Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
82 Reviews
1234.634155
| 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review
April 6, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 28, 2010

WiserEarth organization for me is 2 things : the people and the tool : wiserearth.org. With the people, I have participated to some WiserEarhTuesday meetings that are really interesting. We share a... more

April 6, 2013

What I love with Wiser is that they are able to be worldwide and so close to me. The management is a small team in Sausalito (CA) of empathic, brilliant and tireless people. They want something as simple as major : have all environmental and social associations to get the empowerment they should have to change our world.
They open a WiserTuesday weekly meeting in main capital countries to share on how associations can better use the Information and Communication Technologies, ICT. In addition they are overall offering to our associations a dedicated global common social network which contains a structured wiki. It is a great solution to store and share all our documents, meeting minutes. It is a helps us to share inside but also between thousandths associations articles, news and events.
I am in France, 15 km from Paris center, part of the 70 000 people on this network. Only few people have understood the major interest of this network but more and more get connected and see how it can revolutionize their communication.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 28, 2010

WiserEarth organization for me is 2 things : the people and the tool : wiserearth.org.

With the people, I have participated to some WiserEarhTuesday meetings that are really interesting. We share a lot of information and the atmosphere is friendly and efficiently motivating.

I will speak more on the Social Network tool here.

I am a professional on IT even if I use WiserEarth.org for the associations I beyond to.

To manage the exchanges between my associations members I quickly discovered the limits of the mails so I pushed the use of google groups.

This has provided a lot of coherence in the distribution of information. I manage about 10 groups in Google, haft are used to distribute the information from the administrators to a relative large amount of people per group (100) and the other half are used for discussions between active associations members.

Before I discovered WiserEarth.org (WE), I though that Social Networks are just one more technical solution to talk for nothing.

But with WiserEarth the focus is clear: environment, social justice and this covers my associations activities on the Bicycles as transportation means and my Transition Town of Sucy-en-Brie near Paris in France.

The second focus is on the collaboration and share of knowledge to build alliances. This is also for us dramatically important, to share between associations in the same town (a need for Transition Towns) and share between associations doing the same thing on a bigger scale (need for bike association because you don't stay in your town with your bicycle). I have used for a time a Ning network but it was always limited with complicate connections to an other Nings.

With WE I can do links to any association in the world and I can show an article of any of them in my own group. The best in WE is to use Groups for associations or specific topics.

The third good point with WE is the document building and sharing. It is not a perfect function but the backbone is here.

Let me share an example. A set of new bicycle paths are going to be built in our area within a project of 21 millions Euros. We need to give to the government our opinion on what we see as the best solutions. Instead of exchanging mails or blogging an loosing information I create an article in WiserEarth that I link to my association group. It is open to the member of the group so we edit each other this article to add our knowledge and send by a printout in pdf the article once finished.

This article will remain in the group and in 2 years we will be able to find it (very difficult with Google Docs) and update it. The information is structured as I want in WE.

WE is relatively new for a structured solution but it has good foundations and new releases, like the one giving access with your Google, Facebook or Yahoo account, is simplifying the life of members

For people it remains a bit complicate to use so a training must be done but after they understand the advantage and contribute. They will spend more time to add information but at least they really build up something !

In addition to all of that the WiserEarth Team are great people. Good will, lovely people, ready to help you and clear in their mind.

Long life to WiserEarth.org

Note : I am not a native english speaker so sorry for my broken english

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

increasing my knowledge of existing associations and technically on open source tools solutions we could use. They have helped me to structure the actions of my associations with the Social Network.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to improve the wiserearth.org to be easy to use for writers and to add the evolutions required to fullfil my needs.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

What is unique about this organization?

The spirit

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I worked as volunteer translator for Wiser.org and helped translating the website into German. It was a great experience from beginning to end. I received a warm welcome when I started and when we all finished our task of translating the entire website, our work was greatly appreciated by all the Wiser.org staff. Due to the translation tool, I could see immediately the progress we made, which was really good to see and also quite motivating. On top of this I got regular updates and the coordinator stayed in touch with me. I finished my volunteer job with the relieved and satisfied feeling, that I used my minor skills to contribute to something much bigger - a global movement. No doubt, I would do it again!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 21, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 21, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been translating the website from English to French for a year and a half and also spreading the word around in social networks and managing the french users community. He feel like this project is very huge and should be developed further because it has a great potential to connect people to solutions and helping each other to solve common problems. I never felt so much that our worlds are interconnected and how much people are willing to give Earth a chance to be preserved and human being to survive it's fate. Much has been done already by few people but, has Margaret Meads put it, it's has been always few people who have changed the rules.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I was blessed to find Wiser Earth when I had some free time and a desire to make a difference. They are building a sharable database for the sustainability movement and my role was to enter events from various organizations' sites. The process gave me much more than the time I gave, as I learned about sustainability efforts in locations near and far. The staff were very generous and showered me with appreciation far beyond my small efforts.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 21, 2012

more

April 21, 2012

It's really a special experience for me to act a volunteer at Wiser Earth. I turned English into Chinese in order to make more people access to it--a green social network engaging in sustainable development. We share interesting information and together hold activities. I try to let my friends around me to know Wiser, and to know what I am doing. If more people get to know it, we will find even more supports.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 21, 2012

more

April 21, 2012

it's just like a game, and all of us enjoy playing that. translating things, going out discussing, putting pictures and articles on the internet made us excited. who said volunteers get nothing rewarding, we get joy and happiness all the time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 21, 2012

more

April 21, 2012

It's a great experience for me to participate in translating Wiser into Chinese. It's a typically phenomenal social network where you can connect with environmentalists and philanthropists around the world.I really get confidence from those people. I used to dream about being an Environmental Engineering major.But as a law school student now,I found that contributing to envoronment and society is possible whereever and whenever.Like I joined the Green League Club in my university and we organized the EarthHour not long ago in campus.Wiser tells us:everyone plays a role!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 21, 2012

more

April 21, 2012

I know nothing about NGO before I became a translator in Wiser. Not only it provides me with a lot of knowledge but also it is a platform for people to realize the importance of protecting the environment. I really appreciate what it has done.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 21, 2012

more

April 21, 2012

I am the volunteer coordinator in China. I witness the happenning of Wiser's Chinese version. Hope more and mroe people who are caring about sustainability our earth mother and social justice will come to wiser. I am proud that language is no longer the barrier for people to use it. It's going to be a rock in China!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am a Chinese translation volunteer for WiseEarth, and by doing the transltion I really learn a lot about NGO, the environment issues and lots of areas that I had ignored before. And I realize that I really can do something to spread the ideas.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

write a blog post to increase awareness around sustainability issues, bring WiserEarth to a country that will greatly benefit from our mission, promote and enter sustainability events around the world, review our WiserLocal program, carry our message across cultural boundaries by translating a page or two into a new language, enhance our Giving program and bring more financial sustainability to our organization.