Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
49 Reviews
1234.959185
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
August 21, 2013

more

August 21, 2013

Absolutely wonderful experience. The staff is very cordial and their knowledge is beyond compare. Very professionally run and you get a very personal experience for your money. I would definitely go back and highly recommend them to all I come across.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 11, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 24, 2013

I found Windcross Conservancy on a volunteer site, and decided it was the place to see. I was nervous when I first arrived, not sure what to expect, but the family took me in and made me feel right at... more

August 11, 2014

I have spent two summers volunteering at Windcross Conservancy, working with an incredible organization and the fantastic a Roda family, and my experiences have inspired and encouraged me with my passion for horses. Windcross caters for all of the family, and provides an informative, enjoyable experience, which will leave you with fantastic memories, and the want to support the aims Windcross strives to achieve, in protecting the Spanish Mustang, that is so often overlooked as a breed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 24, 2013

I found Windcross Conservancy on a volunteer site, and decided it was the place to see. I was nervous when I first arrived, not sure what to expect, but the family took me in and made me feel right at home. I learnt so much about the history of the Spanish Mustang, and fully intend to spread the word and gain support for Windcross. I had such a fantastic time, I decided to extend my trip and am already planning my next year summer there - it was truly difficult to leave! The people are wonderful, welcoming and amazing friends for life. I spent the whole time I was there laughing and learning - a true life experience. I would recommend Windcross to not only horse lovers but those with a taste for history and blissful scenery. I wish them all the best with their work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 11, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
June 18, 2013

Windcross is an exceptional organization run by a remarkable family whomb I hold great respect for both professionally and personally . The work the organisation and the family do is fantastic, and I ... more

August 11, 2014

This is my fourth time coming out to Windcross conservancy to volunteer and it has been life changing for me, it has taught me how to be a better horsewoman. The Roda family have taught me so many things over the last three years, they are an amazing family.
What wind cross is doing for the
spanish mustang as a breed isn't done anywhere else in the world to the quality it is done here. i would recommend windcross to anyone who wants an educational, fun and personal experience with the spanish mustang.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 18, 2013

Windcross is an exceptional organization run by a remarkable family whomb I hold great respect for both professionally and personally . The work the organisation and the family do is fantastic, and I hope and prey for a successful and prosperous future.kind regards and best wishes for the future , the Flynn family.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 28, 2013

Windcross conservancy is a wonderful ranch filled with amazing people and horses, Lucy and her family work long hours and but a lot of hard work into windcross. The Spanish mustang breed is one that must be persevered and that is what windcross is doing their hardest to do. My time at windcross was amazing and I can't wait to get back their in July. :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2014

more

July 31, 2014

Lucia and the crew have been WONDERFUL in helping me learn everything I can about the Spanish Mustang. I am very thankful for all the hard work everyone at Windcross Conservancy contributes to further the lineage and education of this fantastic breed.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more money to sustain their current work.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 31, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 19, 2013

I've been a city dweller all my life. I've never been around horses. My husband grew up near here and retirement brings us to this area. I met Lucy and family through her parents, who are good friends... more

July 31, 2014

We had a family reunion here this year. I arranged with Lucy for a tour. I was unable to attend myself, but the original group of 5 who expressed interest grew to 11. The photos I saw showed smiling faces as people interacted with the horses. Everyone had a great time. I have been to Windcross a few times this year at their new location in the historic Buffalo Gap schoolhouse. I am continually amazed at the amount of energy Lucy has for her family, Windcross, and the international group of volunteers who help keep the place going. I think that energy comes from pursuing a dream and seeing it become reality.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Just keep doing what you're doing.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've been a city dweller all my life. I've never been around horses. My husband grew up near here and retirement brings us to this area. I met Lucy and family through her parents, who are good friends. I donated a stove, some money, and some goldfish for the stock tanks. The day I dropped off the fish, I got to go on a tour and meet some of the horses, see the new foals, and hear stories about life on the ranch. My immediate impression was, this family really knows and loves these horses. What a great place for Lucy and Matt's kids to grow up, what a great place for volunteers, and what a great place for the horses.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 20, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 17, 2013

Windcross Conservancy does a wonderful job in it’s goal to preserve the Spanish Mustang horses. The opportunity Windcross gives interns from around the world to participate in this worthy cause is t... more

July 20, 2014

Another two week vacation spent at Windcross. Can't say enough about this family and their dedication to these horses. A beautiful place and a beautiful life for these horses.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 17, 2013

Windcross Conservancy does a wonderful job in it’s goal to preserve the Spanish Mustang horses. The opportunity Windcross gives interns from around the world to participate in this worthy cause is to be greatly admired. The informative tours they give the public give all who come to the ranch the opportunity to see first hand these amazing horses and how they are lovingly cared for as well as learn about their heritage. I hope many more will take advantage of the opportunity to see these beautiful horses up close.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

November 18, 2012

A very worthy NON-profit organization. Lucy and her family are lovingly dedicated to the preservation of these beautiful horses. They put in many long hours. I hope many people take the time to read all the reviews and get an idea just what Windcross is all about.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 23, 2012

This wonderful charity was set up to preserve the Spanish Mustang horses - endangered but some of the most beautiful horses in the world. The organisation is expertly run and the horses are foremost ... more

July 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Having spent a fortnight at Windcross I can honestly say it was the most amazing experience in my life. To see the hard work that is done day after day, witness the problems being overcome and the wonderful way that people can interact with the horses is something that can only be truly appreciated when you come up close with them. Lucia Roda is a very strong person who puts herself out continually and unrelentlessly for this wonderful cause which she supports 200%. I wish her well and she has my continual prayers for a successful future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

love to see more money come into the organisation through grants as these horses are so special but like everything, with harsh winters etc. the continual need to survive is paramount to make this succeed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This wonderful charity was set up to preserve the Spanish Mustang horses - endangered but some of the most beautiful horses in the world. The organisation is expertly run and the horses are foremost in their thoughts using a lot of their own money to finance it. They raise awareness by holding open days and inviting people along to see their work and taking on internees to help out and in return this gives these people an insight into the hard work that it takes to run Windcross. A well deserved cause run with dedication and love for their work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 17, 2014

more

July 17, 2014

Wonderful place!! Truly knowledgeable folks passing that knowledge on the rare Foundation Spanish Mustang through internships and daily tours filled with information on these unique horses history. The horses are so well cared for and are beautiful. They also train their horses to show the versatility of the breed, and even take the horses to various places in town (the senior living center and the hospital) as "ambassadors" for the breed, to the delight of those that see them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them a good grant writer so they could further their educational information in the form of a DVD

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 16, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 13, 2012

Feel the power of the herd. Capture their grace and beauty in a photograph and know that you have stood witness to one of the last genetically preserved Spanish Mustang herds in the world. Nothing shy... more

July 16, 2014

Fell in love with the horses and the people. Couldn't take the people home :( so................ we left with 4 beautiful mustangs as ambassadors for the Northern Black Hills. What a gift! Their beauty and grace is beyond words not to mention a photographers dream.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make the financial struggles go away.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 13, 2012

Feel the power of the herd. Capture their grace and beauty in a photograph and know that you have stood witness to one of the last genetically preserved Spanish Mustang herds in the world. Nothing shy of magic is felt here. Come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 16, 2014

more

July 16, 2014

I volunteered at the Conservancy for a month. Inside of that month I learned so much about horses and about myself. Working every day with these people and their animals taught me to be flexible, because in life, nothing ever quite goes to plan. It taught me that to be professional and personal is OK. It taught me self respect, because the horses rely on you for relationship just as much as they do from the other horses. To them I was important. It taught me life lessons I could walk away with a better human.
The depth of knowledge and relationship at Windcross that can be explored is endless. The curators are professional without seeming aloof or distanced, and you can ask questions without feeling ignorant. The animals are beautiful and intelligent. The Conservancy is one of those places you can visit and it feels like coming home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

exercise a horse, deliver newsletters. Volunteer