Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
132 Reviews
1234.871215
Write A Review
October 19, 2014

more

October 19, 2014

Anyone I've ever met who knows Woman Made thinks of the gallery as one of the purest forms of communicating ideas through art. The founder truly understood how to take the most important concepts of society and create events that showcased art that connected to viewers, helping them to formulate their own ideas about important issues. Thankfully this vision has continued. Woman Made is an important component of today's art world.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 17, 2014

more

October 17, 2014

Woman Made Gallery is such a special gem in the Chicago arts community. The gallery's exhibitions and community and youth programming do much to amplify the artistic voices of women, but also highlights some of the most exciting voices from a myriad of vantage points that are often vulnerable or muted. The work is always innovative and of high quality--WMG has a direct hold on the pulse of emerging contemporary art, and consistently delivers it to the surrounding community. Keep up the fabulous work!
April 28, 2014

more

April 28, 2014

This seems like a wonderful much needed group. I would like to join and volunteer. My life has had some testing struggles. With the help from awesome women that volunteer their time and knowledge.
I am getting back on track and my passion is in arts. Writing, drawing and painting mostly. My
heart would love to be involved and donate my time in any way. Thank you. B. Hartman
June 12, 2013

more

June 12, 2013

WMG is a wonderful organization that supports women in their creativity. Their shows push the envelope with innovative quality work. They're open-minded about new concepts and their gallery is a great place to pick up a little gift that the recipient won't find anywhere else. The fact that they have been around as long as they have, especially in our economy and put-art-on-a-back burner culture, is a tribute to the quality of their shows and staff.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013

more

April 6, 2013

What a great space for women to thrive. Nice to see the art. Shame they do not have more room.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
January 5, 2011

I am an artist and have showed my work many times at Woman Made Gallery. It is one of the few galleries that supports all level of work for women. They have juried shows which attract artists and the ... more

August 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Hello Beate, I sold my first painting in a gallery when you were on Prairie Avenue. I took a friend to the gallery, and she said "You have a red dot on your painting, what does that mean?" I asked. It was sold. Who Knew. I heard (true or not) that the woman who bought it, sent her chauffer to pick it up. I love the gallery, have donated money, and only wish I didn't live so far away, so I could go to the openings; also the neighborhood is a parking challenge. Best Wishes. ( I was also in a show about four,five years ago.) Margaret Newman PS: When you were on Ravenswood, a Tribune reporter took a photo of my painting "Girlfriends" and an interview , and the painting was in the art page. Your gallery has been good to me.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

January 5, 2011

I am an artist and have showed my work many times at Woman Made Gallery. It is one of the few galleries that supports all level of work for women. They have juried shows which attract artists and the public alike. It is a beautiful gallery, that shows the art to advantage. The director cares for the artists with nurturing and advice. I have sold my work there, because the opening of new shows attracts a great many people. The best!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Sold my art there.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

June 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am an artist and am 67 years old. I am involved with WomanMade Gallery because their mission is to support womyn and their art. This matches my life-long intimate beliefs that our art has been under-appreciated, discounted, discouraged, and swept under the proverbial rug for eons in this (sorry to be cliché and obvious at the same time!) male-dominated society. And that our art is pertinent and needs to be in the forefront -- in public spaces, with public faces! This is what WomanMade strives to do. And I appreciate it so much. It's not "a man's world" at WomanMade -- it's a shared world and it's thriving.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

WomanMade is a gutsy gallery for women mostly and it is full of gutsy classy art. They have filled a need in me to show my work in a place where woman and creativity count. I have been in several shows there. I have also been in shows elsewhere in Chicago. I think they are in the mainstream in the art world.

Photos

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 5, 2012

more

June 5, 2012

I helped with the organization and planning of the WMG Gala fundraising dinner event. I was impressed by the camaraderie, high morale, and supportive atmosphere of the group.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 5, 2012

more

June 5, 2012

What energy! The moment you walk into the space you are transformed by the creative energy. I have been a member since, well, Praire Ave, & can't keep track of time. Walking into that extraordinary building was like comeing home. So welcoming. So encouraging, We in the Chicago-land area are blessed somehow to have this opportunity to share in our lives. The moves the gallery has made are bringing new enlightment to every community and engage those lucky enough to have stumbled into the doors,

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help archive past exhibitions from 1992 to 2000.