Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
1234.456525
| 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
May 11, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

more

May 11, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

The WRI has been a part of my daily life for the last few years. I have learnt so much about Black Bears, and the surrounding Northwoods. I was able to volunteer my services, by doing shifts on the dencam, collecting data for the research. Which gave me great satsfaction, in the hope that these beautiful animals will be understood a lot more. My dream is to visit the Bear Centre and the Ely area.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 17, 2012
22 people found this review helpful

more

February 17, 2012
22 people found this review helpful

I have been following the work of Dr. Rogers and Ms. Mansfield for several years, and finally had the opportunity to take the Bear Study Course last summer. I am a physician, educator and a researcher, and very familiar with scientific methodology. Their research is sound, impeccably done and likely to yield important findings on bear behavior. Management of the finances is likewise beyond reproach. They personally never benefit from any of it, live very simple and modest lives, and are truly dedicated to their research, but even more so to education about black bears. Countless elementary school children are learning more than they could ever imagine from these animals, including science, math, civics and the ups and downs of life. These are lessons that cannot be duplicated in other ways. I will continue to support Dr. Rogers and Ms Mansfield in any way I can, including contributing my knowledge towards interpretation of their findings whenever they feel appropriate.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Several visits including the bear study course.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage Dr. Rogers to publish his data more promptly. He has some excellent material that must be published in high impact peer-reviewed publications, in order to disseminate his findings. Some of the data may have implications for human medicine as well.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

How did you learn about this organization?

Through other researchers who recommended WRI to me.

February 16, 2012
23 people found this review helpful

more

February 16, 2012
23 people found this review helpful

When a friend said,"Did you see that stuff on the internet about a bear up in Ely that's going to have cubs and it's going to be on webcam?", little did i know what effect that would have on my life. The bears on camera, in the videos available on the website and in Updates, the photos of their life activities, all the factual scientific research that is shared on the webpages has totally changed my understanding of the black bear. I used to be afraid of being in the woods at night. In our 35 years of Boundary Water trips we would quote all the misinformation offered by sporting magazines, hunters, the DNR, etc about how aggressive and dangerous black bears are. Now i know better. They are wild animals and deserve respect but i am no longer afraid. i have yet to see a black bear on any BWCAW trips. but i really want to know that i understand their behavior. All this from two totally dedicated researchers who quietly present facts to the public and their peers in an effort to have people open their eyes and minds to what the MN black bear really is about. Thank you Dr. Rogers and Sue Mansfield!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

no longer fearing an encounter with a black bear because i know the signs that are wrongly touted as "the bear is going to attack", are really only signs that the bear is afraid and would like nothing better than to get away from you!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

it is really sad to see the slander and harassment that some people post against the researchers The comments seem to come from some very troubled individuals. These people also "offer" totally incorrect information about the bears and the functioning of the WRI and the NABC. Dr. Rogers and Sue M. are kind, bright, dedicated people. They deserve respect for all they give of their time and lives so the rest of the WORLD can learn and enjoy the black bears!

Why did you make your donation at this time?

Some of the extremely negative people seem to enjoy trying to destroy the organization's work through lying and trying to suck others into their negative downward spiral. Donations to non-profits seem to be one way to help the organization. For those that are so negative - there is obvioulsy no help.

What would you tell others about this organization?

Support it! The work is important, good, and fun to learn about.

February 15, 2012
29 people found this review helpful

more

February 15, 2012
29 people found this review helpful

This organizaton headed by Dr. Lynn Rogers and Sue Mansfield, biologists has changed my thinking about the behaviors of black bears. There expertise in this field and their willingness to share the years of knowledge has brought together so many people with the same interests, and has increased education about black bears in many school systems. Reading others comments, who say that the donations aren't being used as they said they is not true. The biologists share how the donations are being used with the public. It's unfortunate that even after years and years on study, Dr. Rogers and Sue Mansfield are still questioned about how they do their research. I will stand by this organization through thick and thin. I cannot believe that there are naysayers that speak about this organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 15, 2012
26 people found this review helpful

more

February 15, 2012
26 people found this review helpful

Dr Lynn Rogers and Sue Mansfield are teaching the world about how the Black Bear lives, what they eat, how they grow, mating, giving birth, raising , protecting and teaching cubs, territory, scent marking, so much information that was never known or documented before. The education that is being taught in the class rooms through the use of the den cams is teaching children that the Black Bear is a beautiful animal and not at all ferocious as we all once believed. Dr Rogers and Sue are showing the world that Humans & Black Bears can co -exist in peace.. I have and will continue to support this important research. Thank You Dr Rogers and Sue Mansfield for all you do!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 15, 2012
27 people found this review helpful

more

February 15, 2012
27 people found this review helpful

I have nothing but respect for Dr Rogers and Sue Mansfield! They have taught me so much about the North American Black Bear!, Their website Bear.Org is the most comprehensive website i have come across where the Black Bear is concerned. They are both kind and generous with their time, always ready to answer questions! All i can do is thank them from the bottom of my heart !

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 15, 2012
34 people found this review helpful

more

February 15, 2012
34 people found this review helpful

I've taken the time to read all these reviews with some laughing at the lengths a few disgruntled people will go to discredit something that they were once totally involved in and sang the praises of, only to get their toes "stepped on" because of the unfair treatment said people gave the general public fan as moderators and fundraiser heads for the NABC and WRI. I just LOVE the Law of REAPING what we plant. Some people call it karma....same principle. We are promised by God that whatever we "sow, we will also reap." Sow goodness and kindness and it will come back to you 10 fold or more. Sow hatefulness and lies and THAT too is promised by God to come back to the sower. Dr. Lynn Rogers and Biologist Sue Mansfield are two of the kindest people I have ever met. It is Dr. Rogers' life goal to teach the world about the American Black Bear and how they relate to one another and to humans. Thousands and thousands of people agree with him. So why should we even listen to the few who are pissed off because they lost in the "power struggle" that they created themselves. Yay for goodness and Kindness. Good will always overcome evil.......................EVERY TIME.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 15, 2012
29 people found this review helpful

more

February 15, 2012
29 people found this review helpful

I can only say thank you to Dr. Lynn Rogers and Sue Mansfield for deciding one day, two years ago, to set up a camera at the entrance of a wild black bear den and stream life video through internet giving the world, included children in classrooms in the USA, the chance to learn and discover the true nature of these wonderful creatures. Dr. Lynn Rogers and Sue Mansfield on behalf of WRI conduct the most detailed long-term study of black bears behaviour based on trust. It has been a life devoted to the study of these animals. Day by day, year by year... A labor of love... Thank you WRI for your tireless efforts to educate the world!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 15, 2012
26 people found this review helpful

more

February 15, 2012
26 people found this review helpful

Nowhere has there been a truly comprehensive study of wild mammals native to the United States as the research of black bears in MN. Nowhere in the United States has the plight of those research animals been so electrifying to bring hundreds of thousands of people within and outside of MN together to support their cause with their voices and their dollars as the radio collared research bears of the North American Bear Center.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 15, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

February 15, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

After being mesmerized by my admiration for these beautiful creatures. I became entranced with this organization only to find them in my opinion to be guileful, capricious, and mephitic.

And in pursuing other non-profit organizations I found other non-profits to be the complete opposite
and respectful of the general public and its members.

Cavete !

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers