Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
1234.923085
Write A Review
December 30, 2012

more

December 30, 2012

My daughter currently serves as an Americorps Vista for Wings For Kids, her experience is life changing, she is soaring with Wings right now.This is a dedicated group of professionals highly invested in the challenges that cripple our country. Wings is teaching our children social and emotional skills that will carry the kids through their own challenges in their own lives on a daily basis effective immediately. It is clearly done with the most important ingredients, love and respect of one another free of judgement, shame or pity. I for one would love to see the Wings for Children creed recited by every child in the nation as their own reminder for self preservation and moral base. I work as a public school bus driver in the Northeast and have been doing this for 16 years. I am familiar with kids of all ages and every child could benefit from the social/emotional process Wings is fostering in America's youth. Wings in addition strives to support the parents with kids in the program as well as involving the local community. Wings coordinates with other non profits to get nutrition and volunteer services in place to support the kids. I am so proud my daughter has landed with this group and she couldn't be happier.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I have had the opportunity to work with the staff at WINGS for kids for the last 3 years as a partner supporting service learning as a part of the WINGS curriculum. WINGS shines a light on what makes kids GREAT and Earth Force considers them an outstanding partner. Their program is a critical staple of support for schools and communities that are often overwhelmed with with challenges. One of the things that makes WINGS so effective is their focus; all aspects of their program are explicitly tied to Social and Emotional Learning Objectives. Through SEL participants and their families learn how to explore and manage their own responses to the world around them. Through our partnership with WINGS for kids we, at Earth Force, feel that we are better able to achieve our mission to "engage young people as active citizens who improve the environment and their communities."

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

WINGS does so much for each student involved in their programs-providing academic help, emotional support, dinner, and FUN! The WINGS leaders are fantastic and they meet the challenges of each day (of which there are many) with such enthusiasm and positivity.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

As an ex-teacher for a Title One school, I know first hand the challenges the students and teachers face. The WINGS program provides an immeasurable amount of structure, support, encouragement, resources, and love to the children who participate. WINGS without a doubt is providing an environment where the students can bridge the gap between becoming successful academics as well as successful well rounded citizens. A WINGS graduate is presented with a bright future and carries the tools necessary to make their dreams a reality.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

The passion and dedication of the leaders of WINGS is certainly evident in the effectiveness of the program. The children I've met that have experienced WINGS at their school have grown leaps and bounds. Thank you to WINGS for your contribution and relentless commitment and enthusiasm to changing lives.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

Volunteering at WINGS each week lifts my spirits. Watching the social and academic progression of our WINGS kids proves that positive reinforcement about making good choices in a nurturing setting works!. At WINGS, we all soar!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

Working with children is exhausting! Working with children who are unfamiliar with 'the rules for success' in a school setting, can raise the stress levels and literal noise levels in an educational environment very quickly; I know this from the past ten years. I have seen many teachers in action in our local schools, many of which serve "at-risk" children. I have unfortunately seen few teachers who seem to truly enjoy the process and appreciate their students, until now. The shouting, fighting and sulking behaviour, so typical of many children/students, is being addressed in a kind, caring and affirming manner.The children are learning both how to receive and give respect to others. They are learning about referred gratification and the perseverance and patience required to achieve their goals, something that I believe is too readily absent in our society. The young leaders are the best I've seen in an after school program and hopefully , they too will be even better leaders in our society, given a close understanding of the many issues our schools and students are facing. WINGS for kids gets the highest grade in my book. I'm very thankful they are here and I pray they will quickly expand the schools/sites they are able to work in

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

Being the Director of Education for the Charleston Animal Society, I see a lot of children. I actually go into some of the same schools that Wings for Kids have their after-school program. Since I teach about being humane to animals sometimes the lessons easily can be about being humane to people. I always know when a child in a classroom is part of the Wings family. They talk to me by looking me in the eyes, they have a thought and can articulate it. They see the impact people have on the animals around them. After the first time I did a demonstration for the Wings about children being safe around dogs, I knew this organization was something special. I love their curriculum, I think the staff are so committed to the mission and the students are truly a pleasure to teach. We decided to offer a "reward" to the students who met their goals by having them come to the shelter for a behind the scenes tour, to play with a few animals, & just to learn about the role of the shelter in the community. The staff overcame the hurdle of transportation and each month brought the students. I have to say the Wings kids are a treat to be around. They are generally interested in learning, they are respectful and really get the feelings of the animals waiting to find their forever home. Their questions are intelligent & thoughtful and they truly care about the animals well being. I admire the staff, the curriculum and the organization so much I personally donate because I believe in their cause. Keep up the great work and guide those children to soar as high as they possibly can:)

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

No greater a passion than those with Wings for Kids. This essential program offers a stable environment where the children feel safe, nurtured, valued and respected. I have seen first hand the profound difference made in these children lives and emphatically applaud the hard work and dedication. Hats off my friends!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

I work for Cupcake, a local cupcake bakery, and we have partnered with WINGS to help support their work in the community. We chose WINGS as a nonprofit partner because we really wanted to get behind an organization that focuses on changing lives and empowering students in our community. WINGS is teaching students the tools they need to become successful in all areas of their life. All of the WINGS staff and volunteers are on board for the mission of the organization and are enthusiastic. They are making a positive impact in the lives of the students they work with, as well as the community. WINGS is making a sustainable, positive, life changing difference in lives and we are honored to be a part of this great organization!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers