Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
38 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
July 8, 2014

more

July 8, 2014

I have been involved with Wisconsin Nicaragua Partners for quite some time. I worked with the Rotary Club of Stevens Point on a very successful preschool remodeling in 2008-2009, but was unable to travel there until 2013. I returned again this spring for my 2nd Learning Center Trek. I am very impressed with coordination, cooperation and the friendly emphasis on people to people exchange. The trip is in part volunteering--teaching a skill at a gathering in three different Learning Centers, part touring, but very up close and personal that does not happen on "vacation" travel. Many people have commented on the professionalism of the staff and the proven track record of the organization. All those things are very true, but what has impressed me is the willingness of many, many Nicaraguans to help out their community members. The Burn Dressing program is an outstanding example of this. Volunteers fixing machines, sewing the precise very necessary dressings and expanding to meet community needs along with a committed doctor who oversees this program and speaks glowingly about the service for his patients. While there, we heard from a young woman who very bravely shared her story. This is truly an organization that encourages involvement on whatever level you are interested or able and accomplishes amazing small and major projects. It is an outstanding example of Wisconsinites and Nicaraguans connecting in meaningful ways to make all of our lives better.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see a stronger city to city partnership between Stevens Point and Esteli, Nicaragua as part of the Partners of the Americas organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 8, 2014

more

July 8, 2014

I am involved with W/NP behind the scenes with technology. As a student volunteer, I see nothing but hard work and effort coming from the offices of W/NP. The full time staff are passionate about helping others and they work together to get work done. I wish I could do more, but I feel I have done my part by keeping the website up to date and volunteering at a few events. I am honored to continue to work for this amazing organization and I look forward to what my remaining years in Stevens Point brings.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 8, 2014

more

July 8, 2014

I am involved with the Lending Libraries Program in the W/NP Stevens Point Office. Each month I purchase six to eight Spanish books for children and Amy Wiza and her staff of volunteers transport them to Nicaragua. So far, I have donated 160 books. It is a pleasure for me to know that the children are enjoying reading and learning at the same time. I plan to continue to work with W/NP to expand this excellent program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 7, 2014

more

July 7, 2014

This past February I participated in the 2014 Wisconsin Nicaragua Partner's- Learning Center Trek after being invited by a friend who had gone the year before. It was an amazing experience and one I highly recommend to others who are interested in learning about another part of the Americas. The trip was very well organized by the Wisconsin Nicaraguan Partner's central office in Stevens Point. The staff at the Center were extremely helpful and offered an orientation to those who were first time participants. It took very little effort on my part in terms of travel arrangements.

The Nicaraguan staff were also professional and welcoming. I was touched by the workshop participants who were so enthusiastic about attending and eager to learn new skills. We were in both rural and urban settings and visited a residence that served as a volunteer fire department with equipment donated by Wisconsin fire and emergency organizations. We also visited a school that was started by a Nicaraguan couple who wanted to bring education to their neighborhood. It was a school that started with a few students and in a short few years expanded to over 300 students. Again WNP was the source of one of their buildings as well as supplies and recorders donated so that the students could learn a musical instrument. What impressed me most was how small our world really is. The girl's chorus at the school entertained us with their rendition of a song that won an Emmy this year -I Want to Be Royal. I just thought teenagers are teenagers anywhere in the world.

I highly recommend the trip.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 7, 2014

more

July 7, 2014

The W/NP organization is full of passionate, hard working staff and volunteers who feel a bond to a beautiful country and its people. I have traveled three times on the Wisconsin/Nicaragua Partners Learning Center Treks and I'm always impressed how hard the staff work to guarantee an amazing experience. During the Learning Center Treks we offer workshops to teach skills to Nicaraguan women. These skills are proven to help empower women who have little opportunities in a very impoverished country. The experiences I've had have opened my eyes to the challenges that many third world countries face. I truly enojy returning each year to Nicaragua to see friends that I have made while visiting.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more funding to help sustain the mission of the organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 3, 2014

more

July 3, 2014

One of the great things about Wisconsin-Nicaragua Partners is that it has strong central offices in
Stevens Point, Wisconsin and Managua, Nicaragua coordinating its many activities--learning centers, farm programs, chica-nica doll project, eye glasses project , burn dressings project, travel
programs, and much more--but also partner cities, which sponsor projects with their own partner city. For example I have been a member since 2000 of the Fort Atkinson-Puerto Cabezas , a part of the Partners of the Americas for the Americas for over 40 years. Our group has supported a learning center, helped to set up a library, sent seeds to many local farmers who had lost crops because of flooding, and given scholarships to students. Working together we make a difference!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more ways to finance its excellent work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Hola amy mucho gusto en saludarte a ti y a la organización. Yo tengo desde el 2004 trabajar con la organización, para mi es excelente seguir trabajando porque así ayudamos a otras personas, transmitiendo todo lo q podemos y tenemos a nuestro alcance. Felicito este organismo por ser el primero en apoyarnos con materiales de trabajo para los centros de aprendizajes formado por nuestro organismo, me ha gustado el sistema de organización porque así nos proyectamos con personas sin distingo de sexo, color o raza.
A pesar de las ciudades muy largas, hemos estado en contacto para trabajar de la mano Nación con Nación
Felicito a todos los que han hecho posibles tan hermosa idea ya que juntos marcamos la diferencia.

Que el señor les bendiga.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 2, 2014

more

July 2, 2014

Dear friends, my wife and I have 4 years of working with Wisconsin, 2 years
8 rural community EL Piñuelar, San Pedro Project, piñatas first course and then
ongoing support us SEWING 8 electric machines have passed the course and are working
in its self-sustaining, this year we have
another 8 farmers with another project, ""NUESTRA SEÑORA DE
LOURDES, VALLE LAS ZAPATAS", have passed the course of piñatas and are in the course of
shirt, skirts, and aprons, and also an economic support as loans for purchasing your
materials or supplies that Wisconsin not have at his disposal, and the communities EL PIÑUELAR, VALLE LAS ZAPATAS, we are grateful for all this that cross of Wisconsin are doing the work of people with low income and other
so that they have their own support their families, that you saw here in Nicaragua
precarious living needs these families, may God bless me, so that
these and other more families have the opportunity to be favored.
social work for all this non-profit and are as aware of this marriage,
by the work we Wisconsin par Nicaragua, we will give you a rate
tion of 5 stars it is very well deserved

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A little

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I've been a volunteer with W/NP for about 15 years, and have been so impressed by the hard work and dedication of everyone involved. It's amazing to see how a little assistance has bloomed into such fantastic programs, such as the therapeutic burn dressings project.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Bring more awareness about this fantastic organization, doing so much with so little!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Fifty (50) years of continuous humanitarian support at the grass roots level of families and individuals in needs says it all. WNP makes a lasting impact through projects that respond to real needs facilitated by an infrastructure that works. Their feedback to support donations is immediate and real. Your sewing machine donation is registered to a Learning Center or individual and you can even see the results in the Chica Nica link on their website or join one of the WNP tours for a first hand experience. My tour visits are always exceptional. A fantastic organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...increase my monetary support to enrich what is already working.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help prepare shipment to Nicaragua or gather class materials Volunteer