Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
1234.705885
Write A Review
December 21, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

more

December 21, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

I've been a supporter of WCN since before it was WCN -- when the executive director of WCN was raising funds for just one conservationist. I've watched WCN come into being and grow into an outstanding organization. I love the fact that each conservationist added to the "WCN family" must be actively working on changing community/governmental attitudes toward their research animal thereby greatly improving the likelihood of the continued existence of their research subject. I appreciate knowing exactly what my money is being used for, and I very much appreciate knowing if I designate a specific project then 100% of my donation goes to that program. I know of very few situations where 100% of a donation actually goes to the desired program. I urge you to check out WCN and join us!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This is a fabulous organization -- they do enormous due diligence before supporting the top researchers who are in the field with animals. I've been on a trip with Prof. Claudio Sillero (one of the projects and scientists supported by WCN) -- tracking and observing the rare Ethiopian wolf. I was impressed by his knowledge, his team and the work they are able to accomplish to sustain, protect, educate and share learning on this remarkable animal. I've also been to the annual meeting in San Francisco -- one impressive presentation after another by impressive and serious academicians and scientists. A non-profit that warrants serious consideration and support.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 4, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 4, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

It is my pleasure to tell you why my husband Bruce and I are so grateful we found WCN. We were looking for an umbrella organization which only included community based conservation of truly endangered animals where the local people would be appreciated for their vital link to the wildlife and benefit from the conservation efforts as well. In order to keep administration costs very low, WCN has a loyal and large volunteer staff which is always praised at events large and small. WCN has a very efficient organization but can also help the donors feel like members of the family.

Being community based, the conservationists facilitate a lot of change by example, not by telling the local people what to do. There are thorough updates from each partner at least twice a year in person and as often as each month in writing. For example, we just heard that Niassa Lion in Mozambique has had such success with their living fencing that instead of importing new material for more fencing, they are able to harvest from their existing fences the material for new. That is the kind of info we appreciate. If we designate which conservationist we want to receive our donation, 100% of the money goes to that effort and the transfer fee is paid by WCN. It doesn't get any better than that.

Not only can we meet with the partners at least once a year and get to know them but there are opportunities to visit them in the field. Bruce and I visited Painted Dog Conservation in Zimbabwe. There we got to track the dogs with their staff and explore their Visitors Center which is a work of art and a splendid tool for education about and appreciation for the dogs by the local people and all other visitors.

WCN gives the conservationists time together at the time of the annual EXPO so they may share their challenges and accomplishments. The partners also have valuable workshops with experts in finance, grant writing, making presentations and other vital topics.

Because we know their integrity, professionalism and dedication to wild animals, wild places and the nearby local people, we trust WCN. We are comfortable leaving the funds in our trust to their care after we are gone and we know that we will be making the kind of difference that matters for years to come. Imagine finding an organization that can warrant this confidence and can prompt this glowing letter. Wildlife Conservation Network is a shining star.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 22, 2013

more

March 22, 2013

I have been involved with WCN for several years now. What a great experience to help raise awareness and meet others who have a similar passion. Charlie, Kelly and the staff are some of the hardest working people i have ever met.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

incredible organization.....to donate here is to sleep easy.
pick your species, get involved

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 20, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 20, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I only met the WCN team for the first time earlier this year. I have spend quite some time looking at their projects and their approach to conservation. I am very excited about what WCN does!! They provide a link (which has been badly missing) between a number of landmark conservation projects and the general public. I like how they support the conservationists in marketing, fund raising, donor relations, PR, all topics which are extremely important but which are a huge distraction from the field work. Based on that mode, WCN has built trustful relationships with some of the most important conservationists out there. Congratulations to building such a terrific organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've attended several WCN conferences and found them deeply informative and inspiring. I love the way WCN locates activists working in the field for defined species. Of course, as a board member of SaveNature.Org, I know that saving ecosystems is equally or perhaps even more important, but having champions for individual species is, I think, part of the solution, and WCN does it well.
My white paper on endangered species is available here
(www.animalsandsociety.org/store/product/endangered-species)

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I love this non-profit. I completely believe in their vision of helping conservationists who are on the ground making an impact in the local environment. And I love that they use volunteers and donated resources (and some financial help directly from Charlie) to cover so many of the admin needs so donor money can go directly into the field. I liked them so much that I've just started volunteering for them myself.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 1, 2013

more

January 1, 2013

Not convinced about projects and impacts. It seems little impacts for too much money..

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This organization funnels money to selected affiliates involved with protecting specific endangered animals. I became aware of them in connection with Save The Elephants, a UK-based organization fighting poaching in Africa. Save The Elephants' website advises that donations from Americans can be made to Wildlife Conservation Network via the Network For Good website, and that "Elephants" should be filled in on the "Designation" field on the website donation form. My rating for them is based mostly on my knowledge about Save The Elephants, plus Charity Navigator's 4-star rating (as of this date). I have had no personal interaction with either organization. I made a small donation for now and will base future support on my future interaction with them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers