Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
1234.928575
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
May 8, 2014

I have been a donor to WIngs for several years.
I am so impressed with the work of this non-profit that I increasde my contributions every year. The dedicated people of Wings are doing such a great work helping the women of Guatemala.
The family planning and women's health that wings
promotes helps not only the women but also the children, the whole family and the country of Guatemala.
Thank you Wings.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give more money to help it do more good.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with WINGS since its inception and served on the board for many years. In that time I have seen the growth of the organization, and witnessed the increased number of families that WINGS has helped. It is my firm belief that the best way to raise the standard of living of all Guatemalans is by educating the youth and limiting family size, thereby decreasing the incidence of maternal and child death, malnutrition, and stunting that is so prevalent in this country. WINGS is uniquely positioned to help effectuate these changes.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As the former Communications Coordinator for WINGS, I was able to spend time in the field interviewing women, men, and youth about their participation in WINGS' program. I heard so many touching stories about how the organization had made an impact on the lives of the participants and their families. I also heard many vehement thank-yous which convinced me how directly donations to WINGS make a difference to families who need the most help. On an organizational level, from the time before I was employed by WINGS, until the current day, I have been impressed by WINGS' model which employs educators on the ground to reach out to their own communities in a culturally sensitive way. It is also admirable that WINGS continues to strive to improve their outreach strategy. Overall, I highly recommend this organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

If ever there was a program aimed at helping Guatemala improve the lives of all its people, it is WINGS. By reaching far out into the rural communities it is accomplishing its mission of creating "opportunities for Guatemalan families to improve their lives through family planning education and access to reproductive health services." Their approach to educate women, men and youth is so necessary. Every family member, every community member, is offered the same information and thereby can make educated decisions regarding family planning and reproductive health. WINGS does so much, for so many, with so little, when you consider the budgets of some of the huge organizations that exist in our world. I wish them only continued success and growth!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have served as a board member since 2008. During this time WINGS has expanded and developed a holistic approach to providing information about reproductive issues and increasing access for Guatemalan families in need. Providing women and men with choice about thier reproductive health needs is life changing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help it grow to expand further in the Alta Vera Paz

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Providing women, men and young adults with critical information and eduction regarding family planning and reproductive health is the central focus of WINGS. Not only does this protect the health of these women and children short term, but it allows families to provide a better quality of life for their families long term. WINGS is doing a impressive job of reaching out to those areas of Guatemala where this support is most needed.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As Executive Director of a non-profit that serves indigenous women and youth in remote villages in Guatemala, I have had the opportunity to work closely with WINGS over the past several years. WINGS has helped us set up a youth sexual and reproductive health program and trained our sex educator. WINGS continues to collaborate and share resources with us on family planning and sex education programs that serve the indigenous population in our area of Guatemala.

WINGs is top notch NGO with a top notch track record and reputation in Guatemala and internationally. We are honored to work with them to address common goals for indigenous women and youth.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As a previous employee who has seen this organization continue to spread its wings, I remain truly impressed by its dedication to its mission and by the continuously innovative ways in which WINGS tackles one of the toughest issues out there - family planning and reproductive health.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

July 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Our foundation did a project with WINGS a few years ago. We are particularly impressed by their stunning efficiency and effectiveness. They can literally turn a family's long-term financial prospects around with a donation of $50 or so (Jadelle implant). We remain very enthusiastic donors from our personal funds.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Just keep doing what you're doing.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This program is almost a one of a kind here in the Antigua Guatemala area. It is so desperately needed, and they do so much. I assist a family of shoe shiners, Papa, Martin (16), Gregorio (15), Juan Carlos (14) and Luciano (9). The family lost a baby girl to pneumonia about a year ago because they could not afford proper care. Eight months ago they had another baby, Israel, there happens to be another brother around 19 who lives in Quiche, never comes to Antigua, but I just know they are going to try for another girl. I have sat Martin down and had him watch your site page with teens talking to teens, but Papa is way out of my league. You are a great program, desperately needed.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers