Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
96 Reviews
1234.958335
Write A Review
April 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

If you want to find a group of people that goes above and beyond the average organization, The Wildlife Center of Virginia is the one! They are a "force of nature" that totally lives up to their motto of "teaching others to care for and about the environment". Last year the total of injured, ailing, or orphaned animals was 2,644. In the midst of all of this they offer an educational, web-based outreach for numerous schools and the general public around the world. Their staff if not only dedicated, but they give of themselves in a very personal and humorous manner on the moderated discussion. If you "tune in" to the discussion, you too can quickly become addicted to the lively education you can receive.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I became acquainted with WCV in 2011 when three eaglets lost their mother and were moved to the Center to ensure their survival as it would have been extremely difficult for the father eagle to feed and care for these eaglets by himself. The center raised these eaglets until they were released back into the wild last year. During the process of following the progress of the eaglets, I have have found myself learing so much - not only about eagles, but all wildlife. This organization and its staff are totally devoted to the care and well being of all wildlife and to educating the public on issues effecting wildlife. To see these animals under treatment at the center recover and go back to the life they are supposed to live in the wild is so rewarding.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

wildlife education and seeing the good work they are doing in caring for injured and sick wildlife. To see many of these animals under treatment at the center recover, be rehabilitated and go back to the life they are supposed to live in the wild is so rewarding.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Care of the orphaned eaglets introduced me to this organization and prompted my initial gift, but I have continued to follow their cam and blog because of the amazing education I have received and continue to receive.

What would you tell others about this organization?

I have told many people about WCV and suggested that they join in this educational process.

April 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The Wildlife Center of Virginia has done a wonderful job of fulfilling it's mission over the year I have been a part of their wonderful community. Through their web cams and moderated discussion, they have taught people from throughout the US and the world about caring for wildlife. Their willingness to share their experience with other groups and organizations is a big part of what makes them such a great nonprofit. I know I care even more for the creatures around me thanks to the WCV.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

I learned of the WCV when the Norfolk Botanical Garden eaglets arrived last year.

What would you tell others about this organization?

A great group of people and a place to donate that you know will use your gift wisely.

April 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Without a doubt, the Wildlife Center of Virginia has more than fulfilled its goal of educating the public about wildlife and has developed a world-wide following of thousands of people, including many classrooms that use the webcams as teaching tools to encourage future generations to be stewards of our environment. Their leadership in teaching the public how to care for our world has undoubtedly made a huge impact on the "green" movement and their effect will be felt for years to come. Each person that watches the webcams, or reads the discussions, or asks a question on the blog, or attends an open house, or adopts a critter is one more person that is not only more aware of our fragile environment, but will go out and teach others to be aware also. I don't think the people at the Wildlife Center have fully realized what an impact they have had, especially in this last year.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The Wildlife Center of Virginia has personally taught me how to examine the way I interact with wildlife in order to preserve and protect it. Perfect example is founder Ed Clark's apple core lesson. I never thought that throwing an apple core or banana peel out of the car window was like baiting an animal to the side of the road with great potential to be injured or killed. Now I share this lesson with as many people as I can. WCV cares for the littlest animals such as snakes, frogs and turtles, to the biggest - bears, deer and eagles - with the same care and concern. Their expertise is shared throughout the country in order to assist other organizations with the same mission. I recently had an opportunity to visit WCV and see behind the scenes. It is an amazing facility! Any injured animal should be so lucky to be treated there and by the devoted staff.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The amazing staff at the Wildlife Center of Virginia not only cares for, rehabilitates and releases rescued wildlife they also provide extensive opportunities for learning to both children and interested adults. My entire family and extended family have learned much about wildlife as a result of exposure to their online information resources. This institution is nothing short of one class act.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Wildlife Center of Virginia is a wonderful place to take injured animals and to visit on open house days. Most animals that are received are healed and released. This organization has given me a new perspective on wildlife! Love it.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Wildlife Center of Virginia is a Non Profit featuring caring for Wildlife, a teaching hospital for future Veterinarians not only in USA but from other countries as well, and provides global education/training. Not only does WCV provide care, they present a Mission statement, offer classes for volunteers, work with schools (all grades), take Educational wildlife to public programs and go to the "nth" degree to maintain the "wild" in wildlife. Nothing is hidden-everything WCV is up front, you can ask questions to which they will answer. Open Houses are provided as well as live "critter cams", history of a patient, facebook, events, chats, etc. WCV is a "team" which is dedicated, caring, and resourceful. I have followed WCV and donated-they always follow up as to how your donation is used or you can specify. They update constantly, "go green" and provide feedback. I have recommended them and folks who have followed up are equally as amazed resulting in additional support and donations. WCV has a solid foundation, continues to build, has the ability to laugh but to be strong in times when injuries to a "critter" might be bleak. The future for wildlife is in good hands at WCV.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

3 eaglets lost the mother eagle due to a bird strike by a jet plane. Even though WCV is a hospital for injured-they accepted the 3 eaglets, provided care, food, and an environment which allowed them to grow. The public was provided a cam to watch the care, given a "moderated chat" to ask the how's and why's as well as the President provided guidance as to procedures. All resulted in watching 3 eaglets grow, learn to fly, and be "normal eagles which were released. The dedication of the entire Staff was amazing as they simulated and built a nest to provide the eagles a natural environment.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

I studied their Mission statement, got to observe via cam, the statement in action, the follow up and how they update, upgrade to maintain and exceed goals needed to stay with rapid pace of environmental changes.

What would you tell others about this organization?

Take advantage of opportunities provided by WCV, ask questions, open your heart and brain to accept all the education provided. You will learn, grow, mature and laugh at the same time. You learn to accept the good, the bad, and see what the future holds.

April 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

IT would be hard to find a place as caring and conservative as the Wildlife Center of Virginia, in Waynesboro, VA. I have visited twice and found them to be among the most highly "green" organizations I have had the pleasure of seeing. They use green materials whenever possible, CAREFULLY monitor use of supplies, yet do what is necessary to care for the "critters" brought to them for rehab. Nothing is wasted at the Center - they even recycle toilet roll and paper towel roll cardboards!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing the release of Bald Eagles, surgery on a Vulture, tours of the Center and the cages and flight pens. I am in awe of what they do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Double their size and staff!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

The death of the "mom" eagle at the Norfolk Botanical Gardens, and the transfer of her three chicks to the Wildlife Center of Virgina to save their lives.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

To give them another piece of medical equipment needed for avian care.

What would you tell others about this organization?

Get involved. Donate. Care.

April 10, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 10, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

The Wildlife Center of Virginia (WVC), a hospital for native wildlife, mission is to teach the world to care about and to care for wildlife and the environment. They demonstrate in countless ways in many and through many formats. I have had the sincere pleasure of meeting most of the staff who are employed at this wonderful organization. They are truly a dedicated and compassionate group. Treating, and rehabilitating native wildife for release back to the wild is what WCV is well known for, and they are stellar. That said, one of the things I most value and appreciate about WCV is their outreach and education. Through the use of critter cams and their online moderated discussion, the WCV has significantly increased the number of people they reach and teach on a daily basis. Through a personal touch and with humor, the message of caring for our wildlife and our environment has been woven into the fabric of many lives, resulting in changed behavior and new "greener" practices. As one viewer stated "I want to let WCV know how much we appreciate them letting us be good friends to one another as we learn about wildlife. I so appreciate being able to learn in a warm, caring, humor-filled, personal attention environment - it makes a HUGE difference. WCV holds a VERY special place in my heart and I am so glad that we have this blog as a place to call home!" Because of WCV, many of us not longer throw our apples cores out the car window, we keep our cats indoors, we move a turtle off the road to the other side--in the direction he was going, and we learn more about how to care for our wildlife and our environment every day. And, we enjoy doing it.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers