Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
82 Reviews
1234.634155
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

It has been a few months since I first decided to volunteer with Wiser as an editor for some web content. It is an organization with a wide reach and volunteers and editors making big and small contributions to bring a change. The organization believes in maintaining a constant contact with its volunteers and letting each one contribute the maximum possible according to his/her own strength areas. The volunteer coordinators have been doing a remarkable job managing the volunteer resources they have and showcasing the good work by the org. An org with volunteers and contributors from world over, it certainly has a long way to go !!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 3, 2013

more

August 3, 2013

It's been almost a year since I became a volunteer at Wiser.org, and it's been pleasure to be a part of this organizatization. People are super nice and friendly. I learned a lot here and I had good experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 31, 2013

more

July 31, 2013

I am volunteering as a German translator with Wiser and it has been a pleasure doing so. Laura and Peggy are very dedicated and also show a lot of professionalism towards managing the volunteer staff. As a volunteer with a full time job and a full time family this is especially important, but also encouraging, since it proofs that everybody can do it. Part of the translation work involves transcribing newsletters, but it is also impressive how the staff at Wiser continually looks at different ways of connecting and decreasing language barriers, of course. For example, translation work also extends to transcribing video subtitles for tutorials into other languages, so they are really looking at all the new technology that is available to get the message spread even more and get like minded folks from everywhere connected. Great job. Great idea behind it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 30, 2013

more

July 30, 2013

I've joint WiserEarth for more than half a year. During this process, I've got to know more about international NGOs through the platform provided by Wiser.org. I was a translator and information in the past 6 months and now I'm working as an intern coordinator, I've solidified a group of volunteers with shared interests and values. I do feel delighted to have many Chinese young adults get involved in WiserEarth and focus more on sustainability.
My team do hope to enlarge the influence of Wiserchina through our efforts and make it a better world through joint efforts from all around the world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

enlarge its influence by various means like propaganda via social network in larger scale. and I would like to make it easier for Chinese people to log in its websites.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 30, 2013

more

July 30, 2013

I started volunteering with Wiser in late 2012. I found them through Sparked, a website that hosts microvolunteers and pairs them with non-profits based on their skills, talents and interests. I saw a call for volunteers there from Wiser and looked into them- I found their mission to be compelling and I loved how grassroots they were. I decided to join and immediately was enchanted by their passion, dedication and willingness to learn from their volunteers.

One thing that really stuck out to me was how their volunteer coordinator took a personal interest in her volunteers. I could tell it wasn't just a job for her and she genuinely cared about me as a person and didn't just want to see what she could get out of me to use for her organization, but wanted to help me develop my personal interests and passions and worked to make sure I would get something out of my experience at Wiser.

They also included me in a lot of their organizational decision making. I got to help design and implement a blog series, based on their Women's Day Campaign that I helped with. They included me in naming it, in finding people to interview and in interviewing and writing the articles myself. It was so inspiring to see that they wanted to include me in their structural processes, since in most other volunteer positions that I've had, I was always more of a worker bee.

I can't recommend Wiser or the Wiser team enough...they are dynamic, personable, organized, passionate and dedicated. I'm truly blessed to work with them!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I came into contact with Wiser by replying to a Craigslist ad asking for a volunteer in the office to help them transition into a paperless office. Laura (the volunteer coordinator) responded promptly, and we spoke on the phone before confirming that I would be coming in to help. She was extremely friendly, and I was excited to start working with the nonprofit. Coming in, I was treated with the utmost warmth by everybody in the office - Laura, Jane, Alex (two interns), and Peggy (the executive director). While my duties are limited to organizing, scanning and shredding the paper files, through my research in my own time and working directly in their office, I have come to appreciate the nonprofit for their purpose(s). However, I believe that a majority of this particular nonprofit's strength comes from the people who are working within; of the ones I've been fortunate enough to meet thus far, all have exuded a passion for the cause.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was brought to Wiser.org headquarters through a volunteer ad I answered on Craigslist. They wanted a Super Star scanner to help them 'green the office'. It immediately appealed to me for both a volunteer positions helping someone, and the fact that they wanted to help themselves, help earth by going 'green & paperless' I feel like i'm fortunate to have been able to meet Peggy, Laura & Alex face to face, as i quickly learned in my first couple of days, that they have volunteers that reach around the world. I left there with 3 new friends and a Wiser.org profile, that I can now keep in touch and continue to do my part to help them and THE cause. GO WISER!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 21, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 21, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I am in the midst of a career change into environmental work and I have been volunteering at WiserEarth since October. My volunteer experience has been fabulous due to the staff and the important mission of the organization. The staff at WiserEarth made me feel welcome from the start and found the most appropriate work for me based on my interests. The organization's online community, Wiser.org, has introduced me to the vast number of meaningful projects taking place around the world. The website provides an environment for me to communicate and collaborate with like-minded individuals. The spirit of cooperation and sharing permeates the entire organization due to the commitment of the WiserEarth staff, volunteers, and Wiser.org members. It has been a true pleasure to volunteer for WiserEarth and I look forward to continuing this meaningful work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 28, 2010

WiserEarth organization for me is 2 things : the people and the tool : wiserearth.org. With the people, I have participated to some WiserEarhTuesday meetings that are really interesting. We share a... more

April 6, 2013

What I love with Wiser is that they are able to be worldwide and so close to me. The management is a small team in Sausalito (CA) of empathic, brilliant and tireless people. They want something as simple as major : have all environmental and social associations to get the empowerment they should have to change our world.
They open a WiserTuesday weekly meeting in main capital countries to share on how associations can better use the Information and Communication Technologies, ICT. In addition they are overall offering to our associations a dedicated global common social network which contains a structured wiki. It is a great solution to store and share all our documents, meeting minutes. It is a helps us to share inside but also between thousandths associations articles, news and events.
I am in France, 15 km from Paris center, part of the 70 000 people on this network. Only few people have understood the major interest of this network but more and more get connected and see how it can revolutionize their communication.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 28, 2010

WiserEarth organization for me is 2 things : the people and the tool : wiserearth.org.

With the people, I have participated to some WiserEarhTuesday meetings that are really interesting. We share a lot of information and the atmosphere is friendly and efficiently motivating.

I will speak more on the Social Network tool here.

I am a professional on IT even if I use WiserEarth.org for the associations I beyond to.

To manage the exchanges between my associations members I quickly discovered the limits of the mails so I pushed the use of google groups.

This has provided a lot of coherence in the distribution of information. I manage about 10 groups in Google, haft are used to distribute the information from the administrators to a relative large amount of people per group (100) and the other half are used for discussions between active associations members.

Before I discovered WiserEarth.org (WE), I though that Social Networks are just one more technical solution to talk for nothing.

But with WiserEarth the focus is clear: environment, social justice and this covers my associations activities on the Bicycles as transportation means and my Transition Town of Sucy-en-Brie near Paris in France.

The second focus is on the collaboration and share of knowledge to build alliances. This is also for us dramatically important, to share between associations in the same town (a need for Transition Towns) and share between associations doing the same thing on a bigger scale (need for bike association because you don't stay in your town with your bicycle). I have used for a time a Ning network but it was always limited with complicate connections to an other Nings.

With WE I can do links to any association in the world and I can show an article of any of them in my own group. The best in WE is to use Groups for associations or specific topics.

The third good point with WE is the document building and sharing. It is not a perfect function but the backbone is here.

Let me share an example. A set of new bicycle paths are going to be built in our area within a project of 21 millions Euros. We need to give to the government our opinion on what we see as the best solutions. Instead of exchanging mails or blogging an loosing information I create an article in WiserEarth that I link to my association group. It is open to the member of the group so we edit each other this article to add our knowledge and send by a printout in pdf the article once finished.

This article will remain in the group and in 2 years we will be able to find it (very difficult with Google Docs) and update it. The information is structured as I want in WE.

WE is relatively new for a structured solution but it has good foundations and new releases, like the one giving access with your Google, Facebook or Yahoo account, is simplifying the life of members

For people it remains a bit complicate to use so a training must be done but after they understand the advantage and contribute. They will spend more time to add information but at least they really build up something !

In addition to all of that the WiserEarth Team are great people. Good will, lovely people, ready to help you and clear in their mind.

Long life to WiserEarth.org

Note : I am not a native english speaker so sorry for my broken english

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

increasing my knowledge of existing associations and technically on open source tools solutions we could use. They have helped me to structure the actions of my associations with the Social Network.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to improve the wiserearth.org to be easy to use for writers and to add the evolutions required to fullfil my needs.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

What is unique about this organization?

The spirit

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I worked as volunteer translator for Wiser.org and helped translating the website into German. It was a great experience from beginning to end. I received a warm welcome when I started and when we all finished our task of translating the entire website, our work was greatly appreciated by all the Wiser.org staff. Due to the translation tool, I could see immediately the progress we made, which was really good to see and also quite motivating. On top of this I got regular updates and the coordinator stayed in touch with me. I finished my volunteer job with the relieved and satisfied feeling, that I used my minor skills to contribute to something much bigger - a global movement. No doubt, I would do it again!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

write a blog post to increase awareness around sustainability issues, bring WiserEarth to a country that will greatly benefit from our mission, promote and enter sustainability events around the world, review our WiserLocal program, carry our message across cultural boundaries by translating a page or two into a new language, enhance our Giving program and bring more financial sustainability to our organization.