Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
51 Reviews
1234.843145
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
August 13, 2014

more

August 13, 2014

I was surprised when I visited Wolf Haven - it is a sanctuary first and foremost for wolves. I didn't view them as being exploited for human viewing. Also, Wolf Haven has been in the forefront of advocating for wolf recovery in WA state.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Leave the WA wolf advisory group - too much time and energy is being spent on an unproductive forum.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 6, 2014

more

August 6, 2014

I toured Wolf Haven for the first time about three years ago, and it was one of the most educational experiences of wildlife I've ever had. Wolf Haven works closely with Dept.s of Fish and Wildlife in several states to protect several species of wolves and their habitat, and Wolf Haven has been instrumental in both protecting and reintroducing wolves into their natural territories. Wolf Haven also raises awareness around the issues of breeding wolves with domestic dogs. The tour of Wolf Haven is very respectful, educational, and so beautiful :) Their work is so valuable, and they have saved so many wolf lives!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It could not be better! It's already perfect.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 6, 2014

more

August 6, 2014

I have felt deeply connected to wolves since I was a child. I actually believed I was part wolf and that one of my Ukrainian grandmothers had 'biblical knowledge' of a wolf in the Carpathian Mountains. As I grew older, I came to honor wolves as something distinct yet related to humans. It was with this history that I first was exposed to Wolf Haven during a group event that I attended at a nearby State Park. I was initially hesitant to visit the Haven, somehow certain that I would abhor seeing wolves in captivity. However, my experience was far different. I was so impressed at how well the wolves were cared for, with the respect that they were offered, and the great measures taken to continue their 'wolfness'. I made a commitment to support the wolves at Wolf Haven and expose as many other people to the sanctuary as possible. Wolves are our link to our own wild past and they are our bridge to civilization, culture, and family values. We learned much from the wolf in our early history and it behooves to continue to honor our debt.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish it was nearer to me so that I could volunteer and visit more often but, otherwise, I think they're doing a marvelous job.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 6, 2014

more

August 6, 2014

My sister and I ahve supported WolfHaven for years after reading about it in the newspapers. We had the oportunity to visit the site several years ago and were very impressed with the care and condtions provided. It seems that every effort is made to give these beautiful creatures privacy and as much space as possible to make them comfortable and safe. I am also impressed about the sensitivity the staff and volunteers have to the feelings and needs of their residents. When one of the wolves loses a mate or partner they make every effort to console and find companionship for the grieving wolf. This organization is a wonderful source of protection, education, and refuge for a majestic animal that has been much maligned by man.
Dorothy Maurer Blue Bell, Pa.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2004

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

We learned so much about the wolves. How their numbers are decreasing in the general population and what Wolf Haven is doing to keep them alive and well in their reserve. We found the location beautiful and well cared for. The wolves appeared happy and comfortable being in the pen with their mate. The volunteers appear dedicated to make the environment a special place. We will go back often, although it's a 4 hour drive, but it is well worth it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

WHI is the epitome of a non-profit organization which exists solely for the welfare of its wolves, most (if not all) of them rescued from abusive situations. The wolves are all housed with plenty of natural space in which to roam, play, hide, dig…to do what wolves do.

The entire staff is
devoted to the care and well being of the wolves. The staff and the Board of Directors’ public outreach, education about the issues and plight of wolves, and their fundraising efforts are phenomenal (they found us in Virginia). And, I’m totally impressed with the volume of volunteers who are attracted from all over (the community, college kids and alumni, service groups, young people) to pursue and complete projects to enhance the WH sanctuary.

My husband and I “adopted” two wolves a year ago. This past August, we stopped to visit WHI on our way to an Alaskan cruise. We were delighted to see the wolves happy and well cared for, and meet some of the staff who care for the wolves as a passion, not just a job. Our visit to WH was the highlight of our Alaska trip!! If we lived in the area, we would both be full time volunteers!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

move to the area so I could volunteer.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Thank you Wolf Haven International for educating me and making me aware of the plight of the Wolves. Fight the good fight continue to educate the public and be a loud voice for Wolves.You are highly appreciated.You have a deep love for these animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes that I can see other than giving them more funds to continue their work.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This is an extremely valuable nonprofit organization -- valuable to the wolves and hybrid wolves, but also valuable to our local area (near Olympia , WA), to the entire nation as a resource for wolves and valuable to the world as a source of education and rescuer of this precious and endangered animal. I have visited the facility, experienced their educational tour of their grounds, and have made purchases from their gift shop. I shall definitely return and take visiting guests with me. I was extremely impressed by their work and deeply moved by their caring and love for the animals they serve.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

wish them more land and resources so they could continue and even increase the good work they are doing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Wolf Haven is a wonderful establishment with genuine love for these wolves that they have rescued or adopted. It is a great place for families and to learn about these wonderful creatures. They emphasize the importance of the wolf populations and have a helping hand in breeding the red wolf to keep the population alive. It is a remarkable place.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Over the past 31 years, Wolf Haven International has rescued 170+ captive-born wolves and provided them with lifetime sanctuary. They are doing the work of angels, in a world that is so cruel and inhumane that wolves are being targeted for torture and slaughter to extermination-again.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more money and a more land to save more wolves.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

lead three guided sanctuary tours (following training) Volunteer