Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
52 Reviews
1234.846155
Write A Review
August 6, 2014

more

August 6, 2014

My husband and I have been engaged with Wolf Haven since the mid-late 1980's. When each of our three Siberian Huskies passed, we donated funds to Wolf Haven to have stones with their names on them placed in a courtyard at the sanctuary. Our Sibe kids now run free with their wolf family. We have been adopting a wolf for each other for years; now my husband adopts for me only and we share that wolf. We have visited the sanctuary twice and are excited to be going to their annual Wine and Wolves fund raiser this Fall. This organization is one of the greatest friends the wolf population can possibly have.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 6, 2014

more

August 6, 2014

I have felt deeply connected to wolves since I was a child. I actually believed I was part wolf and that one of my Ukrainian grandmothers had 'biblical knowledge' of a wolf in the Carpathian Mountains. As I grew older, I came to honor wolves as something distinct yet related to humans. It was with this history that I first was exposed to Wolf Haven during a group event that I attended at a nearby State Park. I was initially hesitant to visit the Haven, somehow certain that I would abhor seeing wolves in captivity. However, my experience was far different. I was so impressed at how well the wolves were cared for, with the respect that they were offered, and the great measures taken to continue their 'wolfness'. I made a commitment to support the wolves at Wolf Haven and expose as many other people to the sanctuary as possible. Wolves are our link to our own wild past and they are our bridge to civilization, culture, and family values. We learned much from the wolf in our early history and it behooves to continue to honor our debt.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish it was nearer to me so that I could volunteer and visit more often but, otherwise, I think they're doing a marvelous job.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 6, 2014

more

August 6, 2014

I began adopting a wolf for my wife on an annual basis in the early 1980s after reading about Wolf Haven in our local paper. We have also made periodic donations to the organization at Christmas and other times. We strongly support the work that Wolf Haven does, have great admiration for its staff and volunteers, and will return after many years in September to attend Wine and Wolves. Through Wolf Haven we have become very interested in the campaigns to reintroduce wolves into what was once their natural habitat in the Western United States as well as throughout the Southwest and Mexico. We can think of no more worthy organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 6, 2014

more

August 6, 2014

My sister and I ahve supported WolfHaven for years after reading about it in the newspapers. We had the oportunity to visit the site several years ago and were very impressed with the care and condtions provided. It seems that every effort is made to give these beautiful creatures privacy and as much space as possible to make them comfortable and safe. I am also impressed about the sensitivity the staff and volunteers have to the feelings and needs of their residents. When one of the wolves loses a mate or partner they make every effort to console and find companionship for the grieving wolf. This organization is a wonderful source of protection, education, and refuge for a majestic animal that has been much maligned by man.
Dorothy Maurer Blue Bell, Pa.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2004

November 8, 2013

more

November 8, 2013

I became familiar with Wolf Haven after reading about their work on their Web site, and I took the time to visit their center while on a trip from California to Washington. Seeing some of the center's wolves, coyotes and wolf-dogs up close was a wonderful experience, and it was gratifying to see the volunteer guides' dedication to these animals. Wolf Haven's setting is lovely, with greenery all around, the perfect place for animals that need space and places to which they can retreat. I so appreciate the work that Wolf Haven does in providing sanctuary to animals that in many cases have not been treated well, and I am impressed by the work they do with red wolf and Mexican gray wolf recovery.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

In the past few years I have had the oportunity to experience the "behind the scenes" at some wildlife facilities and I am defenitely impressed by Wolf Haven. The husbandry practices they carry are of great quality and of profound awareness of the value of each individual animal's life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would give them more land so they could provide home for more wolves.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

Wolf Haven is a top-notch organization dedicated to the well-being of wolves and dedicated to its volunteers. The training, support, enthusiasm, and kindness shown to us volunteers keeps me inspired and committed. I especially appreciate the goodwill and comraderie among all the volunteers and staff. This is an organization that I am proud and fortunate to belong to.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013



Wolfhaven is totally dedicated to caring for displaced wolves, some of our animals had never seen or set foot on grass.

Wolfhaven teaches the importance of wolf conservation and the ecological damage that can occur without a keystone preditor in the mix.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have been volunteering as a tour guide at Wolfhaven each Wednesday for 10 years. I live in Renton Wa and the travel time for me is one and half hours in the morning and two plus hours in the late afternoon. If I did not think that this Sanctuary is on the top I certainly would not be doing that. The care that is taken by the staff for the wolves is impecable. Wolves come first! The amount of effort that is put in has been recognized. Wolfhaven is a certified national sanctuary, one of only two in our country. What I have learned about wolves and their place in our environment has enabled me to provide "facts" to the tour goers. My best response from our guests is "Gee, I didn't know that".

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NONE

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

We learned so much about the wolves. How their numbers are decreasing in the general population and what Wolf Haven is doing to keep them alive and well in their reserve. We found the location beautiful and well cared for. The wolves appeared happy and comfortable being in the pen with their mate. The volunteers appear dedicated to make the environment a special place. We will go back often, although it's a 4 hour drive, but it is well worth it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

lead three guided sanctuary tours (following training) Volunteer