Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
39 Reviews
1234.974365
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
July 2, 2013

more

July 2, 2013

When my husband and I first got involved with these horses about 8 years ago the situation was not nearly so dire as it is now. So many Spanish Mustangs are being sent to kill buyers now and there are so few to begin with. So when we visit Windcross Conservancy and see so many new people meeting and learning about these ancient horses who have been with humans almost as long as dogs it makes all the sacrifices and hard work worthwhile and gives hope that these horses will be saved bythe Americans who truly owe them so much in history.
The Spanish Mustang is important to European heritage as well as being one of the key elements that made the USA what it is today. All the legends of the American past and it's exceptionalism would not have been possible wo this exceptional horse.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Be able to feed and keep more crucial bloodlines at the ranch and have a "So You Want to Own a Horse" program that wold open up the wonderful world of ownership to more horse-lovers.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 18, 2013

more

June 18, 2013

Engaging, incredible and so much more than expected. My families' visit to Windcross ranch preserve for the Spanish Mustang was the experience of a lifetime. Lucia and her group of volunteers were friendly, knowledgable and passionate about these very special horses. A visit that was well worth the drive. We would definitely do it again.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more advertising as it is a little known jewel on the prairie.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 18, 2013

more

June 18, 2013

Windcross is a wonderful place, they do great things for these horses, the family are amazing and work so hard. I have a lot of respect for this organisation and the family who work at windcross.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 18, 2013

more

June 18, 2013

Windcross is an exceptional organization run by a remarkable family whomb I hold great respect for both professionally and personally. What they do for the breed is wounderful, helping to save such beautiful horses. The work the organisation and the family do is fantastic, and I hope and prey for a successful and prosperous future.kind regards and best wishes for the future , maria

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 18, 2013

more


1 previous review
April 28, 2013

Windcross conservancy is a wonderful ranch filled with amazing people and horses, Lucy and her family work long hours and but a lot of hard work into windcross. The Spanish mustang breed is one that m... more

June 18, 2013

Windcross is an exceptional organization run by a remarkable family whomb I hold great respect for both professionally and personally . The work the organisation and the family do is fantastic, and I hope and prey for a successful and prosperous future.kind regards and best wishes for the future , the Flynn family.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 28, 2013

Windcross conservancy is a wonderful ranch filled with amazing people and horses, Lucy and her family work long hours and but a lot of hard work into windcross. The Spanish mustang breed is one that must be persevered and that is what windcross is doing their hardest to do. My time at windcross was amazing and I can't wait to get back their in July. :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 17, 2013

more

June 17, 2013

Windcross Conservancy continues to build on its past successes including adding the best Spanish Mustang bloodlines to its herd thus conserving this critically threatened breed. Yet it also sets a good example to us all by breeding less in 2013 to reflect the global downturn in the horse market. This year more interns and visitors and never a negative comment which has to be the best testimony to their success. I have been part of Windcross since it was launched and as volunteer Campaign Manager for the Spanish Mustang in the Arts am looking forward to our first project later this year - announcement soon! The internet enables such campaigns even although I now live i the UK with my Spanish Mustangs.
This is where Windcross has been somewhat unique to other Spanish Mustang organisations in that it has pioneered the arts too by inviting in artists and photographers. The horses are well-cared for - never go short on hay or feed - and people-friendly as many of the photographs demonstrate on their Facebook page. ......... and it is THEIR page as it is and always will be about the Spanish Mustang horses. As an artist and writer I am delighted to be a part of Windcross Conservancy.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Right now I think Windcross Conservancy is operating at full capacity. My only request would be to get someone to help Lucia with all her paperwork!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 3, 2013

more

May 3, 2013

Lucy & her family put in long hours caring for these beautiful horses. Their love , dedication and sacrifice can be greatly admired. Also , they open the ranch to the public so that others may come and see these magnificent animals.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 23, 2013

more

April 23, 2013

Including in saving the Spanish Mustang, Lucy (WindCross) is also having volunteers from thru out the world coming to the Working Ranch. These volunteers are learning about the Horse and will hopefully pass this information on to the World. The Tours are another source showing what the value of saving the Spanish Mustang will be to all. Great Great Cause.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 23, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 22, 2012

Windcross is a wonderful and deserving organization. I spent 2 weeks there in August 2012 and will never forget my life-changing experience. I hope the value of a place like Windcross will be more wid... more

April 23, 2013

A wonderful place that I still think about in my daily life. Windcross is knowledgeable and dedicated to preserving true-breeding Spanish Mustangs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2012

Windcross is a wonderful and deserving organization. I spent 2 weeks there in August 2012 and will never forget my life-changing experience. I hope the value of a place like Windcross will be more widely recognized.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 22, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 22, 2012

I joined Windcross at it's inception. I believed in the preservation effort on behalf of the Spanish Mustang for which it was founded. Since then the organization has given me the opportunity to h... more

April 22, 2013

In the past year I have had the opportunity to work with volunteers from all over the world. They have come from many countries to share in the Windcross dream to preserve the Spanish Mustang. It has been a terrific experience for the horses, the organization and myself. I am so thrilled to have had the opportunity to share the horses and their world with these amazing young people.

Thank you!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I joined Windcross at it's inception. I believed in the preservation effort on behalf of the Spanish Mustang for which it was founded. Since then the organization has given me the opportunity to host young people from around the world as volunteers and interns at the Windcross Preserve in Buffalo Gap, South Dakota. In addition, I have been able to share them with visitors from across the country and the world. My Windcross experience has been amongst the toughest and most rewarding in my life. I wouldn't change a thing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

exercise a horse, deliver newsletters. Volunteer