Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
45 Reviews
1234.955565
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 20, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 17, 2013

Windcross Conservancy does a wonderful job in it’s goal to preserve the Spanish Mustang horses. The opportunity Windcross gives interns from around the world to participate in this worthy cause is t... more

July 20, 2014

Another two week vacation spent at Windcross. Can't say enough about this family and their dedication to these horses. A beautiful place and a beautiful life for these horses.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 17, 2013

Windcross Conservancy does a wonderful job in it’s goal to preserve the Spanish Mustang horses. The opportunity Windcross gives interns from around the world to participate in this worthy cause is to be greatly admired. The informative tours they give the public give all who come to the ranch the opportunity to see first hand these amazing horses and how they are lovingly cared for as well as learn about their heritage. I hope many more will take advantage of the opportunity to see these beautiful horses up close.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

November 18, 2012

A very worthy NON-profit organization. Lucy and her family are lovingly dedicated to the preservation of these beautiful horses. They put in many long hours. I hope many people take the time to read all the reviews and get an idea just what Windcross is all about.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 23, 2012

This wonderful charity was set up to preserve the Spanish Mustang horses - endangered but some of the most beautiful horses in the world. The organisation is expertly run and the horses are foremost ... more

July 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Having spent a fortnight at Windcross I can honestly say it was the most amazing experience in my life. To see the hard work that is done day after day, witness the problems being overcome and the wonderful way that people can interact with the horses is something that can only be truly appreciated when you come up close with them. Lucia Roda is a very strong person who puts herself out continually and unrelentlessly for this wonderful cause which she supports 200%. I wish her well and she has my continual prayers for a successful future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

love to see more money come into the organisation through grants as these horses are so special but like everything, with harsh winters etc. the continual need to survive is paramount to make this succeed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This wonderful charity was set up to preserve the Spanish Mustang horses - endangered but some of the most beautiful horses in the world. The organisation is expertly run and the horses are foremost in their thoughts using a lot of their own money to finance it. They raise awareness by holding open days and inviting people along to see their work and taking on internees to help out and in return this gives these people an insight into the hard work that it takes to run Windcross. A well deserved cause run with dedication and love for their work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 16, 2014

more

July 16, 2014

I volunteered at the Conservancy for a month. Inside of that month I learned so much about horses and about myself. Working every day with these people and their animals taught me to be flexible, because in life, nothing ever quite goes to plan. It taught me that to be professional and personal is OK. It taught me self respect, because the horses rely on you for relationship just as much as they do from the other horses. To them I was important. It taught me life lessons I could walk away with a better human.
The depth of knowledge and relationship at Windcross that can be explored is endless. The curators are professional without seeming aloof or distanced, and you can ask questions without feeling ignorant. The animals are beautiful and intelligent. The Conservancy is one of those places you can visit and it feels like coming home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 16, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 17, 2013

Windcross Conservancy continues to build on its past successes including adding the best Spanish Mustang bloodlines to its herd thus conserving this critically threatened breed. Yet it also sets a go... more

July 16, 2014

We have supported Windcross Conservancy from its birth and continue to do so. Although previously based in Canada and now the UK with our Spanish Mustangs we pledge support via our Facebook page. Windcross is now THE definitive preserve for the Spanish Mustang by virtue of its modern approach to conservation along with ethical breeding. As the old timer range breeders become a practice of the past Windcross Conservancy forgers ahead in its modernity. Despite the dwindling numbers of this rare breed worldwide Windcross nevertheless erred on the side of caution in this uncertain global horse market and bred no mares for 2014. This is to be commended rather than breeding mares for the sake of numbers. This year they have concentrated on training and projects involving the horses being seen and accessed by the public. Some Windcross bred horses have been sold to excellent homes that will now promote the breed. This is a people-friendly, family focused outfit and we recommend it every time.
Sarah Farman
AHHC (Europe) for the Spanish Mustang
www.americanheritagehorse.eu

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They are doing everything right so far in our opinion!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 17, 2013

Windcross Conservancy continues to build on its past successes including adding the best Spanish Mustang bloodlines to its herd thus conserving this critically threatened breed. Yet it also sets a good example to us all by breeding less in 2013 to reflect the global downturn in the horse market. This year more interns and visitors and never a negative comment which has to be the best testimony to their success. I have been part of Windcross since it was launched and as volunteer Campaign Manager for the Spanish Mustang in the Arts am looking forward to our first project later this year - announcement soon! The internet enables such campaigns even although I now live i the UK with my Spanish Mustangs.
This is where Windcross has been somewhat unique to other Spanish Mustang organisations in that it has pioneered the arts too by inviting in artists and photographers. The horses are well-cared for - never go short on hay or feed - and people-friendly as many of the photographs demonstrate on their Facebook page. ......... and it is THEIR page as it is and always will be about the Spanish Mustang horses. As an artist and writer I am delighted to be a part of Windcross Conservancy.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Right now I think Windcross Conservancy is operating at full capacity. My only request would be to get someone to help Lucia with all her paperwork!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 15, 2012

I met Lucy Roda and Windcross at a time when I had all but given up on finding an organization that I could trust and where I could feel like I could contribute without being a yes person. The board o... more

October 16, 2013

This past year has been a real struggle for Windcross Conservancy. The drought last summer inflated the price of hay astronomically high. I know that the Roda family dug deeply into there own personal budget to ensure that the horses were well cared for. It takes incredible dedication to a cause to do without yourself, to ensure that the work goes on. These are people of real integrity and it is so difficult to know how hard they work and not be able to help more. This non-profit works to preserve the gene pool of these amazing horses and a living piece of American and medieval European heritage. If we lose this genetic treasure we will lose both physical and behavioural attributes that are rare in modern breeds. Thank you to the Roda's for their endless work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide the Roda's with the resources that would make their work easier and more efficient, such as a tractor for handling the large hay bales.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I met Lucy Roda and Windcross at a time when I had all but given up on finding an organization that I could trust and where I could feel like I could contribute without being a yes person. The board of directors have been so careful ;to maintain the integrate of the organization while moving forward to effectively reach its objectives. I am so impressed with the dedication to the horses and the wisdom used in their management. The horses' well being comes first and foremost. I am also very aware of the hours and hours of work that Lucy and her family put into this organization with no expectation of return for their dedication and sacrifice. I can assure anyone that any time, effort or money that they contribute is deeply appreciated and used wisely.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Through my experience with Windcross I have gained a wealth of knowledge about the Spanish Mustang.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like to see more people support the tireless work they do and help them move forward more quickly with their projects.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have made wonderful new friends, gained invaluable knowledge and been encouraged beyond what I would have believed possible. I am very skeptical and jaded but the integrate of this organization and particularly the President is a rare and refreshing to a tired and discouraged soul.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I feel appreciated, and know that whatever I can do really makes a difference.

August 22, 2013

more

August 22, 2013

It was my first time in the US and with Spanish Mustangs. Before I came to Windcross, i've never seen a Spanish Mustang and I didn't know much about them, but Lucy and her family taught me a lot about their character, behaviour and their history. I fell in love with these powerful horses and that great project to work at a non profit organization, helping with the daily farm work and training horses. My job as a Volunteer was awesome and I enjoyed these two months I stayed at Windcross! I really hope that I can come back someday to see the Roda family, the two horses I worked with and all the other animals! Thank you for everything :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 7, 2013

more

August 7, 2013

It was the first time for me in the USA and I was very nervous if everything will go well and if I would like it there. But after a few days I fell in love with the horses (especially two of them) and their history.
I didn't know much about Spanish Mustangs but learned a lot about them from
Lucy and their family, although I knew much about horses before I came there, they surprised me in their character and behavior.
Now I can even imagine to get a horse from there to bring it to Germany, because they are so special.
I will definitly come back!
Sandra

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteered at Windcross during the summer of 2013, during which time I was well looked after and made very welcome. The Roda family have a great depth of understanding of the land and its history and are always willing to share their knowledge. They adapt their tours to the individual needs of the visitor and provide those visitors with a fantastic opportunity to interact with the Spanish mustangs in a way they may rarely otherwise do. Walking among a herd out on the prairie whilst learning about their individual characteristics is a very rewarding experience. Not knowing much about horses previously other than what I had read in books, being around them on a daily basis, grooming, feeding and learning the basics of working with them was really great.

Whilst volunteering I learned a number of valuable new skills and was given every opportunity to back up my understanding of the way of life I was experiencing by visiting the many interesting sites in the Black Hills. Of those sites though, Windcross has to be one of the most unique, friendly and individually tailored experiences in the area.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 24, 2013

more

July 24, 2013

I found Windcross Conservancy on a volunteer site, and decided it was the place to see. I was nervous when I first arrived, not sure what to expect, but the family took me in and made me feel right at home. I learnt so much about the history of the Spanish Mustang, and fully intend to spread the word and gain support for Windcross. I had such a fantastic time, I decided to extend my trip and am already planning my next year summer there - it was truly difficult to leave! The people are wonderful, welcoming and amazing friends for life. I spent the whole time I was there laughing and learning - a true life experience. I would recommend Windcross to not only horse lovers but those with a taste for history and blissful scenery. I wish them all the best with their work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 3, 2013

more

July 3, 2013

This is a wonderful experience for all ages. The Spanish Mustangs are beautiful! The Hosts are knowledgeable! And the area is one of a kind: like the old rugged west. There is a mobile cart that gets you up close and personal with the Mustangs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

exercise a horse, deliver newsletters. Volunteer