Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
1234.456525
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 19, 2013

more

October 19, 2013

I have learned more than i ever thought there was to know about black bears from the research of the Wri.
They are dispelling the misconceptions that black bears are man killing animals. Through their research- the walks in the woods with with bears- viewing the den cams and the educational
materials made available to schools this organization is top notch in educating the world about black bears. They are teaching the world what timid calm animals black bears are. They don't do it for glory or high pay, they do it for the education of the world so we can all learn to respect the bears and nature in general. They do it so humans can learn to coexist with nature as we are meant to.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 7, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
May 12, 2012

I've been following Dr.Lynn Rogers,and Sue Mansfield's research since early 2010. I have learned so much about the misconceptions of the black bear,and they are not the ferocious animals so many peopl... more

September 7, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

I've been following Dr.Lynn Rogers,and Sue Mansfield's research since early 2010. I have learned so much about the misconceptions of the black bear,and they are not the ferocious animals so many people think they are. For me it all started with a bear named Lily,giving birth via a live web cam in Ely,MN to a cub called Hope~Following the research,and Shadow's clan has been life changing for me,and I'm so grateful to learn everyday more and more,through the daily updates at the WRI,and bear.org~

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 12, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I've been following Dr.Lynn Rogers,and Sue Mansfield's research since early 2010. I have learned so much about the misconceptions of the black bear,and they are not the ferocious animals so many people think they are. For me it all started with a bear named Lily,giving birth via a live web cam in Ely,MN to a cub called Hope~Following the research,and Shadow's clan has been life changing for me,and I'm so grateful to learn everyday more and more,through the daily updates at the WRI,and bear.org~

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

May 23, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
February 15, 2012

From the very first time I clicked on the WRI and learned about Black Bears, I have been a daily observer and follower of Dr. Rogers and Sue Mansfield's research. It has been one of the most interesti... more

May 23, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

There are not enough words to describe the dedication and commitment Dr. Rogers and Sue Mansfield are making in their endeavor to research, educate and understand the life of the black bear. I have been following their efforts since 2010 and have learned more about black bears than I ever would have anticipated. Kudos to them for their tireless efforts and integrity!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 15, 2012
28 people found this review helpful

From the very first time I clicked on the WRI and learned about Black Bears, I have been a daily observer and follower of Dr. Rogers and Sue Mansfield's research. It has been one of the most interesting, informative and exciting journeys I have ever been on ~ a worthy and invaluable labor of love and research - one filled with integrity, intelligence and humanity. The educational value is invaluable to children and adults alike, and has changed the hearts and minds of thousands who are learning about black bears and how they live. Study boxes are now available to teachers everywhere and with continued support, more and more can be done to educate the world. Kudos to the WRI!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 12, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

May 12, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

This non-profit ranks among the unique. The leaders, researchers, work 7 da/wk and easily 12-14 hrs./da. so that others will understand the important niche the American Black Bear holds in the world of wildlife and how humans can learn to co-exist with them. There are no big salaries or performance vehicles, only hours of forest trekking, data compiling and communication. The WRI is among the finest of non-profits-a gem of integrity. It is a privilege to support this Research and benefit from it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 11, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

more

May 11, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

The WRI has been a part of my daily life for the last few years. I have learnt so much about Black Bears, and the surrounding Northwoods. I was able to volunteer my services, by doing shifts on the dencam, collecting data for the research. Which gave me great satsfaction, in the hope that these beautiful animals will be understood a lot more. My dream is to visit the Bear Centre and the Ely area.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 15, 2012
27 people found this review helpful

more

February 15, 2012
27 people found this review helpful

I have nothing but respect for Dr Rogers and Sue Mansfield! They have taught me so much about the North American Black Bear!, Their website Bear.Org is the most comprehensive website i have come across where the Black Bear is concerned. They are both kind and generous with their time, always ready to answer questions! All i can do is thank them from the bottom of my heart !

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 15, 2012
29 people found this review helpful

more

February 15, 2012
29 people found this review helpful

I can only say thank you to Dr. Lynn Rogers and Sue Mansfield for deciding one day, two years ago, to set up a camera at the entrance of a wild black bear den and stream life video through internet giving the world, included children in classrooms in the USA, the chance to learn and discover the true nature of these wonderful creatures. Dr. Lynn Rogers and Sue Mansfield on behalf of WRI conduct the most detailed long-term study of black bears behaviour based on trust. It has been a life devoted to the study of these animals. Day by day, year by year... A labor of love... Thank you WRI for your tireless efforts to educate the world!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 14, 2012
29 people found this review helpful

more

February 14, 2012
29 people found this review helpful

Having spent a large portion of my 33 year career involved in research processes, I am well acquainted with the requirements. I have looked into the WRI (bearstudy.org and have spoken directly with Dr. Lynn Rogers and Sue Mansfield, MS) and their research and find them achieving the high standards of correctly implemented research. The study design and methodology are very appropriate to studying the socio-biologic behavior of bears. The funds are NOT mis-appropriated as has been fraudulently alledged by several of the posts here. One of prime focuses of the WRI is educating people about bears, and they are achieving that goal world-wide, thanks to web (den) cam technology and use of the internet. The research they do and the increased understanding of bear behavior will truly benefit both humans and bears.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 14, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

more

February 14, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

I've seen this organization go from what appeared to be all about the bears to one that now is all about the money. The bears are fed on a regular basis which habituates them to humans, affects their hibernation patterns, and makes them more desirable to hunters due to their larger size and tameness. Their "research" is supposed to be based on wild bears, but due to all of the interactions, their instincts don't reflect those of truely wild bears. If their methods are questioned, you can expect to be bullied by their fans who fail to see what's really happening. The bears lives are at risk due to Rogers, Mansifield and their so called research practices. Comparing this organization to the work of Jane Goodall is shameful. Why the DNR continues to issue a permit to them remains a mystery.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 14, 2012
27 people found this review helpful

more

February 14, 2012
27 people found this review helpful

I have followed the wild research bears in the Ely area for over two years. I've found out that the research and how it's sharred is always honest, straight forward, and very educational...It's not by chance that Doctor Rogers has been compared to Dian Fossey and Jane Goodall, some pretty hefty company to be sure in the way of mammal research. Doctor Rogers with the help of Sue Mansfield has taught the WORLD more about this species than anyone in the history and more than likely more than anyone ever will !! Education and how we can better understand this animal is what Doctor Rogers is trying to teach us and I can only say that I'm very thankful that he's invited me along on this incredible journey !!! Moe

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers