Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
March 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My name is Sharon Fialco. I am the author of the award winning Starabella Narrated Picture Books Series with Music for children. The Starabella stories are based on the childhood music and experiences of my daughter Tara. Tara is a pianist and composer who deals with the challenges of autism. Tara has difficulties with auditory processing and social communication. Often isolated and teased at school she turned to her beloved piano to compose songs with lyrics about a musical magical world of acceptance where children played and got along and were accepted for exactly who they are. This world was more socially sensitive than the one she had to face every day. One of her songs, “Welcome to a Bright New World” inspired our family to produce the Starabella series. I wrote the stories based on the concepts in Tara’s music. Tara played 17 of the 22 songs and melodies in the series. My daughter Dana, a talented singer, wrote additional music, narrated the stories and sang the songs. My husband and I published the series. Starabella, the heroine of our books, is a little girl who expresses her thoughts and feelings by singing and playing beautiful music. She sets an example of a child who uses her talents and abilities to overcome challenges to reach for her goals and encourages other children to do the same.

I came across the Williams Syndrome Changing Lives Foundation on Twitter. Tara had previously participated with a performance group of talented people with disabilities. I recalled that two of the performers had Williams Syndrome. One young man was a phenomenal pianist, playing rock and roll music, mimicking the style of Jerry Lee Lewis. The other performer was a charming, attractive teenage girl singer with loads of personality. I came to understand that many people with Williams Syndrome have an affinity for music, many with musical talent. I contacted Penny Perez, CEO and Founder of the Williams Syndrome Foundation, thinking that the Starabella stories which feature a musical heroine would appeal to children with Williams Syndrome. I realize also that all children with and without extra challenges benefit from messages of social sensitivity that emphasize acceptance of self and acceptance of others. The books feature Starabella in her home, community and school. Penny got back to me saying that children with Williams Syndrome and autism share some challenges in common. Her son has both Williams Syndrome and autism. We decided to make the Starabella books available to families with children who have Williams Syndrome who visit the Williams Syndrome Changing Lives Foundation website and Facebook page. Penny has been magnanimous in offering to review the Starabella books for the benefit of the visitors to the website. It is our shared hope that parents will purchase the books for their children. They will know they are not alone when reading/listening to stories involving a heroine they can relate to. Children will be inspired by Starabella’s messages of acceptance and determination. And they will have fun dancing, singing and dreaming along to the 22 songs and melodies in the stories.
20% of sales will go to benefit the Williams Syndrome Changing lives Foundation.
For further information and to buy the books, please visit: www.starabella.com
Become a fan of Starabella by liking her fan page: www.facebook.com/StarabellaBooks
March 20, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 5, 2013

This organization has done so much for the Williams syndrome community. They know the needs and care about the families. Great Job! more

March 20, 2014

I am a volunteer and advisor for the Foundation and they are truly changing lives for families. They are dedicated and provide so many needed resources that are not otherwise available.

The also make sure that they have a variety of resources for parents and families.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

This organization has done so much for the Williams syndrome community. They know the needs and care about the families. Great Job!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 31, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The Mission of the foundation is very much needed in our small community of parents of kids with Williams Syndrome. They seem to understand what the needs are.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 20, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 8, 2013

Williams Syndrome Changing Lives Foundation assisted my family and continues to be a resource for our concerns and needs. This is such a needed service and has made such a positive impact for our fami... more

March 20, 2014

Williams Syndrome Changing Lives Foundation has been a source of information and support for my family. They continue to produce valuable and practical resources for all families regardless of the ages of the children with Williams.

I fully support heir efforts and applaud them for their
efforts in making a difference in the Williams syndrome community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Williams Syndrome Changing Lives Foundation assisted my family and continues to be a resource for our concerns and needs. This is such a needed service and has made such a positive impact for our family. We are forever indebted to them.

Penny Perez, the founder continues to be available
for us and any concerns. It has truly made a difference. Thank you.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Williams Syndrome Changing Lives Foundation helped my child with therapy needs and services. I am so thankful. We are struggling and there is no help out there for children to help with these services. Thanks to them, we have a plan for the remainder of the year for therapy services and other behavioral needs.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Williams Syndrome Changing Lives Foundation goes above and beyond to provide great information and resources. I have collaborated with them on a few projects and I appreciate how professional and personable they all are.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

The care, support and information Williams Syndrome Changing Lives Foundation provides is outstanding and second to none. They offer top-notch infographics, articles and other resources age-specific for our WS children, along with their physicians and educators. It's not about contests & give-aways at CLF. It's all about getting our children the necessary care they need and their parents the much-needed support they long for. THIS is just what I've been looking for! There is true support and concern for my son and myself.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 19, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

May 19, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have been watching this organization from a far since its inception and just recently have had the honor of working with them personally. I have to say, the vision is in line with their mission. And their mission is certainly needed within our Williams syndrome community. I am honored to be a part of something that does so much good! Thanks to the WSCLF staff, volunteers, parent partnerships and professionals for helping to create change!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This website is such a valuable tool and resource for families with WS. It has helped us so much! I hope many more people benefit from it the same way we have!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Williams Syndrome Changing Lives Foundation has been a huge savior for my family and I. I specially want to thank Penny Perez (CEO) for all the help she has supported me with! My gratitude to her and this foundation is infinite. Thank you Williams Syndrome Changing Lives Foundation. You have literally changed our lives :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have worked with Williams Syndrome Changing Lives Foundation on a couple of projects and have found them to be completely professional and with a very clear vision.

I am honored to assist them with their efforts and will continue to do so. We will continue to reach out to them for
information about Williams syndrome and their resources.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Williams Syndrome Changing Lives Foundation is a wonderful resource of not just knowledge and understanding but so much more. They know where a family is coming from when they get a diagnosis and how distressing it can be to suddenly find that your path in life has changed! They support families in hard times both medically, financially as well as emotionally. Thank you WS Changing Lives Foundation for the wonderful work, support, assistance and HOPE that you give to so many families including my own.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers