Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
96 Reviews
1234.958335
Write A Review
April 12, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

April 12, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

Up until I heard of the WCV last April, I didn't really give deep thought to the birds I see soaring in the air or to possums hit on the road or to even recycling in general. Sure, I'd see the birds in the sky but didn't really care what they were, how they ate, etc. They were living in "their" world and I was living in "my" world. Boy did my thoughts change when WCV rehabbed 3 orphaned eaglets and I would tune into their cam and online blog daily. I can now identify the different birds in the sky and wonder if they have a nest nearby or know they are probably in the area because of food or maybe even migrating. I've become a member of a local non-profit and now enjoy climbing the moutain to watch the various raptors migrate. I've also learned something as simple as NOT to throw an apple core out the car window even though in my eyes, "it is biodegradable". This apple core will draw a mouse onto the road which in turn may draw a hawk or an owl onto the road where their lives are put in danger. I've also learned not to feed bread to ducks and other birds. The bread is just empty calories to them and can cause devastating bone diseases. I've learned that just the smallest amount of lead ingested by raptors can cause lead poisoning and lead to death in a short time. I've also become the recycling monster at home. I now recycle cans, jars, jugs, cardboard, newspapers, plastic bags and anything else that I can find another purpose for other than throwing it in the trash. The education that I've gotten from the WCV has made me a better person to wildlife and the Earth. This valuable education will be passed on to my daughters. If only everyone could learn half as much as what I've learned from the WCV, nature and wildlife would be better off tenfold!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 12, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 12, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

This is one of the very few non-profit organizations to which I donate because of both its mission and its caring. The educational benefits are tremendous and the work they perform far exceeds expectations. It is a most worth cause.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Wildlife Center of Virginia, one of my favorite non-profit organizations. Dedicated staff and personnel have outstanding job of teaching the general public about wildlife, the good side as well as the sad but true side. I am truely proud of my association with WCV and will continue my support.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

April 11, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I became aware of the Wildlife Center of Virginia on April 27, 2011 after the mother eagle at the Norfolk Botanical Gardens was killed by a plane and her three eaglets were removed from the nest and taken to WCV. From day one, the staff at WCV went above and beyond to help everyone understand why the eaglets were removed from the nest and what WCV were doing for them. They built a nest for the eagles and within a few days had a live video cam and moderated chat up and running. They answered many questions and handled criticism with professionalism and compassion. They continually provided updates on the eaglets. Since the eaglets' release, WCV has featured other animals on the critter cam. They provide "Cam in the Classroom" sessions for school children as well as community education programs featuring their education ambassador animals. WCV is honest. They don't share just the "happy" outcomes; they explain why an animal can't be released or has to be euthanized. I have learned so much from WCV and am now more aware of what impact my actions have on wildlife and the environment. I respect and admire each staff member and volunteer at the Wildlife Center of Virginia for their care of all wildlife, great and small.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 11, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I became aware of the amazing Wildlife Center of Virginia last year when the orphaned eagles were transferred there from the Norfolk Botanical Gardens. The WCV took in the eagles, promptly provided live web-cam coverage of their care and a moderated blog to provide "blow-by-blow" coverage of their care and progress. They expanded this web cam to cover other patients and now reach thousands of people around the world with an informative and vastly entertaining education on environmental awareness and wildlife, appealing to fans of all ages. This organization has been an expert on wildlife for many years, training veterinarians and interns from around the world. It is one of the most well-managed and innovative nonprofits I have ever seen, with an openness and accountability for funds received that is rare, with low administrative and fundraising costs. Ed Clark travels throughout the United States and the world providing his expertise wherever needed. The staff has been tireless in welcoming visitors to their facility (I took my granddaughter to an Open House last year - she loved it, too!), keeping us "in the loop" about all the patients, and responding to donations with personal letters of appreciation. All this is done with great good humor, friendliness, and kindness - it's a remarkable place!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

April 11, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I feel like that so much has already been said about the Virginia Wildlife Center but I do agree that the thing which impressed me the most was how they will care for even the most "common" animal whether it be a mouse, skunk, oppossum and many others that many people would feel to be a waste of time, effort and money. All creatures are here for a reason and I am glad that they will try to help them regardless of whether they are "classy" or not. They have shown the greatest "restraint" putting up with the EN's that followed the Norfold eagles when they went under their care. I feel that all of the employees try their very best to keep us "happy" when they have so much more to do at the Center. It has been a pleasure to donate to the Center and help them out how ever I can. I think by just the shear volumn of what we as a group have done with the Chase contest shows how much we all care about their work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

WCV is simply amazing. I don't live anywhere near Virginia, but I donate to them because the work they do impacts the entire country. They save the lives not only of the "sexy" animals like eagles and black bears, but also of critters as small and simple as field mice, blue birds, and box turtles--and each is as important as the other. They have top-class veterinarians and rehabbers, and have recently done a major upgrade to their facilities, enabling them to help even more animals and to do an even better job. They also do a great job of outreach, bringing wild animals into the homes of everyone via their "Critter Cam" program. What a wonderful group of people! :-)

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a donor since 2011. I am impressed with the care and attention to the various species of wildlife cared for at WCV. In most cases this care does lead to successful release. There have been instances where the outcome was sad and the animal was euthanized. However, these instances were few, and not made lightly. WCV staff still care where they cannot cure. The animal was given attention and cared for rather than left to nature's oftentimes unkind role in its demise. This is the true humanity and professionalism so visible at the WCV
I continue to be impressed with the training of students and on-site volunteers – the future generations of wildlife health care professionals. I am pleased with the feedback regarding the usefulness of my contributions. I am gratified that my donations foster the mission of the WCV hospital, the staff and of course the residents. Respectfully Kathryn Lewis

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This place does the most amazing work caring for wildlife. It does not matter what kind of critter it is. If it's hurt, they will heal, rehab and release it. It is people like this that gives us all hope for the future.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

WCV is a wonderful teaching hospital for wildlife. They are a non-profit and rely on donations to continue the great work they do. Everyone at this center are devoted to wildlife They have an amazing out-reach program to teach young and old about wildlife and the challenges they face. From their moderated chat, on-site cams, cam in the classrooms and off-site teaching and training - WCV does a great job bringing attention to wildlife to many!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers