Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
1234.55
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 29, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 29, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

I want to say thank you to the ministry known as The Wingard Home. Four weeks ago, my daughter and I came upon a young mother and her two baby girls, who were in a desperate situation. They were homeless, hungry and tired. All they had were the clothes they were wearing and an empty diaper bag. Their needs were met that night and 2 days later my daughter was told about the Wingard Home and took the young family to talk with Mrs. Wingard. Mrs. Wingard immediately accepted the family and gave them a home. I visited the home later that week and saw smiles on the babies faces and hope in Kayla's eyes. What a ministry this family has! God is using them to provide for His children in need. I must also say thank you to the MISS 103 radio listeners who responded in such a heartwarming way. GOD'S HANDS WERE ALL OVER THIS SITUATION. Thank you, Lord, for your blessings on me......."For I was hungry, and you fed me, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, I was a stranger and you took me in, I was naked and you clothed me........when you've done it to the least of my children, you have done it for Me". Matthew 25:35-40
October 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

i was stranded on interstate 20 hitch hikeing from my home state of arizona. i called mrs charolette and asked her for help i explained my sutiation .after a few minutes speaking to her she told me she would be happy to help me.i told her where i was at and mrs charolette wingard sent a man to pick me up .the ministry took me in and helped me with my dehydration . i have been here for a year and a half and i love it here .i had the best christmas here in my intire life and im 46 .this ministrt does more then the goverment has ever done . the golden rule at this ministry is to learn about jesus as i have done and to find work where you keep your money to get on your feet . this ministry does not ask you for a dime . alls they ask is to follow the rules and to work on getting on your feet . i am now the chef here at this ministry .and cook for every one here . it is a wonderful place and mr roy wingard and mrs charolette wingard are true heroes to me in my book . they truly a blessing to those in need.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

This ministry has been around for a long time in the Jackson area. I donated a couch to them years ago and helped give a baby shower when a woman they were helping was pregnant and had nothing. They believe in a hand up, not a hand out. They believe in hard work, schedules, and being accountable. They take people in when no one else will. They teach people how to save their money when they get a job and how to manage money. They teach and preach love and forgiveness but also they are firm in what a person needs to do to stay there.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't know of any changes. They work hard with what they have been given.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I sit on the board of one of the most productive ministries I have ever met. Lives are changing every day and miracles happen all the time at the ministry.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure that they had what they need to do their jobs effectively without always having to be short of resources or funds.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

There are not many preachers who are willing to welcome their flock into their home. These two bring families and individuals in to love and care for them while they try to get back on their feet. I am blessed to know Roy and Charlotte Wingard and participate with them.

One of my
favorite things about this ministry is that it can be hard to tell who is ministering and who is being ministered to. Many of the people being served become servants themselves. Awesome!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I met Charlotte and Roy Wingard at Wingard Home through our Sunday School class about 20 years ago. We volunteered for years to supply the laundry detergent for the home, which I delivered to them monthly (5 five-gallon buckets of powder from Sam's). Over the years, they have been just as steadfast helping those in need as they are today. They house children that have been removed from their home, they house families and single adults who have become homeless for one reason or another - helping find them training, jobs, and helping them get what they need to get back on their feet. They also have a huge Christmas Festival for over 200 needy children (I have helped as a volunteer in the past and it was a life-changing experience) - each child is given Christmas presents from a list of the child's wants, and the family is ministered to in every way from spiritual to physical needs. The hands reaching out from The Wingard Home go far and beyond many I've been in contact with and with far less help than most (they do have many that help, though). Years ago, my Sunday school class would visit and attend chapel service occasionally on the propery and meet their residents. That was always a tremendous blessing. But they have continually shown a stand firm faith and God has honored that by providing over the years in miraculous ways. I deeply hope they are recognized. I live out of town now, but I still keep in touch.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like to see more companies support them either financially or through volunteers. The company I have been employed with has helped in the past through purchasing laundry equipment, providing financial help during the Christmas season, and adopting one or two of the children actually at the home and buying their Christmas gifts. I would like to see more companies do this.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

When I needed a place to live, the Wingard family welcomed me into their home. When I needed hope for the future, the Wingard family diligently served God and showed me Christlike kindness. When i needed guidance, the Wingards took guidance from God and helped me to follow Him. This family sharestheir lives with strangers on a daily basis. They serve God with every action. And they love relentlessly.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Like to see what God could do with more donations and funding.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Wingard Home has helped my family out with Christmas for my kids. If it wasn't for the kind people there at The home my kids wouldnt have had christmas. They help out anyone that walks through their doors.. They reach out to all around their area and more... God Bless these wonderful God loving People.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change one thing.. God is in control there and His will is always done

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 4, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

December 4, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I've donated to the "Little Lambs" Christmas Tree program for several years. Everytime I drop-off the children's clothes and toys, I am impressed at the simplicity of the operation, the basic space used for living, learning and worship. This is a grassroots organization that is in touch with the people they serve. The Windard family takes "the Great Commission" to heart and have made it their life's work. If you want your giving to touch the most lives with the least overhead, this organization is for you!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 11, 2011

more

December 11, 2011

My family and I went to the Wingard home after we had no place else to go. We were grateful that we had a place to go,but after seeing the way things were run and the attitudes that we were presented with, I was very happy to leave. Mr. Roy has a very bad and judgmental attitude and Mrs. Charlotte is no better. We were told to leave on a rainy night,when my father defended us (my brother and I ) to Mr. Roy because he was accusing us of making a mess, that his own children made. The mess was made in the "common room", where my brother and I had not even been except earlier that day. So, we were told to get our stuff and get out, that was a horrible thing for them to do,but I was happy. Also, years later Mr. Roy came into a place my mother was working and as he walked out the door he called a "heathen". That was not very Christian like. The bible says: “Judge not, and you will not be judged; condemn not, and you will not be condemned; forgive, and you will be forgiven; Luke 6:37 So, I have since forgiven you, Mr. Roy, for casting such judgement on her for no reason. I hope and pray for your family and ministry.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A little

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Unsure

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Somewhat badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1999

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

possibly change another person's life forever! Volunteer