Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
49 Reviews
1234.959185
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

When we pulled onto the dusty dirt road to make our way towards Windcross, I had a car full of a skeptical husband and 3 tired and potentially grumpy little girls. We had been on a road trip for 9 days and everyone was a starting to get a little on edge. After our very special time there, I can't imagine having almost missed this gem of a place because I didn't see it on my TripAdvisor list of things to see in the area.

We drove in and were immediately greeted with such warmth and enthusiasm by Ms. Roda. Our girls had seen the dog and were obviously nervous to get out of the van, but she quickly assessed the situation and did a number of things that helped them be relaxed and ready to learn and experience all that Windcross is. Two of my girls have Sensory Processing issues and it can be difficult to know how they will react in certain circumstances where they can be over-stimulated. Ms. Roda had a wonderful instinctual way of being keyed into them and before we knew it, she had loaded us up for a highly personalized, face-to-face experience with the horses. It didn't take long before my girls were begging to touch and see the horses closer.

She and her daughter had such an obvious love and passion for what they were doing and highlighted the story and personality of so many of the horses, one by one. Usually, with three small children I'm so busy trying to get everyone else to relax and enjoy themselves that I don't get to really be present in the moment myself. Ms. Roda and her daughter had my girls at ease and actively engaged to such a degree that I was able to find a few moments to stand back, take in the amazing beauty of the horses, the golden expanse of the fields, the sun on my neck and my feet planted in the soil and take a deep breath and feel it all the way deep in my soul. Even my sometimes curmudgeony husband said it was one of the best parts of our whole cross-country roadtrip. I believe it is very possible that Ms. Roda and her family made lifetime fans of the Conservancy and the horses. I wish we could contribute more but were so blessed that this amazing experience did not come with a hefty price tag that would have made it impossible for us to experience it as a family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to make the work more widely experienced and known! I can't believe we almost missed this place because it didn't show up on my initial internet searches! There was another, more expensive conservancy in the area that did show up and I wonder how many other people have been confused or overlooked this gem as a result.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 15, 2012

I met Lucy Roda and Windcross at a time when I had all but given up on finding an organization that I could trust and where I could feel like I could contribute without being a yes person. The board o... more

October 16, 2013

This past year has been a real struggle for Windcross Conservancy. The drought last summer inflated the price of hay astronomically high. I know that the Roda family dug deeply into there own personal budget to ensure that the horses were well cared for. It takes incredible dedication to a cause to do without yourself, to ensure that the work goes on. These are people of real integrity and it is so difficult to know how hard they work and not be able to help more. This non-profit works to preserve the gene pool of these amazing horses and a living piece of American and medieval European heritage. If we lose this genetic treasure we will lose both physical and behavioural attributes that are rare in modern breeds. Thank you to the Roda's for their endless work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide the Roda's with the resources that would make their work easier and more efficient, such as a tractor for handling the large hay bales.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I met Lucy Roda and Windcross at a time when I had all but given up on finding an organization that I could trust and where I could feel like I could contribute without being a yes person. The board of directors have been so careful ;to maintain the integrate of the organization while moving forward to effectively reach its objectives. I am so impressed with the dedication to the horses and the wisdom used in their management. The horses' well being comes first and foremost. I am also very aware of the hours and hours of work that Lucy and her family put into this organization with no expectation of return for their dedication and sacrifice. I can assure anyone that any time, effort or money that they contribute is deeply appreciated and used wisely.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Through my experience with Windcross I have gained a wealth of knowledge about the Spanish Mustang.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like to see more people support the tireless work they do and help them move forward more quickly with their projects.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have made wonderful new friends, gained invaluable knowledge and been encouraged beyond what I would have believed possible. I am very skeptical and jaded but the integrate of this organization and particularly the President is a rare and refreshing to a tired and discouraged soul.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I feel appreciated, and know that whatever I can do really makes a difference.

August 22, 2013

more

August 22, 2013

It was my first time in the US and with Spanish Mustangs. Before I came to Windcross, i've never seen a Spanish Mustang and I didn't know much about them, but Lucy and her family taught me a lot about their character, behaviour and their history. I fell in love with these powerful horses and that great project to work at a non profit organization, helping with the daily farm work and training horses. My job as a Volunteer was awesome and I enjoyed these two months I stayed at Windcross! I really hope that I can come back someday to see the Roda family, the two horses I worked with and all the other animals! Thank you for everything :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 21, 2013

more

August 21, 2013

Absolutely wonderful experience. The staff is very cordial and their knowledge is beyond compare. Very professionally run and you get a very personal experience for your money. I would definitely go back and highly recommend them to all I come across.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 7, 2013

more

August 7, 2013

It was the first time for me in the USA and I was very nervous if everything will go well and if I would like it there. But after a few days I fell in love with the horses (especially two of them) and their history.
I didn't know much about Spanish Mustangs but learned a lot about them from
Lucy and their family, although I knew much about horses before I came there, they surprised me in their character and behavior.
Now I can even imagine to get a horse from there to bring it to Germany, because they are so special.
I will definitly come back!
Sandra

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteered at Windcross during the summer of 2013, during which time I was well looked after and made very welcome. The Roda family have a great depth of understanding of the land and its history and are always willing to share their knowledge. They adapt their tours to the individual needs of the visitor and provide those visitors with a fantastic opportunity to interact with the Spanish mustangs in a way they may rarely otherwise do. Walking among a herd out on the prairie whilst learning about their individual characteristics is a very rewarding experience. Not knowing much about horses previously other than what I had read in books, being around them on a daily basis, grooming, feeding and learning the basics of working with them was really great.

Whilst volunteering I learned a number of valuable new skills and was given every opportunity to back up my understanding of the way of life I was experiencing by visiting the many interesting sites in the Black Hills. Of those sites though, Windcross has to be one of the most unique, friendly and individually tailored experiences in the area.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 3, 2013

more

July 3, 2013

This is a wonderful experience for all ages. The Spanish Mustangs are beautiful! The Hosts are knowledgeable! And the area is one of a kind: like the old rugged west. There is a mobile cart that gets you up close and personal with the Mustangs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 2, 2013

more

July 2, 2013

When my husband and I first got involved with these horses about 8 years ago the situation was not nearly so dire as it is now. So many Spanish Mustangs are being sent to kill buyers now and there are so few to begin with. So when we visit Windcross Conservancy and see so many new people meeting and learning about these ancient horses who have been with humans almost as long as dogs it makes all the sacrifices and hard work worthwhile and gives hope that these horses will be saved bythe Americans who truly owe them so much in history.
The Spanish Mustang is important to European heritage as well as being one of the key elements that made the USA what it is today. All the legends of the American past and it's exceptionalism would not have been possible wo this exceptional horse.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Be able to feed and keep more crucial bloodlines at the ranch and have a "So You Want to Own a Horse" program that wold open up the wonderful world of ownership to more horse-lovers.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 21, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

June 21, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

The knowledge base of the curators of the Conservancy is truly amazing. They have a real bond with the horses and an intense desire to preserve the integrity of the breed. They spend a lot of time with their visitors and help them interact with the horses. They are incredibly intuned to the subtle behaviors of the horses and their personalities and they bring you into this experience. The Conservancy is a great example of a working ranch also. They have geese, guinea hens, cows, chickens etc. and readily explain the workings of a ranch along with the maintenance of the horses. AMAZING. Highly Recommended.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 18, 2013

more

June 18, 2013

Engaging, incredible and so much more than expected. My families' visit to Windcross ranch preserve for the Spanish Mustang was the experience of a lifetime. Lucia and her group of volunteers were friendly, knowledgable and passionate about these very special horses. A visit that was well worth the drive. We would definitely do it again.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more advertising as it is a little known jewel on the prairie.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

exercise a horse, deliver newsletters. Volunteer