Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
132 Reviews
1234.871215
Write A Review
November 2, 2014

more

November 2, 2014

I've been a fan of WMG for 20 years. My home is filled with art I bought at their shows and auctions. I feel incredibly blessed in getting to know many of the artists who have been served by the mission and to have worked closely with Beate over the years. I always get a huge boost when I step through the door, knowing what a difference WMG has made to so many artists and art lovers over the years. Three cheers for Woman Made! Three more for Beate!!!
November 1, 2014

more

November 1, 2014


I couldn't say anything but wonderful things about Woman Made Gallery!
They are Important to me !
November 1, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
June 5, 2012

Woman Made Gallery in Chicago supports, cultivates, and promotes the artistic endeavors of women. The gallery provides a voice and a showcase for those who have traditionally been underrepresented in ... more

November 1, 2014

I owe my art career to Woman Made Gallery. I took a workshop about resume writing at WMG way back when they were located in the Prairie District. I found Beate and everyone there to be so nurturing and supportive that it gave me the confidence I needed to start entering shows. Many years later, I'm still devoted to the gallery and its mission. May it go on forever!
June 5, 2012

Woman Made Gallery in Chicago supports, cultivates, and promotes the artistic endeavors of women. The gallery provides a voice and a showcase for those who have traditionally been underrepresented in the gallery scene. I first took a workshop at Woman Made many years ago and immediately thereafter became a member. The art I make today wouldn't be possible without the support of Beate and everyone else at Woman Made. You know how they say you "never forget your first time"? Well, I had my first solo show at Woman Made, and it made all the difference!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 17, 2011

When I was starting out as an artist and wondering how to get my work seen by others, I took a workshop at Woman Made Gallery. i was impressed by the friendliness and knowledge of the staff, and from then on I was hooked. I not only attended more workshops, but I also entered shows at the gallery and eventually became a volunteer.

Galleries are often thought of as cold and unwelcoming--and rightly so in many cases. But Woman Made is different. It has a warm, nurturing atmosphere, and the staff gently guides each artist toward creating her (or his) best work.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The gallery staff, especially gallery director Beate Minkovski and gallery co-founder Janet Bloch, have mentored me tirelessly and given me so much confidence as an artist. They have been endlessly supportive.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

. . . find a way to give it a ton of money! Nonprofits have a hard time at best, and the current economy is killing many of them. Woman Made deserves to go on and on.

October 31, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
January 5, 2011

Woman Made continues to work tirelessly to secure women's place in art, society and history through the vision and efforts of its executive director, Beate Minkovski. Though the organization has grow... more

October 31, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Woman Made changed my life! It was a pivotal moment in my life when I found Beate and the gallery and I was so affected by the positive energy and respect she and the gallery shows for women artists. My involvement with the gallery generated professional accolades for me and I, in turn, was inspired to give back. The little storefront on the Northside that turned into a big storefront in the West Loop in Chicago is a vortex for women who need a boost of power. Really, the power is contagious and makes you be a better artist and challenges and refines your thinking. And it's full of great art and lots of fun.
January 5, 2011

Woman Made continues to work tirelessly to secure women's place in art, society and history through the vision and efforts of its executive director, Beate Minkovski. Though the organization has grown enormously over the last 18 years, it retains its original inviting, non-elitist and personal atmosphere. This is Beate's touch and I hope it will alwasy keep this flavor. The art selections are, for the most part, excellent and challenging and the gallery stays true to its mission to bring women artists to the public forefront and to actively educate the public about art. The website is excellent and I often "visit" the exhibitions on line before going to the gallery.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my own creativeoutput, and my own professional development as an artist.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

hire a professional fundraiser that would help them get some serious money in place. The board has struggled over the years to get to a level they need to be at to help grow the gallery. They get too involved in day to day decisions they should not be involved in.

October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

Woman Made has been an important advocate and incubator for women artists around the country and indeed the world. It provides a supportive environment in fostering professionalism and creativity. It was one of the first venues to show my work and I remember the excitement and pride I felt on seeing my work in exhibits there. I have subsequently seen the same excitement and pride on the faces of other women artists showing, often for the first time, at the gallery. I remember in particular one young woman who drove from New York and slept in her car to be there.
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

I've been part of the Woman Made Gallery community for the last decade. It is a well run, passionate, serious organization that supports women in the arts. The gallery space is beautiful and airy; the exhibitions they mount are handsome and current. The board under the leadership of Tammi Franke is really a fabulous entity. Visit this gallery!
Linda HIllman, Past board member

October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

Woman Made Gallery has served women artists all over the world for over 30 years. The gallery has a very strong and important mission statement to further women in the visual arts and it does just that. Because of it's non-profit status and the generous donations and funding it receives it doesn't need to concern itself solely with sales to keep the doors open and can accept works with controversial and politically charges messages and exhibit them. So wonderful when artists are not censored just because their message isn't saleable. The staff and volunteers are gracious and warm to everyone who enters the gallery.
October 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

For over 20 years, WomanMade Gallery has been an advocate for women artists, especially for women just entering the art world. WMG nurtures and supports their dreams and ambitions, through exhibitions, mentoring, advice and connections. Truly one of a kind, and much needed still.
October 31, 2014

more


1 previous review
January 10, 2011

Woman Made Gallery goes beyond just exhibiting good work. It provides tips and encouragement for artists. It feels like an Art Home. more

October 31, 2014

Woman Made Gallery exhibits strong work, including work that deals with difficult topics.

The staff and volunteers are friendly, and one feels at home there.

I am an artist who has exhibited at Woman Made and a volunteer . I donate and have included Woman Made in my
will.

MARY KING
January 10, 2011

Woman Made Gallery goes beyond just exhibiting good work. It provides tips and encouragement for artists. It feels like an Art Home.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have met other artists here. We gave each other mutual support. I have also sold works here.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish Woman Made had more money so the director and others could be well- salaried to insure the continuation of the Gallery.

October 21, 2014

more

October 21, 2014

This is the first gallery to get my attention as an artist. I'm in London, not Chicago, not America. I appreciate everything Woman Made Gallery stands for: The diversity; the audacity; the openness to new ideas. The unapologetic womanliness of this most marvelous place deserves our support. Viva WMG!
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help archive past exhibitions from 1992 to 2000.