Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
96 Reviews
1234.958335
| 1 ... 4 5 6 |
Write A Review
April 10, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I live not far from the Wildlife Center of Virginia. Over the years, I have taken injured animals there. However I have only become a supporter and follower of the Center since January 2011 when I started watching the Norfolk Botanical Eagles when eggs were laid, the mother was killed and the eaglets were moved to the WCV. For hours, I have been 1 of thousands of people of all ages from toddlers to the elderly who have watched the Cam on a daily basis, "talked" to staff on the blog on a regular basis about the eagles and then when it became time for their release, cried along with 1500 people in person and over 10,000 on line at the release. The folks at the Center realized that we - the people- had developed an interest in wildlife as a result of this and have provided a major education to young, middle aged and older folks. They have teachers who have begun to educate their children about wildlife as a result of the Cams. Members of the staff from the President to the vets, to the outreach coordinators take time each day to talk on the blogs with us - to update on critters that they have the care of. And they let us know the good - and the bad. Each donation that I have sent, no matter how small has received a letter from the Center and it is signed by the President Ed Clark - that is not something that is the norm these days. I am proud to be an Eagle Peep and a member of Critter Nation and wholeheartedly recommend the Wildlife Center of Virginia for this award.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 10, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

The Wildlife Center of Virginia has changed my life in many ways. I am a very Sr. Citizen and have always given to various charities. BUT, once I learned about WCV, the work that it does with nature and its surroundings, all critters large and small, and the environment as well, my respect for this organization became top rate. ALL people associated with WCV are caring, hard working and their goal is to save every type of wildlife critter that comes to the hospital. There are very few hospitals that take care of all kinds of wildlife and WCV is one of the top in the world. Our President, Ed Clark, is a worldwide invited speaker on behalf of these critters and the care and treatment that has to be given. He also is passionate about ammunition being used carelessly on animals that should be given a life to live. Ed and his Staff have brought the Wildlife Center of Virginia to be the foremost wildlife animal hospital in the world. So that Staff can be trained worldwide, it employs veterinarians from all parts of the globe, so they can go back to their countries and make vast improvements in their own systems. WCV also takes in aspiring students, so that they can further their own educations in the veterinary fields of their choice. WCV is always improving its equipment and animal housing, and relies solely on donations - no Government funding whatsoever. Every improvement that is made is constructed with the environment in mind - all wood, fencing, ground cover, food, surrounding vegetation, etc. I heartly endorse the Wildlife Center of Virginia in Waynesboro, Virginia as one of the top ten GREEN 2012 GREAT NONPROFITS. Thank you.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 10, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I became aware of the Wildlife Center in 2011 when the three young eagles from the nest at Norfolk Botanical Gardens had to be removed due to the death of the mother eagle. The center organized a cam to allow fans to observe the care and growth of the eagles. Soon, I became aware of the many other types of wildlife that the center cares for. The dedication, experience and expertise of the staff of doctors, re-habbers, interns and others is top notch. Watching their web site day by day, conversing with the staff via the blog and reading updates on some of the patients is a wonderful view into another world. I have learned so much. One of the moderators of the blog occasionally holds "class" in the evening on a particular critter. These are well attended. Informative articles that inform of such concerns as lead poisoning and how to lessen the danger are posted on the web site. I find that I value the opinion of the Wildlife Center whenever a conservation issue arises. They are internationally known as the place for wildlife vets to get training. They make you want to move to the area so you can volunteer there. The eagles have all been released, but many of us will keep coming back and keep donating as well to support the necessary and terrific work they do there. Thank you.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I first heard of the Wildlife Center of Virginia in April 2011 when the eaglets from a nest at Norfolk Botanical Gardens were taken there after their mother was killed by an airplane. I first became involved because I had watched those eaglets be hatched but continued to vist the WCV site after they had all been released back into the wild where they belonged. I soon became financially involved as well as emotionally involved with their mission, to treat injured wildlife, but also to educate. I am over 50 years old and I can not have imagined what I have learned in the last year. The personnel are all wonderful, caring people, not only to the wildlife but also to their students, who range in age from 8 to 80.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 10, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

WCV, an internationally revered teaching veterinary hospital, treats over 25,000 wild animals each year, rehabs and releases those critters that can successfully survive their second chance at life, and provides a permanent home as education animals for many injured and unreleasable. Through their outreach programs in schools and to the public, and through their moderated Critter Cam and website articles, WCV teaches about wild animals - of all species -- to hundreds of thousands of people of all ages in Virginia, the US, and internationally. WCV trains wildlife veterinarians from the US and around the world, trains wildlife rehabbers, and trains animal lovers how to better appreciate and respect wildlife and their habitats. WCV participates in national and international wildlife studies and projects, and has impacted wildlife legislation. WCV is a leader in wildlife education. I support their work through my learning and sharing, through my ever-growing appreciation for the wonderment of nature and its critters, and through my small and heartfelt financial contributions. My life has been changed by, and I have learned much from, WCV's expert staff and from the animals they serve so well.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I became involved with the Wildlife Center of Virginia almost a year ago, when by a great misfortune the female eagle of Norfolk Botanical Gardens was struck by an airplane and killed. The 3 young eaglets were removed from the nest and taken to the WCV to be raised and eventually released back in to the wild. There were alot of followers of the WVEC eagle cam and alot of followers of the eaglets. The WCV jumped into action to bring us a live feed, so we could continue to follow the adventures of these eaglets. I have a soft spot for eagles and all wildlife in general. President, Ed Clark and the Staff at the WCV, began to show and teach not only myself but everyone watching and on the moderated blog about the challenges and issues faced by all raptors. When the Critter Cam was born it introduced not only us (those following the eagles) but classrooms to other patients and educational ambassadors at the wildlife center. I have learned so much being involved with this stellar organization. I have great respect and admiration for the entire team at the WCV for the work they do. I also support other organizations here in NY, but I am forever going to be an avid supporter of the wildlife center. They are a world class teaching hospital and an assett to all wildlife. I wish I had known about this organization years ago. It's amazing how the tragic loss of Lady Legacy has brought so many people together and has formed friendships betwen people we have never met (yet).

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I would like to nominate The Wildlife Center of Virginia For the Green 2012 award. I first became aware to this non-profit organization while watching the Norfolk Botanical Garden Eagles. In April of 2011 Mom Norfolk was killed by an airplane while eating. The 3 eaglets were then taken to The Wildlife Center of Virginia. Mr. Edward Clark is President of this organization. The organization is a hospital for native wildlife & they teach the world to care about & to care for wildlife & the enviroment. A large group who were watching these eaglets then turned to WCV for anything that had to do with these eaglets from the day they received them until now. We are the Eagle Nation. Now since WVC has taken us under their wings we call ourselves the Critter Nation. We all have learned so much about all wildlife & how it coinsides with the enviroment from them. This is through the blog & the viewing of the cam. They are a truly amazing group of people. The best ever!!! They go way out of their way to teach us & there are also school children from classes that watch who WCV is very attentive to. I truly love this organization

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 10, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

WOW...I am not too good at really being able to tell teh story of Wildlife Center of Virginia because The Wildlife Center of Virginia (WCV) is almost daily taking on new challenges in caring for the wildlife critters who are fortunate enough to be brought to WVC after an incident that in most incidences threatens their very lives.I came to WVC when a female eagle was killed by an airplane in Nofolk Va. Momma Norfolk,as we called her and her spouse had aglorious nest containing 3 egaletts. After Federal and state and local wildlife agencies met, the decision was made to transport the 3 eagletts to WVC. Oh My Goodness. The staff was online in no time at all,keeping us informed about the eagletts. Day after day many thousands of folks worldwide were online with bated breath keeping the babies in our prayers. As days turned into weeks I began to be aware of teh tremendous graciousness of the entire staff, beginning with Director Ed Clark and his vets,many of whom come to WVC from around the world. When I send in my first small donation I had a thank you signed personally by Director Clark. This practice of personally thanking every donor is a regular practice for Mr.Clark's 30 plus years as director of WVC. Wvc operates on a very limited number of staff and many precious volunteers and our beloved MODs,our moderators. Oh my what we learn daily from the cam and web site. Hundreds of children in classes around teh USa attend classes given by WVC staff. Thousands of hours are spent by WVC staff keeping Bald Eagles,Falcons,Hawks,baby brids,critters like squirrels,opossoms ,turtles,fox,deer,and my favorites many Owls. WVC uses every dollar for WVC,they send us the annual report. I know thta every dollar I send to WVC is so appreciated and used for their important work,be it fish for Loons,or rats for eagles or simply birdseed for many avians who have come to WCV. Please consider adding WVC to your very important list of non -profits. Personally I worked for many decades for non -profits and WVC is the ONLY totally non -profit that truly ,to me meets the designation of non-profit.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

The Wildlife Center of Virginia is an incredible organization that ably and with care and compassion serves a wide variety of wildlife and its adoring fans. Their website, critter cam, FB page and outreach efforts serve to educate and inform in friendly and accessible ways. Their staff and cam moderators are first rate. The critters--eagles, hawks, falcons, bears, vultures, oppossums and the like are so very lucky to have their expert care but so are we! I've always been a conservationist and wildlife lover but what I have learned is amazing! Thank you WCV! I'm honored to be a donor!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 10, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I would like to nominate The Wildlife Center of Virginia For the Green 2012 award. I became aware to this non-profit organization while watching the Norfolk Eagles in February of 2011. In April of 2011 Mom Norfolk was killed by an airplane while eating. The 3 eaglets were then taken to The Wildlife Center of Virginia. Mr. Edward Clark is the head of this organization. The organization is a hospital for native wildlife & they teach the world to care about & to care for wildlife & the enviroment. A large group who were watching these eaglets then turned to WCV for anything that had to do with these eaglets from the day they received them until now. We did call ourselves the Eagle Nation. Now since WVC has taken us under their wings we call ourselves the Critter Nation. We all have learned so much about all wildlife & how it coinsides with the enviroment from them. This is through the blog & the viewing of the cam. They are a truly amazing group of people. The best ever!!! They go way out of their way to teach us & there are also school children from classes that watch who WCV is very attentive to. I could go on forever. Please check them out. Thank you so much for your time & attention. Sincerely, Cheryl Fritz- Colorado Springs, CO

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers