Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
49 Reviews
1234.959185
Previous | Next
Write A Review
August 21, 2013

more

August 21, 2013

Absolutely wonderful experience. The staff is very cordial and their knowledge is beyond compare. Very professionally run and you get a very personal experience for your money. I would definitely go back and highly recommend them to all I come across.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 31, 2014

more

July 31, 2014

Lucia and the crew have been WONDERFUL in helping me learn everything I can about the Spanish Mustang. I am very thankful for all the hard work everyone at Windcross Conservancy contributes to further the lineage and education of this fantastic breed.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more money to sustain their current work.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

When we pulled onto the dusty dirt road to make our way towards Windcross, I had a car full of a skeptical husband and 3 tired and potentially grumpy little girls. We had been on a road trip for 9 days and everyone was a starting to get a little on edge. After our very special time there, I can't imagine having almost missed this gem of a place because I didn't see it on my TripAdvisor list of things to see in the area.

We drove in and were immediately greeted with such warmth and enthusiasm by Ms. Roda. Our girls had seen the dog and were obviously nervous to get out of the van, but she quickly assessed the situation and did a number of things that helped them be relaxed and ready to learn and experience all that Windcross is. Two of my girls have Sensory Processing issues and it can be difficult to know how they will react in certain circumstances where they can be over-stimulated. Ms. Roda had a wonderful instinctual way of being keyed into them and before we knew it, she had loaded us up for a highly personalized, face-to-face experience with the horses. It didn't take long before my girls were begging to touch and see the horses closer.

She and her daughter had such an obvious love and passion for what they were doing and highlighted the story and personality of so many of the horses, one by one. Usually, with three small children I'm so busy trying to get everyone else to relax and enjoy themselves that I don't get to really be present in the moment myself. Ms. Roda and her daughter had my girls at ease and actively engaged to such a degree that I was able to find a few moments to stand back, take in the amazing beauty of the horses, the golden expanse of the fields, the sun on my neck and my feet planted in the soil and take a deep breath and feel it all the way deep in my soul. Even my sometimes curmudgeony husband said it was one of the best parts of our whole cross-country roadtrip. I believe it is very possible that Ms. Roda and her family made lifetime fans of the Conservancy and the horses. I wish we could contribute more but were so blessed that this amazing experience did not come with a hefty price tag that would have made it impossible for us to experience it as a family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to make the work more widely experienced and known! I can't believe we almost missed this place because it didn't show up on my initial internet searches! There was another, more expensive conservancy in the area that did show up and I wonder how many other people have been confused or overlooked this gem as a result.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 21, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

June 21, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

The knowledge base of the curators of the Conservancy is truly amazing. They have a real bond with the horses and an intense desire to preserve the integrity of the breed. They spend a lot of time with their visitors and help them interact with the horses. They are incredibly intuned to the subtle behaviors of the horses and their personalities and they bring you into this experience. The Conservancy is a great example of a working ranch also. They have geese, guinea hens, cows, chickens etc. and readily explain the workings of a ranch along with the maintenance of the horses. AMAZING. Highly Recommended.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 20, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 17, 2013

Windcross Conservancy does a wonderful job in it’s goal to preserve the Spanish Mustang horses. The opportunity Windcross gives interns from around the world to participate in this worthy cause is t... more

July 20, 2014

Another two week vacation spent at Windcross. Can't say enough about this family and their dedication to these horses. A beautiful place and a beautiful life for these horses.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 17, 2013

Windcross Conservancy does a wonderful job in it’s goal to preserve the Spanish Mustang horses. The opportunity Windcross gives interns from around the world to participate in this worthy cause is to be greatly admired. The informative tours they give the public give all who come to the ranch the opportunity to see first hand these amazing horses and how they are lovingly cared for as well as learn about their heritage. I hope many more will take advantage of the opportunity to see these beautiful horses up close.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

November 18, 2012

A very worthy NON-profit organization. Lucy and her family are lovingly dedicated to the preservation of these beautiful horses. They put in many long hours. I hope many people take the time to read all the reviews and get an idea just what Windcross is all about.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was around when when Windcross Conservancy was only a dream, I have watched it grow and develop into a reality. I have witness the hardship, the losses. The uncertainty of the path chosen. I have witnessed great personal sacrifice, dedication, and hardship. But most of all I have witnessed unwavering LOVE for these magnificent animals. I have watched an ordinary woman go through extraordinary changes and challenges, to become an expert in the field. I have been witness to a dream being birthed into a reality through blood sweat and tears. It is an honor to witness and be a part of (even if all I do is (PET THE PRETTY PONIES LOL) I applaud you! Congratulations on your achievements and keep up the good works, Lives are changing because of what you do! One person can make a difference, You have brought education to the public about the Spanish Mustangs that may never have been heard. Perhaps helped to save these animals from extinction. Yes they are a very worthy NON PROFIT Organization! Blessings All! Much Love to Lucia and her Devoted Family!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Wndcross Conservancy is dedicated to the preservation of the true Spanish Mustang. They are extremely knowledgeable in all and everything Spanish Mustang. Lucia and her family put in long hours of care, teaching, training, welcoming guests, giving tours and trying to educate people about the beautiful Spanish Mustang. I have had the pleasure of meeting Lucia, her family, her friends, and her wonderful horses thorough competetive trail rides that she has hosted. This is the most welcoming, hospitable, loveable group of people that I have ever met. Their horses are so loveable too! Once you've visited Windcross Conservancy you will always return.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

exercise a horse, deliver newsletters. Volunteer