Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
8 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 25, 2012

more

July 25, 2012

WAG rescue in Wimberley has provided our community a place to connect and communicate. Their Facebook page provides a network for neighbors to help animals in need. WAG helps neighbors help neighbors to locate missing pets and find new homes for cats and dogs that are homeless. I like to see the updates posted on animals receiving care or that are being adopted. Thank you WAG!

Videos

Adopt Me Maybe- fun commercial for support of animal rescue and WAG

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

They helped me locate the owners of a dog I found after a storm.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

Facebook

July 24, 2012

more

July 24, 2012

Debbie Nordyke and WAG have helped dozens of people throughout the hill country with simple animal rescues, spays/neuters, guidance and crises. Not only is WAG's assistance available, but their volunteers follow up on cases. I have asked and received help countless times from WAG and cannot emphasize their importance to folks in need. They are an essential and integral part of rescue in the hill country community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 23, 2012

more

July 23, 2012

W.A.G. Rescue is the most wonderful and much needed organization that has come to Wimberley. The kind, compassionate and caring demeanor that Debbie and her volunteers present is always a warm feeling for those that love animals. I have worked with W.A.G. uncountable times with my position and have always been extremely impressed. W.A.G. Rescue is The Lord's gift to Wimberley!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

July 23, 2012

more

July 23, 2012

I work for a local vet and have contact with W.A.G. weekly. Debbie and her volunteers are amazing. Most people will never know the hard work, money and dedication put into the care of these dogs before they are ever ready for adoption. I'm impressed with their ability to reunite lost pets with their owners. When you're looking for a great organization to donate to or looking to adopt a new family member there is no need to go anywhere other than W.A.G.!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 14, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
January 14, 2012

Our family took two male chocolate labs as puppies. After a year they both weighed more than 85#. This proved to be more than we could manage. And, the alpha pup was actively hurting his brother. We contacted WAG and these very kind people took one of the dogs into foster care until a kind and loving home could be found for him. We are eternally grateful for this positive outcome to an unfortunate human decision. We highly recommend WAG to any and all!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 8, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
January 8, 2012

I have been volunteering for WAG for a year and a half. During this time I have had the opportunity to meet a lot of very dedicated people who give of their time "for the dogs." Debbie, Pat and Charlotte are wonderful leaders of this organization, giving of lots and lots of their time to make sure that WAG is living up to its mission. Without a building, it is amazing how many dogs have been cared for through the foster homes, thus helping the animals recover, rehab, learn how to be part of a family, and to be loved. It has been and is a very gratifying experience for me, and I certainly plan to continue to help in whatever way I can.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 6, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
January 6, 2012

WAG Rescue fills a huge void in the Wimberley community by providing care for the many abandoned and neglected dogs and puppies that are found in our rural area. Wimberley is a dumping ground for unwanted animals. Without some intervention, these animals have to try to fend for themselves or they are often picked up by Hays County Animal Control where they are typically euthanized in 3 to 5 days. Since there are no animal shelter facilities within 25 miles of Wimberley, WAG Rescue serves the community by preventing much animal suffering. Additionally, the organization provides low and no cost dog spay/neuter vouchers through Emancipet for Wimberley residents who need assistance getting this procedure for their dog.

WAG Rescue also helps in the placement of owner surrender dogs. Whether it be illness, death, divorce or other circumstances, WAG Rescue is a resource for people in need of help rehoming a dog.

Here are a few examples of dogs and puppies that WAG Rescue has helped in 2011:

Lily was a beautiful, 16 month old Harlequin Great Dane. She was an owner surrender from a local resident. Lily had a broken back that was healing on its own, but both of her knees needed surgery. She was in agonizing pain and could barely move. WAG Rescue got a referral from a local vet to Central Texas Veterinary Specialty Hospital in Austin to consult with them about the best way proceed. It was determined that she would have two separate surgeries to repair the knees. Fortunately, both surgeries were a total success. Lily was adopted by a couple in Wimberley who own a fitness facility. Lily enjoys star status here with the clientele. She is one happy, pain free dog with owners who absolutely adore her.

Angel, a Chihuahua, was a dog that was going to be difficult to place and costly for WAG Rescue to take in. Angel was a found dog that was not only heartworm positive, but she had a badly deformed front leg which could not be repaired. The vet said that she had become accustom to this leg and he would not recommend the amputation of it. Following Angels heartworm treatment, a woman here in Wimberley saw Angel on the WAG Rescue website and wanted to meet her. It was love at first sight. Ironically, this woman had a three legged dog previously which was now deceased. Angel now lives with two other Chihuahuas here in Wimberley with her shopkeeper owner.

Pepper was a beautiful, purebred Border Collie that was abandoned. No one came forward to claim her after weeks of searching for her owner. She was badly underweight and heartworm positive. When WAG Rescue was in the process of getting her spayed, it was determined that she was pregnant and due at any time. Within a few days, Pepper delivered eight healthy puppies. It was a daunting task to take in a malnourished, heartworm positive dog, much less 8 puppies, but WAG Rescue cared for all of them. The puppies eventually were spayed or neutered and they were adopted out. Pepper was spayed and received her heartworm treatment. She was adopted by her foster family.

Foxy and Blondie were two collie mix siblings that were found in very bad shape. They both had intestinal parasites and were severely malnourished. Additionally, Foxy was heartworm positive and Blondie had a serious hind foot injury believed to be from a trap. Her foot was completely de-gloved. Thanks to great medical and foster care, both of these dogs recovered nicely. Blondie's foot healed though she will never have nails on that foot and Foxy received her heartworm treatment. Once they were healthy, both dogs were spayed. These once pitiful girls were adopted by terrific families.

Toffee was an owner surrender by a local elderly couple. Toffee was adopted as a puppy by them, but quickly grew to a size where she was difficult for them to handle, even after going through obedience training. The couple simply couldn't provide the kind of home for a high energy dog that needed a lot of structure and exercise. The perfect family for Toffee inquired about her. They were looking for a large dog to be a companion for their dog. Toffee and their dog hit it off immediately and the family fell in love with her. Toffee now gets plenty of exercise and all of the companionship she so wanted. It was a win-win for all parties.

Minnie, a year old Shar-Pei mix, was a dog that was found abandoned off of Fisher Store Road in Wimberley. She was absolutely emaciated and her eyes were badly infected and swollen shut. But what resilience this girl had. She gradually gained back most of her weight and with much care, her eyes vastly improved. Once the swelling started to go down, the vet who cared for her suggested that she receive a procedure to make it for her easier to see and so that she would be more comfortable and not have reoccurring problems. WAG Rescue saw to it that Minnie had this procedure. The surgery on her eyes was a total success. Minnie is now healthy and was recently adopted by a couple who had lost their dog to cancer. They wanted another rescued dog and Minnie fit the bill. WAG Rescue had Minnie in the system for nine months, but we were finally able to find the perfect home for her.


More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
April 10, 2011

I'm a donor, a foster family and a dog adopter for WAG. I have been completely satisfied with WAG in all of these roles. As a donor, I am confident that my money is safeguarded and used wisely on feasible, well-executed projects. As a foster mom, I was continually impressed with the high level of professionalism of all the WAG personnel -- they met every single obligation and gently helped me meet my obligations to "our" dog. As a dog adopter, I've been so grateful that WAG has remained involved with and committed to our dog. At every turn you can see that these people really love dogs. They are creative, competent, well-managed, and meeting their goals.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My fabulous dog -- who had bad heartworms, among other ailments, when she was rescued -- is a perfect example of the reason for rescuing dogs that would otherwise be put down. Moreover, I learned to train and care for my dog from WAG volunteers -- I learned to wash her by volunteering at the dog wash, and I learned to train her by taking her to training classes for foster dogs. My dog would not be here and we would not be together if not for WAG.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...fund a facility where they can receive new dogs and house dogs undergoing treatment. I know they could help more dogs and more people with such a facility.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers