foreign to their own. They not only learn to speak and read English but also learn about American culture. They use these skills to better communicate with others from their children's teacher, to their neighbors and doctor. I remember one woman in particular who had just come to America from Arghanistan. She was quiet and didn't speak a word of English. After about four months she learned enough English to hold a conversation with her children's teachers and gained the indepence to travel using public transportation by herself from home to the Women For Afgan Women classes to pick up her children from school & back home. Women For Afghan Women did wonders for this women and countless women like her. It's an organization that contiues to do great things for all women.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am proud to say that I work with Women for Afghan Women. It is an amazing , grass roots organization with a true dedication to the women. Staff, leadership and everyone involved deeply cares for the women and often goes out of their way to help a woman in need. I have had the pleasure of working with them for several years now and I have never seen them turn away any woman in need. Naheed Bahram is a leader extraordinaire who is not only dedicated but also caring. What amazes me about this organization is how much they do with the limited resources!! They provide such a wide range of services to the women from ESOL classes to domestic violence workshops! They are not afraid to push the boundaries while adhering to the cultural limitations> Truly an amazing organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 6, 2013

more

May 6, 2013



Before anything else, I initially liked Woman for Afghan Women, because of its "easy-open gate" for participating and less bureaucratic phases. I was one of the volunteer for teaching the adult class, and without too many complicated process “which in New York , more or less, is rare” I
could join to this energetic team!
After several months of being there, in general, I found this NGO, productive, helpful and so influential for clients and volunteers! Students and teachers both are learning from each other which is one of the interesting part of the classes. Besides these wide range of classes of life skills for adults and youngsters, dealing with current issues were another side of this NGO that was useful for whoever is coming to this institution. For instance, after Hurricane Sandy, consulting sessions and conducting brainstorming for bring up new ideas and dealing with new challenges were one of the good examples of positive flexibility and problem solving approach of this NGO to up to date itself to be able to improve women's skills in society based on priorities and urgent issues.
Another social elements that makes this NGO more remarkable and distinguished is cultural exchanges and diversity among different nationalities and generations, and also considering the importance of art within these exchanges!This NGO is playing a significant role in empowerment of not only Afghan women, rather, women from different parts of the world. This Non-for profit organization by efforts of its founders and staff and their promises has provided a broad platform for better future of awareness about the civil rights by making bridge among Afghan Women (and their families) in the United States, and Afghan women within Afghanistan.
**Wishing have less war and more art in close future!**
P.S. by the way, practicing “Keeping Earth Green” is worth mentioning too! Re-using papers, and being cautious about the usage of electricity (for example, boiling right amount of water based on the number of people and keeping water inside the insulated container to keep it warm for a long time), all tiny but good examples of the smart ways of coping with global warming in this NGO in individualistic scale!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 6, 2013

more

May 6, 2013

Women for Afghan Women instills the foundations of culture, education, and spirituality within their community of clients and volunteers. The work they do in New York is deep rooted and a vital intersection of the Afghan and immigrant community. Many of the women I have taught at WAW have never been afforded educational opportunities--however, within the walls of this organization they truly flourish. The WAW staff is entirely committed and enthusiastic to their cause. There is nothing more rewarding than witnessing a formerly uneducated woman pass her citizenship test or find a job to support herself.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013

more

April 6, 2013

One of the best None Profit Organization.
No one else does what WAW does for unfortunate women.
i always read story and life changing of those unlucky girls from Afghanistan how great this organization working.
Bibi Aisha's terrible life from Afghanistan to USA which made headlines
around the world is one of great work of WAW.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

-Teach an ESL class or tutor a child in our WAW NY Community Center
- Become a WAW advocate by hosting an event such as a walk-a-thon, dinner party or panel discussion. Volunteer