Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
96 Reviews
1234.958335
| 1 ... 7 8 910 |
Write A Review
April 10, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I have only recently become familiar with the Wildlife Center of Virginia, but find the things I have learned from them, via their fb page, their web cam and blog, to be things that are quickly becoming ingrained habits ,for the betterment of wildlife and their (thus our) environment. Their public outreach programs are excellent, involving you and educating you simulataneously, showing that you can make a difference in so many ways. These things spill over into every aspect of my life, causing me to want to become more actively concerned about our environment. They have truly added joy to my life, awareness to my actions, and have started what I hope will continue to be an everyday learning process about those creatures that inhabit the earth with us; that are so effected by our actions. The folks at the Wildlife Center of Virginia are dedicted, passionate about their work, accessable, and committed to their motto "educating others to care about wildlife". Kudos to their accomplishments, which considers the welfare of the animals first.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 10, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I became aware of the Wildlife Center in 2011 when the three young eagles from the nest at Norfolk Botanical Gardens had to be removed due to the death of the mother eagle. The center organized a cam to allow fans to observe the care and growth of the eagles. Soon, I became aware of the many other types of wildlife that the center cares for. The dedication, experience and expertise of the staff of doctors, re-habbers, interns and others is top notch. Watching their web site day by day, conversing with the staff via the blog and reading updates on some of the patients is a wonderful view into another world. I have learned so much. One of the moderators of the blog occasionally holds "class" in the evening on a particular critter. These are well attended. Informative articles that inform of such concerns as lead poisoning and how to lessen the danger are posted on the web site. I find that I value the opinion of the Wildlife Center whenever a conservation issue arises. They are internationally known as the place for wildlife vets to get training. They make you want to move to the area so you can volunteer there. The eagles have all been released, but many of us will keep coming back and keep donating as well to support the necessary and terrific work they do there. Thank you.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I first heard of the Wildlife Center of Virginia in April 2011 when the eaglets from a nest at Norfolk Botanical Gardens were taken there after their mother was killed by an airplane. I first became involved because I had watched those eaglets be hatched but continued to vist the WCV site after they had all been released back into the wild where they belonged. I soon became financially involved as well as emotionally involved with their mission, to treat injured wildlife, but also to educate. I am over 50 years old and I can not have imagined what I have learned in the last year. The personnel are all wonderful, caring people, not only to the wildlife but also to their students, who range in age from 8 to 80.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 10, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

WCV, an internationally revered teaching veterinary hospital, treats over 25,000 wild animals each year, rehabs and releases those critters that can successfully survive their second chance at life, and provides a permanent home as education animals for many injured and unreleasable. Through their outreach programs in schools and to the public, and through their moderated Critter Cam and website articles, WCV teaches about wild animals - of all species -- to hundreds of thousands of people of all ages in Virginia, the US, and internationally. WCV trains wildlife veterinarians from the US and around the world, trains wildlife rehabbers, and trains animal lovers how to better appreciate and respect wildlife and their habitats. WCV participates in national and international wildlife studies and projects, and has impacted wildlife legislation. WCV is a leader in wildlife education. I support their work through my learning and sharing, through my ever-growing appreciation for the wonderment of nature and its critters, and through my small and heartfelt financial contributions. My life has been changed by, and I have learned much from, WCV's expert staff and from the animals they serve so well.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I had never heard about the Wildlife Center of Virginia till April 11. Been a fan for a year and I know more about wildlife than I ever knew for 50 plus years. The staff makes you always feel welcomed. Been the twice for the open house and have heard many calls the front desk took. All very POLITE and will to give you information in terms every day people can understand. THANKS FOR ALL YOU DO FOR VIRGINIA'S WILDLIFE!!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I became involved with the Wildlife Center of Virginia almost a year ago, when by a great misfortune the female eagle of Norfolk Botanical Gardens was struck by an airplane and killed. The 3 young eaglets were removed from the nest and taken to the WCV to be raised and eventually released back in to the wild. There were alot of followers of the WVEC eagle cam and alot of followers of the eaglets. The WCV jumped into action to bring us a live feed, so we could continue to follow the adventures of these eaglets. I have a soft spot for eagles and all wildlife in general. President, Ed Clark and the Staff at the WCV, began to show and teach not only myself but everyone watching and on the moderated blog about the challenges and issues faced by all raptors. When the Critter Cam was born it introduced not only us (those following the eagles) but classrooms to other patients and educational ambassadors at the wildlife center. I have learned so much being involved with this stellar organization. I have great respect and admiration for the entire team at the WCV for the work they do. I also support other organizations here in NY, but I am forever going to be an avid supporter of the wildlife center. They are a world class teaching hospital and an assett to all wildlife. I wish I had known about this organization years ago. It's amazing how the tragic loss of Lady Legacy has brought so many people together and has formed friendships betwen people we have never met (yet).

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I would like to nominate The Wildlife Center of Virginia For the Green 2012 award. I first became aware to this non-profit organization while watching the Norfolk Botanical Garden Eagles. In April of 2011 Mom Norfolk was killed by an airplane while eating. The 3 eaglets were then taken to The Wildlife Center of Virginia. Mr. Edward Clark is President of this organization. The organization is a hospital for native wildlife & they teach the world to care about & to care for wildlife & the enviroment. A large group who were watching these eaglets then turned to WCV for anything that had to do with these eaglets from the day they received them until now. We are the Eagle Nation. Now since WVC has taken us under their wings we call ourselves the Critter Nation. We all have learned so much about all wildlife & how it coinsides with the enviroment from them. This is through the blog & the viewing of the cam. They are a truly amazing group of people. The best ever!!! They go way out of their way to teach us & there are also school children from classes that watch who WCV is very attentive to. I truly love this organization

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 10, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

WOW...I am not too good at really being able to tell teh story of Wildlife Center of Virginia because The Wildlife Center of Virginia (WCV) is almost daily taking on new challenges in caring for the wildlife critters who are fortunate enough to be brought to WVC after an incident that in most incidences threatens their very lives.I came to WVC when a female eagle was killed by an airplane in Nofolk Va. Momma Norfolk,as we called her and her spouse had aglorious nest containing 3 egaletts. After Federal and state and local wildlife agencies met, the decision was made to transport the 3 eagletts to WVC. Oh My Goodness. The staff was online in no time at all,keeping us informed about the eagletts. Day after day many thousands of folks worldwide were online with bated breath keeping the babies in our prayers. As days turned into weeks I began to be aware of teh tremendous graciousness of the entire staff, beginning with Director Ed Clark and his vets,many of whom come to WVC from around the world. When I send in my first small donation I had a thank you signed personally by Director Clark. This practice of personally thanking every donor is a regular practice for Mr.Clark's 30 plus years as director of WVC. Wvc operates on a very limited number of staff and many precious volunteers and our beloved MODs,our moderators. Oh my what we learn daily from the cam and web site. Hundreds of children in classes around teh USa attend classes given by WVC staff. Thousands of hours are spent by WVC staff keeping Bald Eagles,Falcons,Hawks,baby brids,critters like squirrels,opossoms ,turtles,fox,deer,and my favorites many Owls. WVC uses every dollar for WVC,they send us the annual report. I know thta every dollar I send to WVC is so appreciated and used for their important work,be it fish for Loons,or rats for eagles or simply birdseed for many avians who have come to WCV. Please consider adding WVC to your very important list of non -profits. Personally I worked for many decades for non -profits and WVC is the ONLY totally non -profit that truly ,to me meets the designation of non-profit.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

The Wildlife Center of Virginia is an incredible organization that ably and with care and compassion serves a wide variety of wildlife and its adoring fans. Their website, critter cam, FB page and outreach efforts serve to educate and inform in friendly and accessible ways. Their staff and cam moderators are first rate. The critters--eagles, hawks, falcons, bears, vultures, oppossums and the like are so very lucky to have their expert care but so are we! I've always been a conservationist and wildlife lover but what I have learned is amazing! Thank you WCV! I'm honored to be a donor!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 10, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I would like to nominate The Wildlife Center of Virginia For the Green 2012 award. I became aware to this non-profit organization while watching the Norfolk Eagles in February of 2011. In April of 2011 Mom Norfolk was killed by an airplane while eating. The 3 eaglets were then taken to The Wildlife Center of Virginia. Mr. Edward Clark is the head of this organization. The organization is a hospital for native wildlife & they teach the world to care about & to care for wildlife & the enviroment. A large group who were watching these eaglets then turned to WCV for anything that had to do with these eaglets from the day they received them until now. We did call ourselves the Eagle Nation. Now since WVC has taken us under their wings we call ourselves the Critter Nation. We all have learned so much about all wildlife & how it coinsides with the enviroment from them. This is through the blog & the viewing of the cam. They are a truly amazing group of people. The best ever!!! They go way out of their way to teach us & there are also school children from classes that watch who WCV is very attentive to. I could go on forever. Please check them out. Thank you so much for your time & attention. Sincerely, Cheryl Fritz- Colorado Springs, CO

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers