Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
96 Reviews
1234.958335
Write A Review
April 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Wildlife Center of Virginia is the premier wildlife rehabilitation and training hospital in the country! They provide top notch medical and rehabbing services to more than 55,000 wild animals including 200 species of native birds, mammals, reptiles, and amphibians

They have shared the
lessons learned from these cases with some 1.4 million school-children and adults across Virginia and the world.

WVC has trained a corps of wildlife medicine practitioners, including veterinarians, veterinary technicians, and volunteer wildlife rehabilitators. Those who have benefited from the professional training programs offered by the Center may now be found on the cutting-edge of wildlife veterinary medicine around the world.

In 2007, the Wildlife Center received the National Conservation Achievement Award as the Conservation Organization of the Year from the National Wildlife Federation.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been following the Wildlife Center of Virginia for the past year, and now I can't let a day go by without checking in to see how the featured creature is doing. Along the way, I have learned so much and felt so welcome. They supply you with status reports of different patients. They have an "adopt a critter" program where you can follow the care of an educational animal of your choice. They have a moderated blog, where they distribute all kinds of information and answer all kinds of questions. The care of wildlife is a subject that I feel passionate about and this is an organization that remains close to my heart.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The WCV is a wonderful non profit organization. These people are trained and very knowledgeable about what they are doing and how they handle things. I have learned a great deal through watching the Critter Cam. They are very educating about wildlife.When they took in the Norfolk Botanical Gardens trio they had a pretty good idea what they were in for with the thousands of followers. They were so good with us and worked us through the whole process of what would be happening with our trio of Eaglets. Since this people still support them in anyway they can. They are very fantastic group of professionals.. We as followers love them dearly.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I feel that WCV does an outstanding job with wildlife

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Wildlife Center of Virginia is amazing. I came across their website over a year ago. This Center is so caring and so informative. I have learned so much more that I ever expected to just by watching a webcam. They have answered all questions that have been asked, in a professional and courteous manner. Because of this center I try to tell to inform my friends and family the importance of our wildlife and what to do should they come across an injured animal. The Wildlife Center of Virginia is the best !

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The WCV is an amazing group of talented and dedicated people whose actions have saved thousands of wild animals and educated countless numbers of children and adults. The world is a better place for animals and people thanks to the Wildlife Center of Viriginia.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Wildlife Center of Virginia provides medical care for all wildlife and provide training for future veterinarians. Their goal is to mend hurt/damaged/sick animals and release them back into the wild. Last year they saved 3 eagle chicks whose mother was killed by an airplane. Their live web cams are watched by thousands all over the country. This is a wonderful organization and deserves all the support that can be provided.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The wildlife center is a fantastic resource, not only do they serve the medical needs of wildlife, they educate the public.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Educational experiences

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

can't think of any

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

the fact that they are so welcoming to the public, and I admire all the work that they do on a daily basis

Why did you make your donation at this time?

They earned my admiration and respect for all they do

What would you tell others about this organization?

that this is a true gem, that they not only treat sick and injured wildlife, but they educated as well

April 13, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

April 13, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I won’t write about how we came to hear of the Wildlife Center of Virginia (WCV), since you have gotten countless reviews on our beloved Mama Norfolk Eagle’s death in April 2011 and how her 3 eaglets were taken to WCV to grow and fly free. I want to talk about what has happened since then. The main word that keeps coming to mind is a simple one: LOVE. The entire staff of WCV, from top to bottom, extends love, not only to every injured or sick animal that comes their way, but to those thousands of us who have learned to love wildlife as a direct result of being part of their “Critter Cam” and moderated blog. That love has flowed down to each one of us so that now we are an online “family.” A group of us in Texas (TEN—Texas Eagle Nation) were so inspired by the folks at WCV, that when one of our beloved eaglets was hit by a car and returned to WCV for care, we designed t-shirts as a fundraiser so that the funds would go directly to the center to help in her care. We came together from different parts of Texas and had an absolute blast working on this project (we sold over 1200 t-shirts by the way!). We are now lifelong friends and it is a direct result of the Wildlife Center of Virginia’s inspiration in our lives. They do EVERYTHING with great love and joy….it is so obvious the staff loves their jobs, love each other (which is rare in most workplaces), love the animals in their care and most importantly, love releasing those animals back into the wild once they have done their job of healing and rehabbing them. They are inspiring people of all ages through their creative use of social media to learn about and care for all of God’s wonderful creatures, and we are forever grateful.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

In less than one year, I have learned more from the staff and volunteers at Wildlife Center of Virginia about practical ways to respect native wildlife than I can reiterate. I have learned to not throw out apple cores onto roadways and have assimilated other legal and factually-based perspectives regarding the environment and its creatures through the integrity of WCV. Just when it seems my learning is sated, WVC shares more from their wealth of expertise.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers