Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
82 Reviews
1234.634155
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
April 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

WiserEarth is a great community for connecting with like-minded folks who care about the environment. Their thoughtful leadership and programs are crucial to innovating in this space.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am passionate about the potential impact nonprofits can have then they work together to build movements, instead of trying to "own" the cause or work themselves. As such, I was incredibly happy to work with WiserEarth to collaborate on local groups and events around the world that meant local organizations could come together, share knowledge, and grow together. WiserEarth's collaborative approach is refreshing and promising!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 4, 2012

more

April 4, 2012

I got moved by WiserEarth through its staff members. Meeting some of them has been a cheerfully experience seeing that flow of energy and good-doing mood ! Only after did I discover the tools available on the platform. I shall admit that I didn't find them equally useful, but I appreciated the group features, rich and numerous. I experienced lots of other platforms but the number of NGOs listed on WiserEarth really is impressive, which makes it a REAL international platform.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 1, 2012

more


1 previous review
November 19, 2010

I've joined WiserEarth almost at the opening of its French group, first in Paris. WiserEarth stroke me as a very generous, but also efficient, community of practice related to sustainable development.... more

April 1, 2012

WiserEarth is one of the most engaged and opened online community. Authentically dedicated to enhancing interactions between people and organizations engaged in sustainable development, at all levels (environmental, social, humanitarian), it provides an efficient platform to build visibility and exchange for agents of change, at local, national or global level. Its network of volunteers and small staff is dedicated at facilitating this process. I have observed the fast development of WiserEarth in France, due to those important qualities.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

I've joined WiserEarth almost at the opening of its French group, first in Paris. WiserEarth stroke me as a very generous, but also efficient, community of practice related to sustainable development. The most striking feature is the quality, level and warmth of exchange on distinctive topics releated to sustainable development within the community. It's social tools are also very useful. The fact that it opened other languages (French, Spanish, Portuguese...) makes it really a global community.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Feedback from WiserEarth members on news and ideas related to sustainable development. Met some people with whom to exchange professionally.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to improve some of the tools. But WE is doing that.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

March 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My personal experience of WiserEarth has been of dynamic connections locally and globally which have affirmed my own work and added to my knowledge and skills considerably. I have been able to create a thriving online group for sharing and resources around children in community which has empowered many parents and professionals working in this area. I have also been able to create a new regional group for East African community to address need for greater connectivity. WiserEarth staff and volunteers are very enjoyable and helpful to work with. I continue to find my experience very affirming and inspiring. I regularly communicate with members from around the world, while also participating in my local community. My participation in WiserEarth has given me a huge sense of purpose to my work for social and environmental justice. Importantly, my particpation with WiserEarth is sustainable in terms of being inspiring and effective without leading to burn out or frustration. I gladly continue to contribute to this wonderful community!

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Connecting people from many different countries, including countries where there is little online networking. Empowering members in their local work for social and environmental justice. Inspiring members to try new things and affirming the important work they are already doing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase staffing to make necessary updates more quickly so that the network can grow as fast as the membership requires. Make online site more mobile friendly.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

Wholistic approach to both social and environmental justice; and to both local and global connections. Powered by volunteers. Collective decision-making. Open source

February 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have made great connections, had great conversations, and furthered my community via WiserEarth. As one of the only aggregators and connectors of grassroots movements around the world, their work is invaluable. As the founder of how-matters.org, I'm always keen to share and learn from those who are not only concerned about what we do in our work to fight poverty and injustice, but also the why and the how. Thanks WiserEarth for making that possible!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

While I became a member of WiserEarth five years ago because of the extraordinary work it did to identify and make available at the click of a mouse thousands of organizations around the world that one can support, volunteer for and otherwise engage with to address social and environmental challenges, it was only recently that I came to realize the extraordinary advances WiserEarth has achieved to enable self-organizing networks of committed people to work on shared concerns. A critical tool for our times. Thanks you.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 21, 2011

more

August 21, 2011

MUCH TO SAY BUT EVEN MORE TO DO...

WISEREARTH IS THE INSPIRATION TO GET INVOLVE AND MAKE A DIFFERENCE !!!

EDUCATING, CREATING AND SHARING THE EXPERIENCE WITH THOSE MOST NEEDED...

ABOVE ALL... ITS OUR DUTY TO SAVE OUR WONDERFUL PLANET !!!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

LEARNING AND SHARING....

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

JOIN FORCES WITH ALL THAT ARE INVOLVED...

December 3, 2010

more

December 3, 2010

Having worked for membership organisations for many years, I've had an active interest in on-line social networking ever since they began to emerge in broadly accessible ways. I believe WiserEarth is the most effective network worldwide for building collective awareness and sharing knowledge and experience amongst the millions who are focussed on social justice and stewardship of the earth. The site has both the critical mass and the concentration of energy to be highly effective, and I believe the best is yet to come.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Meeting members of the network, exchanging stories, advice and connections

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do so with great care.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 6, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 28, 2010

WiserEarth organization for me is 2 things : the people and the tool : wiserearth.org. With the people, I have participated to some WiserEarhTuesday meetings that are really interesting. We share a... more

April 6, 2013

What I love with Wiser is that they are able to be worldwide and so close to me. The management is a small team in Sausalito (CA) of empathic, brilliant and tireless people. They want something as simple as major : have all environmental and social associations to get the empowerment they should have to change our world.
They open a WiserTuesday weekly meeting in main capital countries to share on how associations can better use the Information and Communication Technologies, ICT. In addition they are overall offering to our associations a dedicated global common social network which contains a structured wiki. It is a great solution to store and share all our documents, meeting minutes. It is a helps us to share inside but also between thousandths associations articles, news and events.
I am in France, 15 km from Paris center, part of the 70 000 people on this network. Only few people have understood the major interest of this network but more and more get connected and see how it can revolutionize their communication.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 28, 2010

WiserEarth organization for me is 2 things : the people and the tool : wiserearth.org.

With the people, I have participated to some WiserEarhTuesday meetings that are really interesting. We share a lot of information and the atmosphere is friendly and efficiently motivating.

I will speak more on the Social Network tool here.

I am a professional on IT even if I use WiserEarth.org for the associations I beyond to.

To manage the exchanges between my associations members I quickly discovered the limits of the mails so I pushed the use of google groups.

This has provided a lot of coherence in the distribution of information. I manage about 10 groups in Google, haft are used to distribute the information from the administrators to a relative large amount of people per group (100) and the other half are used for discussions between active associations members.

Before I discovered WiserEarth.org (WE), I though that Social Networks are just one more technical solution to talk for nothing.

But with WiserEarth the focus is clear: environment, social justice and this covers my associations activities on the Bicycles as transportation means and my Transition Town of Sucy-en-Brie near Paris in France.

The second focus is on the collaboration and share of knowledge to build alliances. This is also for us dramatically important, to share between associations in the same town (a need for Transition Towns) and share between associations doing the same thing on a bigger scale (need for bike association because you don't stay in your town with your bicycle). I have used for a time a Ning network but it was always limited with complicate connections to an other Nings.

With WE I can do links to any association in the world and I can show an article of any of them in my own group. The best in WE is to use Groups for associations or specific topics.

The third good point with WE is the document building and sharing. It is not a perfect function but the backbone is here.

Let me share an example. A set of new bicycle paths are going to be built in our area within a project of 21 millions Euros. We need to give to the government our opinion on what we see as the best solutions. Instead of exchanging mails or blogging an loosing information I create an article in WiserEarth that I link to my association group. It is open to the member of the group so we edit each other this article to add our knowledge and send by a printout in pdf the article once finished.

This article will remain in the group and in 2 years we will be able to find it (very difficult with Google Docs) and update it. The information is structured as I want in WE.

WE is relatively new for a structured solution but it has good foundations and new releases, like the one giving access with your Google, Facebook or Yahoo account, is simplifying the life of members

For people it remains a bit complicate to use so a training must be done but after they understand the advantage and contribute. They will spend more time to add information but at least they really build up something !

In addition to all of that the WiserEarth Team are great people. Good will, lovely people, ready to help you and clear in their mind.

Long life to WiserEarth.org

Note : I am not a native english speaker so sorry for my broken english

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

increasing my knowledge of existing associations and technically on open source tools solutions we could use. They have helped me to structure the actions of my associations with the Social Network.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to improve the wiserearth.org to be easy to use for writers and to add the evolutions required to fullfil my needs.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

What is unique about this organization?

The spirit

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

write a blog post to increase awareness around sustainability issues, bring WiserEarth to a country that will greatly benefit from our mission, promote and enter sustainability events around the world, review our WiserLocal program, carry our message across cultural boundaries by translating a page or two into a new language, enhance our Giving program and bring more financial sustainability to our organization.