Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
96 Reviews
1234.958335
| 1 2 3 4 |
Write A Review
April 11, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

April 11, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

It is truly difficult to capture in words the impact the Wildlife Center of Virginia has, as each day adds another piece to a truly compelling puzzle held together by the compassion, care, dedication and outreach that the center provides for and on behalf of wildlife.
Perhaps what I have
embraced the most about the center is recognizing that what they are providing is more than an opportunity to witness things via the internet and from home. It's about always having an open and willing mind that is receptive of the lessons they are trying to instill every day. Whether it be the dangers of lead being used in ammunition, the damage that is done when an animal becomes too comfortable with human contact, or how an action so small as tossing an apple core from a car window, can place the life of an animal in jeopardy.
Moreover it is the foundation upon which individuals can choose to become involved with and incorporate wildlife into their own lives. To that end it is because of the staff at Wildlife Center of Virginia that I have set my education goals towards becoming a communicator and advocate for wildlife. I want to make a difference and to ensure that wildlife which exists today is able to thrive and be protected for many years to come. As well as ensure that the lessons I’ve learned continue to be shared with new audiences. Thus far the pursuit of this has been fostered by the Wildlife Center of Virginia through continued support with my studies while at university, be it help with my course work, expanding on materials or granting an alternative perspective. They have also helped me to make connections within my own community which have allowed for hands on volunteer experience, and a network of opportunities opening that I never thought possible.
Each day it is a sincere privilege to be a part of the online audience which is benefiting from the education and outreach the Wildlife Center of Virginia provides. It is a pleasure to write this review on their behalf as the difference they continue to make in my life is truly extraordinary.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have known about the Wildlife Center of Virginia and the wonderful work they do for over 20 years, since I took a screech owl to them for treatment. The people are passionate, dedicated and well trained. I've been to a couple of their open houses and they are fun and very informative. I wish I could afford to contribute more to their extremely worthy cause.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

WCV cares for sick and injured animals in a humane and professional way. But more than that they educate us through the use of their cams about wildlife and ecology. They use connections to schools to educate children as well as the adults who watch. The community of viewers is very supportive of each other and will spread the message of wildlife care everywhere. Very enjoyable and very educational at the same time. I really appreciate them.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Wildlife Center is a teaching hospital that treats sick and injured wildlife. Since I was introduced to them in April 2011 I have learned so much. I have become so much more aware of the wildlife surrounding me. I have become a monthly contributor. Their objective is to heal and then release every patient that comes to them. They have established a program that gives the public updates on the progression of each patients care and rehab.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Virginia Wildlife Center is such a great place for injured animals of all kinds. Their staff is great and are very informative to those of us who are not professionals. They keep us informed and up to date on all the patients. Ed Clark the founder is a great person and loves his job. That in itself these days are a tribute to all that they do there.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Wildlife Center's mission statement - "teaching others to care for and about the environment" says it all. Whether a high school student, your average adult, someone who cares deeply about wildlife and the environment, someone interested in becoming a wildlife rehabber or a world-class wildlife veterinarian student, the Wildlife Center has something to teach you. And they do it so well and happily, with a great sense of humor as an added bonus. It would be hard to find another organization as committed and passionate about what they do. Thank you Wildlife Center of Virginia for changing my life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Founded in 1982, the Wildlife Center of Virginia has provided quality health care, often on an emergency basis, to more than 59,000 sick, injured, and orphaned wild animals. As a non-profit organization, the Center relies on the generosity of caring individuals. After an adult eagle was killed they rescued 3 eaglets, raised and released them. They added a camera to the facility, and have been teaching young and old alike about caring for all wildlife. Through their good work they have changed the lives of many humans as well as animals.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I have only recently become familiar with the Wildlife Center of Virginia, but find the things I have learned from them, via their fb page, their web cam and blog, to be things that are quickly becoming ingrained habits ,for the betterment of wildlife and their (thus our) environment. Their public outreach programs are excellent, involving you and educating you simulataneously, showing that you can make a difference in so many ways. These things spill over into every aspect of my life, causing me to want to become more actively concerned about our environment. They have truly added joy to my life, awareness to my actions, and have started what I hope will continue to be an everyday learning process about those creatures that inhabit the earth with us; that are so effected by our actions. The folks at the Wildlife Center of Virginia are dedicted, passionate about their work, accessable, and committed to their motto "educating others to care about wildlife". Kudos to their accomplishments, which considers the welfare of the animals first.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I had never heard about the Wildlife Center of Virginia till April 11. Been a fan for a year and I know more about wildlife than I ever knew for 50 plus years. The staff makes you always feel welcomed. Been the twice for the open house and have heard many calls the front desk took. All very POLITE and will to give you information in terms every day people can understand. THANKS FOR ALL YOU DO FOR VIRGINIA'S WILDLIFE!!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 10, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I learned about Wildlife Center of Virginia in 2011 when they took in three eaglets whose mother had been killed. These eaglets had been on a webcam and had a large following. WCV worked very hard to set up a webcam for the many viewers of the eaglets in order to watch them grow. This webcam has morphed into a Critter Cam. This provides an amazing window on the recovery of injured wildlife. What I have learned about WCV during the past year is that they are an extraordinarily caring wildlife teaching hospital. Their staff works to save wildlife as diverse as snakes and bears and falcons (and lots of bunnies). They teach the public about wildlife ("don't throw apple cores out the window of your car. Birds will fly down to eat them and get hit by other cars."). And as a teaching hospital, they train new wildlife vets. Any injured animal is lucky if he or she ends up in the qualified hands of the WCV staff.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers