Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
1234.456525
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
September 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
November 14, 2012

Great group doing education about black bears via live den cams..updates..or videos. please watch the live birth of cubbies each january via ely,minnesota. It is an awesome an life changing experie... more

September 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

THRU the LIVE den cams the world of hibernating black bears has been seen by the whole world. The past year over 1000 classrooms watched the LIVE cams an used them as stepping stones into other subjects. THANKS to WRI, there is worldwide interest in the black bears unlike ever before. Thru this interest NEW wildlife rescues an rehabs have been sought out an supported by these same followers. I KNOW because it happened to me.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2012

Great group doing education about black bears via live den cams..updates..or videos. please watch the live birth of cubbies each january via ely,minnesota. It is an awesome an life changing experience! learn the truth about black bears>>that they are the animals to be feared

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 14, 2012
29 people found this review helpful

great educational value from this bear group. always teaching us an whole world about black bears.. i guess that is why so many schools have it in their classrooms> i will always support wri an ignore the lies spread by a few against them to boost their egos. what great things this reseach group is doing. i hope to visit them again this spring/summer. well worth the drive :) >

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

"Groundbreaking Education" is absolutely the best description I have ever seen fo rthis organization. The things they have learned, and shared freely, with the world is wonderful. Education is the only way there is to progress as a society, and the education shared by the Wildlife Research Institute is eye opening to say the very least. Why anyone would think that to be detrimental to anyone, or anything, is a mystery yet to be solved, beyond jealousy and revenge. I will continue to donate every penny I can to them, and if I were wealthy I would give the a good portion of all I have.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ask that they fight the MN DNR harder and more often. The constant chipping at this wonderful organization by the MN DNR is nothing short of shameful and unprofessional.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I personally witnessed their work in 2012. What a game changer. What they do is so far removed from the traditional approach that seemingly every finding they make is groundbreaking. Their findings challenge the decades old dogma we all learned in school and in outdoor circles. As a biologist, everything I "knew" about black bears was challenged. As a biologist with several decades of professional experience under my belt, I felt like my career might have been wasted. The dynamic duo of Lynn Rogers and Sue Mansfield, WRI supporting cast, and WRI volunteers are now some of my favorite people on the planet. They truly deserve healthy funding as they deliver value for every dollar. Kudos to them and if you were on the fence, don't be. They are a GREAT place for your dollars to make a real difference. To a person, everyone I have spoken with who has first hand knowledge of WRI simply can't say enough good about them. Count me in that camp now. Please help put them on sustainable footing. They return your good will with fantastic work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 16, 2012
23 people found this review helpful

more

February 16, 2012
23 people found this review helpful

When a friend said,"Did you see that stuff on the internet about a bear up in Ely that's going to have cubs and it's going to be on webcam?", little did i know what effect that would have on my life. The bears on camera, in the videos available on the website and in Updates, the photos of their life activities, all the factual scientific research that is shared on the webpages has totally changed my understanding of the black bear. I used to be afraid of being in the woods at night. In our 35 years of Boundary Water trips we would quote all the misinformation offered by sporting magazines, hunters, the DNR, etc about how aggressive and dangerous black bears are. Now i know better. They are wild animals and deserve respect but i am no longer afraid. i have yet to see a black bear on any BWCAW trips. but i really want to know that i understand their behavior. All this from two totally dedicated researchers who quietly present facts to the public and their peers in an effort to have people open their eyes and minds to what the MN black bear really is about. Thank you Dr. Rogers and Sue Mansfield!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

no longer fearing an encounter with a black bear because i know the signs that are wrongly touted as "the bear is going to attack", are really only signs that the bear is afraid and would like nothing better than to get away from you!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

it is really sad to see the slander and harassment that some people post against the researchers The comments seem to come from some very troubled individuals. These people also "offer" totally incorrect information about the bears and the functioning of the WRI and the NABC. Dr. Rogers and Sue M. are kind, bright, dedicated people. They deserve respect for all they give of their time and lives so the rest of the WORLD can learn and enjoy the black bears!

Why did you make your donation at this time?

Some of the extremely negative people seem to enjoy trying to destroy the organization's work through lying and trying to suck others into their negative downward spiral. Donations to non-profits seem to be one way to help the organization. For those that are so negative - there is obvioulsy no help.

What would you tell others about this organization?

Support it! The work is important, good, and fun to learn about.

February 15, 2012
29 people found this review helpful

more

February 15, 2012
29 people found this review helpful

This organizaton headed by Dr. Lynn Rogers and Sue Mansfield, biologists has changed my thinking about the behaviors of black bears. There expertise in this field and their willingness to share the years of knowledge has brought together so many people with the same interests, and has increased education about black bears in many school systems. Reading others comments, who say that the donations aren't being used as they said they is not true. The biologists share how the donations are being used with the public. It's unfortunate that even after years and years on study, Dr. Rogers and Sue Mansfield are still questioned about how they do their research. I will stand by this organization through thick and thin. I cannot believe that there are naysayers that speak about this organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 15, 2012
26 people found this review helpful

more

February 15, 2012
26 people found this review helpful

Nowhere has there been a truly comprehensive study of wild mammals native to the United States as the research of black bears in MN. Nowhere in the United States has the plight of those research animals been so electrifying to bring hundreds of thousands of people within and outside of MN together to support their cause with their voices and their dollars as the radio collared research bears of the North American Bear Center.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 15, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

February 15, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

After being mesmerized by my admiration for these beautiful creatures. I became entranced with this organization only to find them in my opinion to be guileful, capricious, and mephitic.

And in pursuing other non-profit organizations I found other non-profits to be the complete opposite
and respectful of the general public and its members.

Cavete !

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 15, 2012
27 people found this review helpful

more

February 15, 2012
27 people found this review helpful

Dr. Lynn Rogers and Sue Mansfield are highly educated and knowledgeable in the field of black bears. To be able to follow their research has been a joy. I am especially excited that their other organization the NABC has the education outreach program which enables classrooms worlwide also share this experience. The WRI is a great organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 15, 2012
31 people found this review helpful

more

February 15, 2012
31 people found this review helpful

I found the Wildlife Research Institute quite by accident in January 2010 and have been a firm and loyal supporter ever since. The education I have received has been monumental in helping me coexist with the bears and other wildlife in the rural area where I live. Dr. Lynn Rogers' research is comparable to that of Dr. Jane Goodall ~ him with black bears, hers with chimpanzees. Matter of fact, Dr. Goodall is on the International Advisory Board of the North American Bear Center which is the sister-organization of the WRI!!! Dr. Rogers is a world-class biologist as is Sue Mansfield. Together, they are forces that unite the world, and every age group, in debunking myths about black bears and other maligned wildlife. His work on black bear mother-daughter kinship prompted Harvard University sociobiologist E.O. Wilson to rank the research as one of the world's "four major pioneering studies of large mammals." Rogers was also the first bear researcher to take blood samples from winter-dormant wild bears--a procedure that has led to greater understanding of such human ailments as gallstones and circulatory problems." I am proud to say I have met both Dr. Rogers and Ms. Mansfield, and understand their characters which are above reproach, despite what one might read in other comments on this site, made by individuals who thought they would be able to control the research AND researchers by donating their time or money. I have donated many, many times and will again. I have been to the NABC and will go again. I am impressed by the strength of character and the knowledge each of these two fine individuals posses, as well as the many others who contribute their expertise and efforts to this worthy organization. If you have any doubt about the integrity of this research, you need only ask any one of THOUSANDS of people, from first grade students who have taken it upon themselves to write legislation to make the black bear the MN state mammal, to Edward Osborne Wilson; an American biologist, researcher (sociobiology, biodiversity), theorist (consilience, biophilia), naturalist (conservationist) and author. Wilson is a two-time winner of the Pulitzer Prize for General Non-Fiction. He is known for his scientific career, his role as "the father of sociobiology" and his environmental advocacy, among other things.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

co-existing with the wild bears that live in our area.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What would you tell others about this organization?

This research has had a life-changing effect on me and the way I perceive not only wild bears, but other wildlife and humans as well. I cannot adequately thank the WRI for sharing this gift with all of us, and only hope to share the education I've received with others as a tribute to their dedication and hard work.

February 15, 2012
28 people found this review helpful

more

February 15, 2012
28 people found this review helpful

"The educational values being received by thousands in fifty (50) states and fifty seven (57) countries as well as in classrooms all over the world is undeniably the best education ever presented about the behaviors of these magnificent creatures. Children are learning the truths about wild North American black bears and about all of nature with this experience. Protecting them for future benefit to humanity is necessary. The dozen radio-collared bears around Ely are part of the biggest classroom bear education program ever done. Over 500 schools follow these bears daily in their classrooms. Teachers and students watch the live Den Cam and read the daily research updates on bear.org . Individual radio-collared bears are part of their science, reading, and math classes along with the lesson plans.

Minnesota’s radio-collared bears have become too valuable to science, education, tourism, and regional economics to be killed like any other bears The township of Ely, MN has taken a major step toward supporting the protection of these bears. They have signed a resolution recognizing the importance of these bears and that the need for the legalization of their protection. “Regional benefits from the research bears are just beginning.” Continued success depends entirely upon the radio-collared bears that hundreds of thousands are following worldwide. We all must do whatever we can to gain legal protection for the radio-collared bears that are the foundation for it all.

March 6, 2011 at 10:45 am"

The above comment was left after a newspaper article, concerning the fact that radio-collared bears would continue to be fair game to hunters, was written. It says so much about what the Wildlife Research Institute (WRI) and North American Bear Center (NABC) are about. I couldn't have said it better.

Therefore, I'm shocked to see that some people have posted negative comments, here, about the WRI. The fact is, the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources Division of Fish and Wildlife (MN DNR) has issued them a permit. The permit states, "Permission is granted to conduct a pilot research study of black bears and black bear public education on the Mud Creek study area." The permit allows them to do the following with the black bears they are studying, "Capture, handle, radio-collar, and monitor for research purposes and public education." All permits have conditions...there wouldn't be a need for a permit, if they didn't. Having received a permit from the MN DNR, is enough for me to acknowledge the work the WRI is doing. I donate because I want to, and believe in what they are doing.

Some of the negative comments mention that the bears are in danger of harm, by hunters, because of the research. Protection has been sought for these study bears, and has continually been denied. The fact is, they're wild bears. Hunting is a big part of Minnesota history, and unless the bear is a cub, it is legal to be hunted.



More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers