Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 21, 2012

more

November 21, 2012

Beth is a very dedicated in her rehabilitation. I met her 5 years ago. She welcomed me into her home and showed me her "set-up." She has totally given up her home to make it as comfortable for the "furbabys" as I like to call them. She has a few that she keeps that needs care constantly. It can be so expensive trying to keep this going. With her being a non-profit organization. ANY ITEMS that you can spare would be greatly appreciated. I have watched her caring for the critters many times.It's good that these little fellows have her they are always warm,clean and not hungry.Some of her babies would not make it very long in the wild.She is always there for them.This to can become expensive buying food,blankets and cages for all of them.Any donations I know would be appreciated and very much put to good use.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I had just moved to this country from Australia. I discovered a tiny little being in our backyard with no fur and unopened eyes. I honestly didn't know what this little fella was until I asked our next door neighbor as we don't have squirrels in Oz . :) I got the phone number of this organization and within an hour or two at the most Beth had arrived, told me I'd been doing the right thing keeping " Willie" as we called him , warm and snuggled, plus answered all my inquisitive questions about squirrels and their care. I love their enthusiasm, and love for all wildlife as well as their willingness to educate people both old and young. Beth is a wonderful person who goes above and beyond for all wildlife all on a "shoestring budget " . I feel very lucky to have met Beth and I look forward to her updates on Facebook keeping those of us who have found injured or orphaned wildlife up to date . Congratulations to a wonderful organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

I was lucky enough to meet Beth and visit her rescue facilities recently when she offered to take in a baby squirrel for me. My cat had corned the little baby at the base of a pine tree in the backyard but luckily hadn't hurt it. I had remembered reading about Beth and her squirrel rescue/rehab center several years back. So I went online and found the article and her number. She was such a pleasure to talk too and said she would take my little baby girl right away. I figured if she was nice enough to take her in, that I should at least bring it to her. And what a pleasant surprise that was. I was just in awe of her set up and all her cages full of little baby squirrels at different stages of growth. Beth was so nice to take the time to show me around and give me a brief history of each and every one of her little fur babies. The place was so clean too. I knew my little squirrley was at the right place immediately! And she even had pens set up for permanent residence of several squirrels who had health issues and wouldn't be able to make it back into the wild. Beth is most amazing in her love for these wonderful little creatures, and I certainly know where to go if I find another little orphaned squirrel.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

A year or so ago my Terrier found a injured young squirrel that had fallen from a pine tree and landed, thankfully, on the other side of the fence. Earlier in the day I had noticed him climbing high in the tree and he appeared quite uncoordinated. It turns out he had been wounded and his back legs were paralyzed. Imagine, here I am with this brave little squirrel who has zero chance of survival in the wild without all of his limbs. Additionally, I have a Terrier that would just love to "finish the job". I called one of the squirrel local rescue organizations, but most do not take paralyzed squirrels. They referred me to Wildlife Rehabilitation in Currie, NC. I called and Beth Havener not only agreed to take him, she offered to come to Wilmington to get him. Instead, I drove him to her place and am so glad I got to see it. She has built an addition to her house to house all of the rescued animals. She knew just what to do for him, fed him, cleaned his wound and has taken care of him ever since. Remember--he will presumably live for several years. That day she had baby and adult rabbits and squirrels in residence.. They were in spacious cages, with lots of natural light and all the comforts of nature she could provide them. The place is spotless and the work is never ending. I am so impressed that someone cares enough for wild creatures they are willing to devote their life to caring for such needy ones. Her commitment is astounding.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist with cleaning cages and feeding animals, assist with data entry. Volunteer