Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
1234.861115
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
June 22, 2012

more

June 22, 2012

I volunteer with Wings because I feel it is very important to help the children whose parents are in prison. We want to teach them lifeskills and encourage them to do good.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 21, 2012

more

June 21, 2012

We held a WINGS Prison Party at the Youth Detention Facility.One young man said he didn't want to attend because his parents couldn't come. One of the Facility staff members told him he should come and "she would be his mom for a day." The young man did come to the party, and later on, he told us it was the most fun he had ever had in his life. He was released from the Facility two months later, and shortly thereafter, he was killed in a drive-by shooting. When I heard about his death, I was very thankful that we were able to provide him with a wholesome, really enjoyable memory before he died. At another party, a teenaged girl came with her mom to a Prison Party at an adult detention facility. She didn't want to have anything to do with her dad, who was an inmate, and she seemed very embarrassed by him. But as the party progressed, I saw her start talking to her dad, and later, I saw her sitting next to him with her head on his shoulder. I was so glad we had a part in helping to reunite that father and daughter. I could tell dozens of such stories about how WINGS has helped to encourage prison inmates and their families and how it has helped to strengthen family ties.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 21, 2012

more

June 21, 2012

I've attended a Wings Ministry Party and it's the most wonderful, inspiring, uplifting event I've ever attended. How awesome it was to see families interact, fathers interacting with their children; husbands and wives having the opportunity to connect and talk to one another, and the smiles that come from deep within from the very depth of their souls. Wings is a God Send to the families of the incarcerated citizen. It gives incentive to the incarcerated individual to make better choices so they can have the opportunity to visit with their families, it gives the children, wives and girlfriends excitement and peace that they will have the wonderful opportunity to visit with their loved one. Wings is a needed ministry with the prison institution. Not only does it unite families for a few hours, it makes a significant difference in the lives of children to interact with their parents and strengthens relationships.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Experienced the results through comments from both families and incarcerated individual, and written evaluations

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Met lots of other volunteers and learned so much from each one

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Very self-rewarding and incentive to continue to volunteer

June 21, 2012

more

June 21, 2012

I didn't know anything about Wings Ministry until i was employed with them under a 12 week program under NIYC to gain some experience in Office Assistant. After done with my program i would like to continue in volunteering for Wings Ministry.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

A full hand shake, manners, set table. and other skills, Also Learning Computers. I like that very much today modern world is nothing but Information Technology..

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like Wings Ministry to get a bigger office........ And world peace!!!! I like Wings Ministry to come and visit Gallup N.M. and get families involved with the organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Get my family out here to visit Wings Ministry and go to Monday night party. And get more involved with the program.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Indeed it did.... i meant some exciting and friendly people and I learn some new skills thru this program. Also the Guest Speakers from different places here in Albuquerque I know some things that i didn't know. Thank you very much.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I feel great, helping families and introducing myself to new friends. i like to keep volunteering. Also, Help families in Gallup N.M. Thank You Lord, for your grace, freely given......

June 21, 2012

more

June 21, 2012

I have always have felt a need to help people that have been incarcerated, and then Wings showed me how much there is a need for the families of the incarcerated. This program and ministry can help connect both issues and bring love, encouragement, and life training to the desperate. I have watched Wings for 17 years grow from a vision to a very successful reality with great oppurtunities for growth. Along with helping families it does a tremendous service for the local and state governments when we help people reintergrate to society.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 20, 2012

more

June 20, 2012

I volunteered at a prison in Dallas-area with Wings. I had not spent any time thinking about what the experience would be like, but it was very touching and really made me think about all the innocent families and wives and children who whose husbands are in jail. you could tell that all of the inmates and family cherished their time together.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

as someone who doesn't know anyone in prison, it opened my eyes up to a part of society that has family in prison and it made me more compassionate towards the family.

June 20, 2012

more

June 20, 2012

The Wings ministry of Albuquerque NM is a very active and productive ministry that aids families and friends of people incarcerated. They run very active programs that get people involved and communicating with each other.They can use all the help they can get to keep this program going. They seem to be able to reach people with many speakers and topics that give an up lift to those who attend. thanks for your help Fr. Mark Sutton, clergyman from the Ecumenical Catholic Communion

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 20, 2012

more

June 20, 2012

In October 2000 I became the Director of Music MInstry at Central United Methodist Church in Albequerque, NM. I met Ann Edenfiled who is an alto in the Chancel Choir. I bagan to hear about the Wings Ministry. We had several Wings Parties in our church fellowship hall. The first party for me was one of disbelief. I saw the inmates interact with their families, the volunteers and with Anne. We sang songs, prayed, acted out Bibles verses, listened to Anne tell her story, ate and played games with the families. When everyone left, I was totally in awe. I know that God was present and transformations in our lives were happening.When I moved backed to Arlington, TX our church, Trinity United Methodist, became involved with Wings and we have participated in this ministry at Hutchins State Prison. My husband and I are also financial contributors. I hope you fly to the Wings Ministry and become involved. Joyce Olson, Arlington, TX

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 20, 2012

more

June 20, 2012

I first attended a Wings for L.I.F.E. party when my son was incarcerated. It was so wonderful to be able to interact with my son and other inmates playing games, singing songs and acting out bible stories. We had fun, acted silly and ate pizza! Since then, I have volunteered for other parties. i'm not sure who gets more out of this - the volunteers or the inmates. It is so wonderful to see families having fun together, singing, doing crafts and SMILING and laughing. There is not much to smile about when you are incarcerated and some of these families have never been in church before. Everyone came away feeling a sense of hope and maybe not is all lost when you are incarcerated.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 18, 2012

more

June 18, 2012

I know the far reaching effect of incarceration. I have seen it in my patients. A program like WINGS is the BEST at supporting the families that deal with loved ones behind bars.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers