Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
1234.916675
Write A Review
November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

WAA is an excellent organization with a dedicated staff and a proven record of success. As the only DV shelter in a city of millions, it is incredible what they do to help survivors. Support for WAA is so great that even in this time of difficult funding, WAA has managed to completely reconstruct its transitional housing shelter and even add more beds. Women and families are scheduled to move back into a brand new space in December 2012! Way to go WAA!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

I have worked with Women Against Abuse as a Board member and also in advocacy efforts to improve state and local policies on domestic violence. I am always impressed with the skill and caring shown by staff members, and the breadth of vision and holistic response by the organization. WAA provides emergency shelter, transitional housing, legal services, counseling and community education to thousands of individuals each year. Staff provide training to police, district attorneys and judges in an effort to improve responses by the courts and legal system. Advocates assist survivors in both civil and criminal court proceedings, as well as providing services to survivors who choose not to use the court system.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

Women Against Abuse offers safety, shelter, support and legal counseling to thousands of women and their children each year whose lives are endangered by domestic violence. As the demand for services has increased over the past few years, the resources needed to meet that demand have not. However, the dedicated staff of Women Against Abuse has worked hard to fulfill its mission and provide life-changing help to the many who need it. As a member of the Board of Directors,Women Against Abuse is an outstanding organization that provides critically needed services. I am very proud of the commitment of our staff, volunteers and Board to offering sanctuary to those exposed to intimate partner violence and to their strong advocacy to end domestic violence in our community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

WAA is committed to ending domestic violence period end of story. Each day, WAA is providing shelter, long-term housing, legal representation, education, legislative advocacy and hotline services in support of its commitment. This commitment is supported and contributed to at every level of the organization. I am proud to serve on the board of such a worthy organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

Hello my name is Sheila E. Armstrong and I am a former client of Women Against Abuse and current board member. I am a mother of two boys and I am a survivor of domestic abuse. If you had asked me where would I be today, my answer would have been slightly different than where I am. On October 10, 2003 my son’s father assaulted me. My injuries were a concussion, both eyes swollen with one shut, lip busted and a broken arm. When I was in the hospital I spoke with a social worker about my fears of returning home. During this conversation the social worker told me about Women Against Abuse and how they have an emergency shelter that helps woman that have been through traumatic situations like mine. I was very hesitant to go into a shelter but I knew I didn’t want to go home and any other options I may have were very limited. So with the social worker's assistance I called Women Against Abuse and I am very thankful to God I did!

Even though I was a physical and emotional mess my very first night at Women Against Abuse emergency shelter was very comforting because this is when my relationship began with God.

I am proud to say today that I have my own two-bedroom apartment with intentions on becoming a homeowner within the near future. At one point of my life I was a high school dropout but now, I can say that I am a student at University of Phoenix Master's Degree Program. I am employed with the School District of Philadelphia and I have a peace of mind, body, and soul that I can only thank God and Women Against Abuse for. I feel that if it wasn’t for the incredible support I received from Women Against Abuse I would have never been given the opportunities I received and I may still be living in a life of fear.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers