Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
41 Reviews
1234.975615
Write A Review
October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Wingspan's top priority is their residents. Their resources are committed to the comfort and safety of the people they care for - for life. Their staff is well trained with very little turnover. This is important to the residents in their homes. Communication is outstanding which is so important to family members.
Our daughter is in one of Wingspan's homes. She has fit in with the other ladies and she is happy and so are we.
September 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 23, 2013

This organization goes above and beyond the call of duty routinely to provide the people in its care with exceptional care as well as encouragement to use their skills and capabilities to their fulles... more

September 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Wingspan Life Resources operates 24 residential facilities that care for developmentally disabled adults. The Wingspan staff takes "caring" well beyond providing food, shelter and medical assistance. Wingspan's commitment is to empower the abilities and to nurture the spirits of its residents so that they may recognize their God-given abilities and develop their maximum human potential. Once admitted to a Wingspan home, residents can be assured of loving and supportive care up to and including end of live support if needed. I am proud to be associated with this organization for the good it accomplished day in and day out.
October 23, 2013

This organization goes above and beyond the call of duty routinely to provide the people in its care with exceptional care as well as encouragement to use their skills and capabilities to their fullest. One of my favorite stories is the extra effort staff members made to assure that one of the residents could walk his daughter down the aisle to be married. This demanded special medical and physical therapy efforts and an out of state trip. Thanks to all the advance planning and special efforts, the trip and the day came off without a hitch.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 12, 2012

Wingspan Life Resources operates 24 group homes in the Minneapolis-St. Pau metro area. The organization's mission is to serve people who are challenged by age, ability or health to realize their own unique gifts, talents and dreams. Wingspan fulfill this mission by providing its residents withn individualized support services that promote personal choice, independence, dignity and fellowship with the community. Formerly known as St. Anns, Wingspan marks its 40th year of service this year. The Winspan staff demonstrates its commitment to residents everyday in so many ways. In fact, employees recently rated the organization as one of the Top 100 Places To Work (in the Twin Cities area) in an annual poll conducted by the Star-Tribune newspaper. Staff gave management high ratings for understanding what's going on in the organization and for supporting staff members in their jobs. I'm proud to be associated with Wingspan by serving as the Board Secretary for the past 1-1/2 years.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 18, 2013

I have had a realtionship with Winspan Life Resources for over 20 years. I'm consistently amazed at the devotion and committment the Wingspan staff has for the people they care for in the 24 Wingsapn ... more

September 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with Wingspan Life Resources for several years. I continue to be impressed by the devotion and commitment shown by both staff and volunteers - empowering Wingspan consumers to reach their individual potential ... providing safe and comfortable homes (not just 'housing') with a family like environment. And this is not just temporary care. Wingspan offers and has provided exceptional and loving care for consumers though out their adult lives and is with them as they pass. I am proud to be associated with Wingspan.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 18, 2013

I have had a realtionship with Winspan Life Resources for over 20 years. I'm consistently amazed at the devotion and committment the Wingspan staff has for the people they care for in the 24 Wingsapn homes. The residents are given the opportunity to be a 'family' in their 'own home'.

The
Wingspan Life Resources organization is a locally recognized leader in advocating for both the residents they serve - as well as in quality training and resources for the staff. Wingspan demonstrates good stewardship of donations and funding.

Wingspan does indeed "... help people who are challenged by age, abilty or health to realize their unique gifts, talents and dreams".

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 18, 2012

Wingspan Life Resources is an amazing organization with wonderful staff that is 100% dedicated to the lives of its clients. They understand so many of the individual needs of each one and they know t... more

October 18, 2013

This organization is in tune with its clients and donors and knows its mission. it is truly a voice for those who have difficulty representing themselves.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way for it to receive more non government dependent funding in order to take care of the important extras its clients deserve.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 18, 2012

Wingspan Life Resources is an amazing organization with wonderful staff that is 100% dedicated to the lives of its clients. They understand so many of the individual needs of each one and they know the greater issues facing individuals who require such care including health, finances, social interaction, well being and more. I have been very impressed by the personal contact everyone receives from staff, volunteers and the executive staff. It is truly a nurturing community and if one had a loved one facing these challenges, they could only hope there would be a Wingspan Life Resources there for them.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 18, 2012

more

July 18, 2012

My intial connection to Wingspan began several years ago that eventually led me to becoming a board member. I can only say it is a privilege to serve on the board and do what I can to support the creative efforts Wingspan puts forth to insure a high level of quality care is provided to our consumers . I am grateful to have been touched by this organization and experience the love, devotion and commitment Wingspan staff has for their consumers.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 18, 2012

more

July 18, 2012

I have been fortunate to be a part of Wingspan as a family member of resident of Wingspan along with board member of Wingspan for a few years now. My sister Kathy has been had incredible care and amazing experiences for over 15 yrs as a Wingspan resident. We've seen first hand the daily commitment of the care givers Wingspan has always provided for her. As a board member the last several years, I have also seen first hand the outstanding leadership and commitment from the Wingspan management team from the top down. This truly is a one of a kind non-profit who not only does their work with great professionalism but also the care and commitment rarely seen in their field.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My sister is resident of Wingspan for last 15 yrs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would spend more time fundraising for this amazing orgnization

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

My sister is resident

July 15, 2012

more

July 15, 2012

Wingspan Life Resources is the most dedicated organization I have every had the opportunity of relating to. They serve the most vulnerable adults in our communities with dignity, perseverance and respect. And, the best part is that everyone seems to have fun doing it as well as the people we serve seem to be very happy with who they are and where they are living. WLR brings critical care to these people and serves them as individuals with individual interests and desires. Kudos to WLR!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 14, 2012

more

July 14, 2012

I am a relatively new board member of Wingspan Life Resources and I also have a cousin Mary who is a resident in one of Wingspan's 24 group homes in Minneapolis and St. Paul. I am very impressed with the leadership and the dedication of the entire staff. Their goal is to see that each and every resident not only lives in a healthy and safe enviroment but also that each one thrives. I recently attended the annual Magnolia Ball that Wingspan holds for the more than 100 residents. It was held at a downtown hotel and each of the residents was dressed up in a gown or tux and was having the time of their life. Each participated to the best of their ability on and off the dance floor and I could tell this is a highly anticpated evening out for each of them. I later went home thinking how lucky I am to have become a board member of this organization that has done so much for my cousin Mary and for all of the residents that are served by Wingspan. Two Thumbs Up !!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 14, 2009

more

January 14, 2009

I am a member of the Board of Directors at Winspan. This is now my second year on the board. Perhaps my most memorable experience to date has been a visit that I made to a group home in Roseville. What I observed during that visit, was not only a house full of really happy, self confident residents, but something that I also found particularly touching. I was very impressed with the staff on site, the personal stories they told me about each of the residents as we toured the home and their obvious compassion for the Wingspan residents there. I saw some of the resident's personal living space and was happy to see posters on the walls, pictures, video games being played and music coming out of one resident's room as I walked by. The residence in Roseville felt like "home" - like a place where anyone would feel comfortable living and would feel pride associated with the surroundings there. I was really proud to be affiliated with this organization that day and to know that the residents were happy and the staff caring for them were really committed to their work.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

annual awards ceremonies for the employees where employees are recognized for the ways they have contributed to quality of life for the residents each year.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers