Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
52 Reviews
1234.846155
| 1 ... 3 4 56 |
Write A Review
October 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

First arriving to Wolf Haven was magical, a beautiful little set of enclosures and a main shop in a homely, welcoming and rustic scene in Washington's best example of a mid-forest prairie. I was young, probably around 13 in my first tour and it was the most amazing experience I've ever had. Seeing the wolves in their sturdy enclosures and learning what it took to keep wolves was a lot to take in. The benefits of the sanctuary as opposed to keeping these wild animals as pets impressed itself upon my mind and to this day I feel I have a stronger connection with wolves than I every would have otherwise. At the end of the tour, our group began to mimic wolf howls and the entire 'pack' at wolf haven joined in. I've never heard anything so eerie and powerful, and it still brings tears to my eyes as I think of it. At the end of the tour I decided to browse the shop and was amazed at the array of wolf merchandise. Though I haven't been able to go back for a while, I still try to donate as much as I can through the sanctuary's 'Adopt a Wolf' program. They are always prompt with the delivery of the promised goods and I treasure the wolf photos and stories I have received over the years. I absolutely recommend visiting, and supporting Wolf Haven however you can. The staff are friendly, their work in education, conservation, and preserving the local prairie is of the utmost importance, and everything I have received from their stores both online and in person have excellent quality. A must-see, whether you are a wolf addict or simply curious.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add a wider range of online donation options and products for those of all wealth levels, from $1 trinkets to works of art worth much more.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I live in northern Idaho were the wolves are hunted down, stalked, slaughtered and it is heartbreaking and sad! Being native American I have always loved wolves and they are near and dear to my heart, as I do all wildlife. There are other wolf advocates and wolf organizations in this area and I am a member of two, but they do nothing to rescue, save or intervene if a wolf is in distress. It is for this reason I took such an interest in Wolf Haven. It is the one place that offers refuge to the wolves in addition to educating the public on the true nature of this wonderful creature. I wish there were more places like Wolf Haven. Then the wolf might stand a chance and not become extinct.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None. The staff gives it's heart and soul to the wolves.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

For decades, Wolf Haven has served as an international educator to increase public knowledge of wolves. I have seen firsthand how this non-profit stretches ever dollar.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them have more funds.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I first visited Wolf Haven in 1992 with my parents and my cousin. I do not remember much of that visit, but have always looked forward to returning. In 2011 that opportunity came when my family gathered in Olympia. Unfortunately, we visited Wolf Haven on the day they are closed to the public. Not to be deterred, we enjoyed our picnic lunch, and wandered around looking from afar to see what we could see. Well, nature called and one of my dad's cousins went to the office to see if we could use the facilities. As we wandered through one by one, the staff must have become curious, especially when we told them where we were from [some from Florida, some from Illinois, some from Montana] and that we had stopped by to visit the sanctuary. Lo and behold, we were given a tour by someone even though the facility was closed. That day is very memorable for my family, and it endears Wolf Haven to me even more because they made the time to take us around even though I am quite sure they had plenty to do. Next time I am out there I will make sure to check their schedule, though, so that we visit on a day that they are open!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I am not qualified to make these kinds of suggestions because I do not know what it takes to run things ... although I am sure that any sanctuary must need more people, more food for their critters, more help, period!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I first became aware of Wolf Haven sometime in the early 80's when they had a booth at the Washington State Fair in Puyallup. At the time they had an ambassador wolf, I believe it was Little John, whom the public was able to meet. Having been a wolf lover for most of my life, it was something I'll never forget, the first time I had contact with a live wolf!! I visited Wolf Haven not long after that meeting, & was awed by the place & their dedication to these misunderstood beings!! They no longer have an ambassador wolf, but the knowledge & dedication has not waned. If anything, with the years, it's even better!!! I don't get to visit as often as I'd like, but I go when I can & I am NEVER disappointed in the place or the people!! The volunteers are all there because they care & are there to take care of these animals & to educate those that come to visit. If there has to be places like this for wolves to be safe, then Wolf Haven is one of the best.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been going to wolfhaven and donor for well over ten years.. this is one of the very few places that I have come across that is really out for the best intrest of these amazing animals, always very friendly people that have a great knowlage of these animals,,

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I admire Wolf Haven for giving the public a look at wolves thru education of the species. It is one of my favorite facebook pages.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Go more public.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

A couple of years ago, we took our then 8 year old son, who loves animals but especially wolves, to an August howl in and camped over night. It was a magical experience, one that we will never forget. There was a lightening and thunder storm which caused the wolves to howl all night long, my son loved it! Then we spent the day with a tour of the wolves. We can't wait to go back again!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make the tours of the wolves last just a little longer and allow the visitors more time to be able to take a few photos, the tour just felt too rushed & we were told not to lag behind.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a member of Wolf Haven for more than 20 years. In that time I have seen the sanctuary grow and prosper. The wolves they save have better lives and we all get a chance to see and interact with them.

The support staff does an excellent job and take great care to teach, answer
questions and show us about wolf behavior. Most people don't realize that wolves are not "The big bad wolf" we were all raised with. Many of the staff and volunteers go over and above to help the wolves and give of their time. They also work with national and local wildlife groups to educate and help wolves in the wild.

I have been privileged to be a member and share Wolf Haven with other people who are now members as well.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a thing except get more people to know about it and donate.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Wolf Haven International 'walks the talk'. They not only rescue and care for wolves they are actively involved in preserving the genetics and promoting the preservation of wolves in the wild.

Wolf Haven International has been instrumental in the education of the public and legislature
as to the benefits and importance wolves provide in our ecosystems and wilderness areas.

Wolf Haven is a well organized and documented charity organization whose volunteers and leadership share a passion for the animals they are working to save. They work hard to see that that the funds donated are utilized to the best advantage possible for both the wolves, education and preservation of these majestic animals.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

lead three guided sanctuary tours (following training) Volunteer