Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
45 Reviews
1234.955565
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
August 7, 2013

more

August 7, 2013

It was the first time for me in the USA and I was very nervous if everything will go well and if I would like it there. But after a few days I fell in love with the horses (especially two of them) and their history.
I didn't know much about Spanish Mustangs but learned a lot about them from
Lucy and their family, although I knew much about horses before I came there, they surprised me in their character and behavior.
Now I can even imagine to get a horse from there to bring it to Germany, because they are so special.
I will definitly come back!
Sandra

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteered at Windcross during the summer of 2013, during which time I was well looked after and made very welcome. The Roda family have a great depth of understanding of the land and its history and are always willing to share their knowledge. They adapt their tours to the individual needs of the visitor and provide those visitors with a fantastic opportunity to interact with the Spanish mustangs in a way they may rarely otherwise do. Walking among a herd out on the prairie whilst learning about their individual characteristics is a very rewarding experience. Not knowing much about horses previously other than what I had read in books, being around them on a daily basis, grooming, feeding and learning the basics of working with them was really great.

Whilst volunteering I learned a number of valuable new skills and was given every opportunity to back up my understanding of the way of life I was experiencing by visiting the many interesting sites in the Black Hills. Of those sites though, Windcross has to be one of the most unique, friendly and individually tailored experiences in the area.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 24, 2013

more

July 24, 2013

I found Windcross Conservancy on a volunteer site, and decided it was the place to see. I was nervous when I first arrived, not sure what to expect, but the family took me in and made me feel right at home. I learnt so much about the history of the Spanish Mustang, and fully intend to spread the word and gain support for Windcross. I had such a fantastic time, I decided to extend my trip and am already planning my next year summer there - it was truly difficult to leave! The people are wonderful, welcoming and amazing friends for life. I spent the whole time I was there laughing and learning - a true life experience. I would recommend Windcross to not only horse lovers but those with a taste for history and blissful scenery. I wish them all the best with their work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've been a city dweller all my life. I've never been around horses. My husband grew up near here and retirement brings us to this area. I met Lucy and family through her parents, who are good friends. I donated a stove, some money, and some goldfish for the stock tanks. The day I dropped off the fish, I got to go on a tour and meet some of the horses, see the new foals, and hear stories about life on the ranch. My immediate impression was, this family really knows and loves these horses. What a great place for Lucy and Matt's kids to grow up, what a great place for volunteers, and what a great place for the horses.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 3, 2013

more

July 3, 2013

This is a wonderful experience for all ages. The Spanish Mustangs are beautiful! The Hosts are knowledgeable! And the area is one of a kind: like the old rugged west. There is a mobile cart that gets you up close and personal with the Mustangs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 2, 2013

more

July 2, 2013

When my husband and I first got involved with these horses about 8 years ago the situation was not nearly so dire as it is now. So many Spanish Mustangs are being sent to kill buyers now and there are so few to begin with. So when we visit Windcross Conservancy and see so many new people meeting and learning about these ancient horses who have been with humans almost as long as dogs it makes all the sacrifices and hard work worthwhile and gives hope that these horses will be saved bythe Americans who truly owe them so much in history.
The Spanish Mustang is important to European heritage as well as being one of the key elements that made the USA what it is today. All the legends of the American past and it's exceptionalism would not have been possible wo this exceptional horse.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Be able to feed and keep more crucial bloodlines at the ranch and have a "So You Want to Own a Horse" program that wold open up the wonderful world of ownership to more horse-lovers.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 21, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

June 21, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

The knowledge base of the curators of the Conservancy is truly amazing. They have a real bond with the horses and an intense desire to preserve the integrity of the breed. They spend a lot of time with their visitors and help them interact with the horses. They are incredibly intuned to the subtle behaviors of the horses and their personalities and they bring you into this experience. The Conservancy is a great example of a working ranch also. They have geese, guinea hens, cows, chickens etc. and readily explain the workings of a ranch along with the maintenance of the horses. AMAZING. Highly Recommended.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 18, 2013

more

June 18, 2013

Engaging, incredible and so much more than expected. My families' visit to Windcross ranch preserve for the Spanish Mustang was the experience of a lifetime. Lucia and her group of volunteers were friendly, knowledgable and passionate about these very special horses. A visit that was well worth the drive. We would definitely do it again.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more advertising as it is a little known jewel on the prairie.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 18, 2013

more

June 18, 2013

Windcross is a wonderful place, they do great things for these horses, the family are amazing and work so hard. I have a lot of respect for this organisation and the family who work at windcross.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 18, 2013

more

June 18, 2013

Windcross is an exceptional organization run by a remarkable family whomb I hold great respect for both professionally and personally. What they do for the breed is wounderful, helping to save such beautiful horses. The work the organisation and the family do is fantastic, and I hope and prey for a successful and prosperous future.kind regards and best wishes for the future , maria

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

exercise a horse, deliver newsletters. Volunteer