Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
1234.456525
Write A Review
January 18, 2014

more

January 18, 2014

This is a wonderful place to learn all about the WRI research bear , Dr. L Rogers and Sue M teach field courses where you learn how to find bear tracks and signs :D One day i would like to take this course .

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No change .

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

The research on Black Bears done by the WRI in Ely in invaluable. Through online daily research updates, videos, photos and web cams of hibernating Black Bears and their cubs, thousands and thousands of people around the world have learned so much.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013

more

October 19, 2013

I have learned more than i ever thought there was to know about black bears from the research of the Wri.
They are dispelling the misconceptions that black bears are man killing animals. Through their research- the walks in the woods with with bears- viewing the den cams and the educational
materials made available to schools this organization is top notch in educating the world about black bears. They are teaching the world what timid calm animals black bears are. They don't do it for glory or high pay, they do it for the education of the world so we can all learn to respect the bears and nature in general. They do it so humans can learn to coexist with nature as we are meant to.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
November 14, 2012

Great group doing education about black bears via live den cams..updates..or videos. please watch the live birth of cubbies each january via ely,minnesota. It is an awesome an life changing experie... more

September 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

THRU the LIVE den cams the world of hibernating black bears has been seen by the whole world. The past year over 1000 classrooms watched the LIVE cams an used them as stepping stones into other subjects. THANKS to WRI, there is worldwide interest in the black bears unlike ever before. Thru this interest NEW wildlife rescues an rehabs have been sought out an supported by these same followers. I KNOW because it happened to me.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2012

Great group doing education about black bears via live den cams..updates..or videos. please watch the live birth of cubbies each january via ely,minnesota. It is an awesome an life changing experience! learn the truth about black bears>>that they are the animals to be feared

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 14, 2012
29 people found this review helpful

great educational value from this bear group. always teaching us an whole world about black bears.. i guess that is why so many schools have it in their classrooms> i will always support wri an ignore the lies spread by a few against them to boost their egos. what great things this reseach group is doing. i hope to visit them again this spring/summer. well worth the drive :) >

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 7, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
May 12, 2012

I've been following Dr.Lynn Rogers,and Sue Mansfield's research since early 2010. I have learned so much about the misconceptions of the black bear,and they are not the ferocious animals so many peopl... more

September 7, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

I've been following Dr.Lynn Rogers,and Sue Mansfield's research since early 2010. I have learned so much about the misconceptions of the black bear,and they are not the ferocious animals so many people think they are. For me it all started with a bear named Lily,giving birth via a live web cam in Ely,MN to a cub called Hope~Following the research,and Shadow's clan has been life changing for me,and I'm so grateful to learn everyday more and more,through the daily updates at the WRI,and bear.org~

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 12, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I've been following Dr.Lynn Rogers,and Sue Mansfield's research since early 2010. I have learned so much about the misconceptions of the black bear,and they are not the ferocious animals so many people think they are. For me it all started with a bear named Lily,giving birth via a live web cam in Ely,MN to a cub called Hope~Following the research,and Shadow's clan has been life changing for me,and I'm so grateful to learn everyday more and more,through the daily updates at the WRI,and bear.org~

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

"Groundbreaking Education" is absolutely the best description I have ever seen fo rthis organization. The things they have learned, and shared freely, with the world is wonderful. Education is the only way there is to progress as a society, and the education shared by the Wildlife Research Institute is eye opening to say the very least. Why anyone would think that to be detrimental to anyone, or anything, is a mystery yet to be solved, beyond jealousy and revenge. I will continue to donate every penny I can to them, and if I were wealthy I would give the a good portion of all I have.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ask that they fight the MN DNR harder and more often. The constant chipping at this wonderful organization by the MN DNR is nothing short of shameful and unprofessional.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I personally witnessed their work in 2012. What a game changer. What they do is so far removed from the traditional approach that seemingly every finding they make is groundbreaking. Their findings challenge the decades old dogma we all learned in school and in outdoor circles. As a biologist, everything I "knew" about black bears was challenged. As a biologist with several decades of professional experience under my belt, I felt like my career might have been wasted. The dynamic duo of Lynn Rogers and Sue Mansfield, WRI supporting cast, and WRI volunteers are now some of my favorite people on the planet. They truly deserve healthy funding as they deliver value for every dollar. Kudos to them and if you were on the fence, don't be. They are a GREAT place for your dollars to make a real difference. To a person, everyone I have spoken with who has first hand knowledge of WRI simply can't say enough good about them. Count me in that camp now. Please help put them on sustainable footing. They return your good will with fantastic work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 23, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
February 15, 2012

From the very first time I clicked on the WRI and learned about Black Bears, I have been a daily observer and follower of Dr. Rogers and Sue Mansfield's research. It has been one of the most interesti... more

May 23, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

There are not enough words to describe the dedication and commitment Dr. Rogers and Sue Mansfield are making in their endeavor to research, educate and understand the life of the black bear. I have been following their efforts since 2010 and have learned more about black bears than I ever would have anticipated. Kudos to them for their tireless efforts and integrity!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 15, 2012
28 people found this review helpful

From the very first time I clicked on the WRI and learned about Black Bears, I have been a daily observer and follower of Dr. Rogers and Sue Mansfield's research. It has been one of the most interesting, informative and exciting journeys I have ever been on ~ a worthy and invaluable labor of love and research - one filled with integrity, intelligence and humanity. The educational value is invaluable to children and adults alike, and has changed the hearts and minds of thousands who are learning about black bears and how they live. Study boxes are now available to teachers everywhere and with continued support, more and more can be done to educate the world. Kudos to the WRI!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 13, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

May 13, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I have followed the NABC and WRI since Jan 2011, watching the den cam hen Hope was born. Dr. Rogers and Sue Mansfield have and are doing a great job researching the lives of Shadow's clan and educating us on the truths about black bears and dismissing the myths. Their research is known worldwide and highly respected. I plan to visit Ely in July and visit the NABC. I have learned so much from this research. Both the NABC and WRI are doing a great job educating about black bears

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 12, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

May 12, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

This non-profit ranks among the unique. The leaders, researchers, work 7 da/wk and easily 12-14 hrs./da. so that others will understand the important niche the American Black Bear holds in the world of wildlife and how humans can learn to co-exist with them. There are no big salaries or performance vehicles, only hours of forest trekking, data compiling and communication. The WRI is among the finest of non-profits-a gem of integrity. It is a privilege to support this Research and benefit from it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers