Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
96 Reviews
1234.958335
| 1 ... 8 9 10 |
Write A Review
April 10, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 10, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

The WCV has strengthened my knowledge of the importance of caring for wildlife through continued efforts of caring for the earth's environment. Through their blog site and informative information they release, I have become a better informed citizen of the dire effects of pollution not only on human life but on wildlife who often suffer the conseequences of the poor choices we as humans make. I have also been impressed by the time and efforts they have made to help children in classrooms to become better environmentalists through their education programs.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 10, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I learned about Wildlife Center of Virginia in 2011 when they took in three eaglets whose mother had been killed. These eaglets had been on a webcam and had a large following. WCV worked very hard to set up a webcam for the many viewers of the eaglets in order to watch them grow. This webcam has morphed into a Critter Cam. This provides an amazing window on the recovery of injured wildlife. What I have learned about WCV during the past year is that they are an extraordinarily caring wildlife teaching hospital. Their staff works to save wildlife as diverse as snakes and bears and falcons (and lots of bunnies). They teach the public about wildlife ("don't throw apple cores out the window of your car. Birds will fly down to eat them and get hit by other cars."). And as a teaching hospital, they train new wildlife vets. Any injured animal is lucky if he or she ends up in the qualified hands of the WCV staff.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 10, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

The Wildlife Center of Virginia has done so much for injured animals and birds. They are a non-profit facility whose main concern is the well being of the wildlife. The best staff, the best leaders, the best educators for this cause. They take the time not only to care for these animals but also to educate the public. I have learned so much from them.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

In addition to being one of the premier wildlife hospitals in the world, the Wildlife Center of Virginia is also teaching the general public, and school children in particular, to care about wildlife and how just some simple changes in things we do can have a positive effect for wildlife. Their "cam in the classroom" project is a huge success and will have a great impact on kids and how they think about not only wildlife in particular, but also the world around them. In the past year, I have learned about so many different animals and have gained a whole new appreciation for even spiders and snakes! The Wildlife Center of Virginia is responsible for this and many other wonderful experiences for so many of us.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

The Wildlife Center of Virginia has to be way up there on the list. I live in California & learned of them when three eaglets had to be removed from a nest in Norfolk Botanical Garden because the female eagle had been killed with a accident with an airplane. The staff at WCV are remarkable in that they are always willing to take the time to explain what is happening with their patients. I am 68 years old & have learned more about wildlife from them in the last year then I have in the whole rest of my life. They do everything with professionalism, dedication, honesty & a sense of humor. Striving daily to improve the lives of their patients. Educating many classrooms through their "Critter Cam" & people like me through their outreach programs. Teaching us all to care about & care for wildlife. I will forever be grateful for them, what they do & what they are all about.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Wildlife Center of Virginia is an absolutely awesome place. They provide top notch veterinary care for Virginia wildlife. Through their web cam I have seen some remarkable healing done there. Not only do they provide this care for critters, they are a teaching hospital, training vets and rehabilitators from around the world. Another of their goals is to educate the public on the care of wildlife and our environment. For the past year they have been better able to reach more people through their web cam and chat that runs along beside it. All in all an outstanding organization!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

The Wildlife Center of Virginia is a world renouned teaching and Wildlife Rehabilitation center. By watching their "Critter Cam", I have learned more about wildlife in the last two years than I had in a lifetime. They always keep us informed of the patients' progress and also will give us the not so good news when it happens. We cheer for their victories and mourn their losses. They have taught me, as well as many others that things happen in nature (as well as in life) that we can't control. We must learn to accept it all--good or bad. I have also learned to be patient because Nature does what it does on its timetable. Not ours. Because of their philosophies and teachings, I have become a more knowledgable and grateful person.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 10, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

The Wildlife Center of Virginia has been caring for injured and orphaned wild animals for 30 years. Recently, the center has has invited classrooms to become more involved in learning about wildlife via their new live stream of various recovering patients. Many classrooms participate in the blog on a regular basis. WCV reaches out other ways as well: seminars, classes, open houses, lectures and demonstrations all developed to teach people to care for and appreciate their wildlife...and while the teaching goes on...the center is treating, rehabbing and releasing 100's of animals back to their wild places

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 10, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

The Wildlife Center of Virginia (WCV) is a unique and support-worthy organization for a whole host of reasons. Not only do they provide excellent care for injured wildlife of all types, but they also act as veterinary teaching facility of the highest quality, all under the exceptional leadership of Dr. Dave McRuer. Their public relations and education activities in recent years have furthermore been tremendously innovative and successful, have reached unprecendented numbers of people and taught so many about wildlife and its natural state and protection. I have worked closely with WCV in an advisory capacity for the past two years, using falconry techniques to condition raptors prior to release back to the wild. During this time, I have had the pleasure of witnessing WCV's team in action, tending to injuries, teaching vets, rehabbing wildlife as well as educating the public.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 10, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

We run a group home for 19 special needs children and one of the highlights of their day is watching the Wildlife Center of Virginia's live Critter Cam, which features various and different wildlife species in rehabilitation for eventual release back into their native habitat. There is also associated with this cam a wonderful moderated blog which features patient backgrounds, classroom participation, interviews with staff, interaction with others worldwide who care for our world and the wildlife which inhabit it. This remarkable organization has taught our children to care for our environment and those species which live together in it more than any other source, and has given them hope for the future. No greater good can be asked for a green world.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers