Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
March 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My name is Sharon Fialco. I am the author of the award winning Starabella Narrated Picture Books Series with Music for children. The Starabella stories are based on the childhood music and experiences of my daughter Tara. Tara is a pianist and composer who deals with the challenges of autism. Tara has difficulties with auditory processing and social communication. Often isolated and teased at school she turned to her beloved piano to compose songs with lyrics about a musical magical world of acceptance where children played and got along and were accepted for exactly who they are. This world was more socially sensitive than the one she had to face every day. One of her songs, “Welcome to a Bright New World” inspired our family to produce the Starabella series. I wrote the stories based on the concepts in Tara’s music. Tara played 17 of the 22 songs and melodies in the series. My daughter Dana, a talented singer, wrote additional music, narrated the stories and sang the songs. My husband and I published the series. Starabella, the heroine of our books, is a little girl who expresses her thoughts and feelings by singing and playing beautiful music. She sets an example of a child who uses her talents and abilities to overcome challenges to reach for her goals and encourages other children to do the same.

I came across the Williams Syndrome Changing Lives Foundation on Twitter. Tara had previously participated with a performance group of talented people with disabilities. I recalled that two of the performers had Williams Syndrome. One young man was a phenomenal pianist, playing rock and roll music, mimicking the style of Jerry Lee Lewis. The other performer was a charming, attractive teenage girl singer with loads of personality. I came to understand that many people with Williams Syndrome have an affinity for music, many with musical talent. I contacted Penny Perez, CEO and Founder of the Williams Syndrome Foundation, thinking that the Starabella stories which feature a musical heroine would appeal to children with Williams Syndrome. I realize also that all children with and without extra challenges benefit from messages of social sensitivity that emphasize acceptance of self and acceptance of others. The books feature Starabella in her home, community and school. Penny got back to me saying that children with Williams Syndrome and autism share some challenges in common. Her son has both Williams Syndrome and autism. We decided to make the Starabella books available to families with children who have Williams Syndrome who visit the Williams Syndrome Changing Lives Foundation website and Facebook page. Penny has been magnanimous in offering to review the Starabella books for the benefit of the visitors to the website. It is our shared hope that parents will purchase the books for their children. They will know they are not alone when reading/listening to stories involving a heroine they can relate to. Children will be inspired by Starabella’s messages of acceptance and determination. And they will have fun dancing, singing and dreaming along to the 22 songs and melodies in the stories.
20% of sales will go to benefit the Williams Syndrome Changing lives Foundation.
For further information and to buy the books, please visit: www.starabella.com
Become a fan of Starabella by liking her fan page: www.facebook.com/StarabellaBooks
April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 8, 2012

I am proud to donate to this wonderful organization that is committed to helping these kids and adults in need. I will continue to donate as I see the impact it is making in the life of so many famili... more

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am honored to assist WSCLF again this year in their awareness campaign. What a worthy cause! Thank you for allowing me to be part of it.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am proud to donate to this wonderful organization that is committed to helping these kids and adults in need. I will continue to donate as I see the impact it is making in the life of so many families.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
September 28, 2012

Great organization that is doing great things for people with Williams Syndrome. I have donated and will continue to do so. more

April 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I am completely impressed by the dedication of this foundation. The resources, the personal commitment and the work that is being done is amazing. I am honored to be able to be of assistance. Great work!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Great organization that is doing great things for people with Williams Syndrome. I have donated and will continue to do so.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What would you tell others about this organization?

Doing great things for others with Williams Syndrome

December 3, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 3, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

This group hit the ground running and has grown very rapidly. After we have talked personally to the founder, we found the group to be impressive and having a passion to help other people. Patchwork Peddler is committed to helping other Special Needs organizations, we put much thought and prayer into each of our decisions. We wish that we could help everyone that is in need, but we are limited to who we can help, and we are happy to be helping WSCLF!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have experienced this organization since its inception and am continually amazed at the heart, dedication and straight forward direction the WSCLF has for its mission of providing support for WS families. Williams Syndrome is so rare that many in our communities give little recognition to the daily struggles and needs our families have. I am proud to support an organization that gives more than it takes and follows their mission with a compassion and heart like no other.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 9, 2013

The William Syndrome Changing Lives Foundation with Penny Perez as CEO is a valuable source of parenting information. Their Newsletter is just as eye-catching and well organized as many magazines. Par... more

April 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The Williams Syndrome Changing Lives Foundation with Penny Perez as CEO & Founder has an excellent Newsletter. Their newsletter is educational and very interesting! Ms. Perez has beneficial posts on Facebook and LinkedIn for parents with children with special needs. Families with a child with Williams syndrome must definately join this group. Our company, SentioLife Solutions, Ltd., has donated sensory chewelry necklaces for events organized by this foundation and find the folks working there very efficient and knowledgeable. Hope you have a great 2014!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The William Syndrome Changing Lives Foundation with Penny Perez as CEO is a valuable source of parenting information. Their Newsletter is just as eye-catching and well organized as many magazines. Parents raising children with special needs appreciate the information on their site, the Newsletter, their LinkedIn Group, Facebook Page, etc. This non-profit foundation is truly centered on increasing Williams syndrome awareness, increasing education for families, the public, physicians and therapists.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

We are happy to donate KidCompanions Chewelry to the William Syndrome Changing Lives Foundation for their fundraising project. We were impressed with the professional look of their Facebook page and web site. We felt this foundation has capable, caring parents behind it trying to make the lives of others easier and better. Glad to collaborate with such a group!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 26, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

This is a great organization with great leadership. We are proud to be a donor of products to such a good cause.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 26, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

This foundation was one that we chose to donate to based on their assisting of children with Williams Syndrome. We donated sensory items for specific children and will continue to work with them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 26, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

We have donated several items to the Williams Syndrome Changing Lives Foundation as we believe they are doing great things for people with Williams Syndrome.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Feedback they have provided regarding the children that received our donation.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers