Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
96 Reviews
1234.958335
Write A Review
April 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The amazing staff at the Wildlife Center of Virginia not only cares for, rehabilitates and releases rescued wildlife they also provide extensive opportunities for learning to both children and interested adults. My entire family and extended family have learned much about wildlife as a result of exposure to their online information resources. This institution is nothing short of one class act.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Virginia Wildlife Center is such a great place for injured animals of all kinds. Their staff is great and are very informative to those of us who are not professionals. They keep us informed and up to date on all the patients. Ed Clark the founder is a great person and loves his job. That in itself these days are a tribute to all that they do there.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Wildlife Center's mission statement - "teaching others to care for and about the environment" says it all. Whether a high school student, your average adult, someone who cares deeply about wildlife and the environment, someone interested in becoming a wildlife rehabber or a world-class wildlife veterinarian student, the Wildlife Center has something to teach you. And they do it so well and happily, with a great sense of humor as an added bonus. It would be hard to find another organization as committed and passionate about what they do. Thank you Wildlife Center of Virginia for changing my life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Wildlife Center of Virginia is a wonderful place to take injured animals and to visit on open house days. Most animals that are received are healed and released. This organization has given me a new perspective on wildlife! Love it.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Wildlife Center of Virginia is a Non Profit featuring caring for Wildlife, a teaching hospital for future Veterinarians not only in USA but from other countries as well, and provides global education/training. Not only does WCV provide care, they present a Mission statement, offer classes for volunteers, work with schools (all grades), take Educational wildlife to public programs and go to the "nth" degree to maintain the "wild" in wildlife. Nothing is hidden-everything WCV is up front, you can ask questions to which they will answer. Open Houses are provided as well as live "critter cams", history of a patient, facebook, events, chats, etc. WCV is a "team" which is dedicated, caring, and resourceful. I have followed WCV and donated-they always follow up as to how your donation is used or you can specify. They update constantly, "go green" and provide feedback. I have recommended them and folks who have followed up are equally as amazed resulting in additional support and donations. WCV has a solid foundation, continues to build, has the ability to laugh but to be strong in times when injuries to a "critter" might be bleak. The future for wildlife is in good hands at WCV.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

3 eaglets lost the mother eagle due to a bird strike by a jet plane. Even though WCV is a hospital for injured-they accepted the 3 eaglets, provided care, food, and an environment which allowed them to grow. The public was provided a cam to watch the care, given a "moderated chat" to ask the how's and why's as well as the President provided guidance as to procedures. All resulted in watching 3 eaglets grow, learn to fly, and be "normal eagles which were released. The dedication of the entire Staff was amazing as they simulated and built a nest to provide the eagles a natural environment.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

I studied their Mission statement, got to observe via cam, the statement in action, the follow up and how they update, upgrade to maintain and exceed goals needed to stay with rapid pace of environmental changes.

What would you tell others about this organization?

Take advantage of opportunities provided by WCV, ask questions, open your heart and brain to accept all the education provided. You will learn, grow, mature and laugh at the same time. You learn to accept the good, the bad, and see what the future holds.

April 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Founded in 1982, the Wildlife Center of Virginia has provided quality health care, often on an emergency basis, to more than 59,000 sick, injured, and orphaned wild animals. As a non-profit organization, the Center relies on the generosity of caring individuals. After an adult eagle was killed they rescued 3 eaglets, raised and released them. They added a camera to the facility, and have been teaching young and old alike about caring for all wildlife. Through their good work they have changed the lives of many humans as well as animals.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

IT would be hard to find a place as caring and conservative as the Wildlife Center of Virginia, in Waynesboro, VA. I have visited twice and found them to be among the most highly "green" organizations I have had the pleasure of seeing. They use green materials whenever possible, CAREFULLY monitor use of supplies, yet do what is necessary to care for the "critters" brought to them for rehab. Nothing is wasted at the Center - they even recycle toilet roll and paper towel roll cardboards!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing the release of Bald Eagles, surgery on a Vulture, tours of the Center and the cages and flight pens. I am in awe of what they do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Double their size and staff!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

The death of the "mom" eagle at the Norfolk Botanical Gardens, and the transfer of her three chicks to the Wildlife Center of Virgina to save their lives.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

To give them another piece of medical equipment needed for avian care.

What would you tell others about this organization?

Get involved. Donate. Care.

April 10, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 10, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

The Wildlife Center of Virginia (WVC), a hospital for native wildlife, mission is to teach the world to care about and to care for wildlife and the environment. They demonstrate in countless ways in many and through many formats. I have had the sincere pleasure of meeting most of the staff who are employed at this wonderful organization. They are truly a dedicated and compassionate group. Treating, and rehabilitating native wildife for release back to the wild is what WCV is well known for, and they are stellar. That said, one of the things I most value and appreciate about WCV is their outreach and education. Through the use of critter cams and their online moderated discussion, the WCV has significantly increased the number of people they reach and teach on a daily basis. Through a personal touch and with humor, the message of caring for our wildlife and our environment has been woven into the fabric of many lives, resulting in changed behavior and new "greener" practices. As one viewer stated "I want to let WCV know how much we appreciate them letting us be good friends to one another as we learn about wildlife. I so appreciate being able to learn in a warm, caring, humor-filled, personal attention environment - it makes a HUGE difference. WCV holds a VERY special place in my heart and I am so glad that we have this blog as a place to call home!" Because of WCV, many of us not longer throw our apples cores out the car window, we keep our cats indoors, we move a turtle off the road to the other side--in the direction he was going, and we learn more about how to care for our wildlife and our environment every day. And, we enjoy doing it.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I live not far from the Wildlife Center of Virginia. Over the years, I have taken injured animals there. However I have only become a supporter and follower of the Center since January 2011 when I started watching the Norfolk Botanical Eagles when eggs were laid, the mother was killed and the eaglets were moved to the WCV. For hours, I have been 1 of thousands of people of all ages from toddlers to the elderly who have watched the Cam on a daily basis, "talked" to staff on the blog on a regular basis about the eagles and then when it became time for their release, cried along with 1500 people in person and over 10,000 on line at the release. The folks at the Center realized that we - the people- had developed an interest in wildlife as a result of this and have provided a major education to young, middle aged and older folks. They have teachers who have begun to educate their children about wildlife as a result of the Cams. Members of the staff from the President to the vets, to the outreach coordinators take time each day to talk on the blogs with us - to update on critters that they have the care of. And they let us know the good - and the bad. Each donation that I have sent, no matter how small has received a letter from the Center and it is signed by the President Ed Clark - that is not something that is the norm these days. I am proud to be an Eagle Peep and a member of Critter Nation and wholeheartedly recommend the Wildlife Center of Virginia for this award.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 10, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

The Wildlife Center of Virginia has changed my life in many ways. I am a very Sr. Citizen and have always given to various charities. BUT, once I learned about WCV, the work that it does with nature and its surroundings, all critters large and small, and the environment as well, my respect for this organization became top rate. ALL people associated with WCV are caring, hard working and their goal is to save every type of wildlife critter that comes to the hospital. There are very few hospitals that take care of all kinds of wildlife and WCV is one of the top in the world. Our President, Ed Clark, is a worldwide invited speaker on behalf of these critters and the care and treatment that has to be given. He also is passionate about ammunition being used carelessly on animals that should be given a life to live. Ed and his Staff have brought the Wildlife Center of Virginia to be the foremost wildlife animal hospital in the world. So that Staff can be trained worldwide, it employs veterinarians from all parts of the globe, so they can go back to their countries and make vast improvements in their own systems. WCV also takes in aspiring students, so that they can further their own educations in the veterinary fields of their choice. WCV is always improving its equipment and animal housing, and relies solely on donations - no Government funding whatsoever. Every improvement that is made is constructed with the environment in mind - all wood, fencing, ground cover, food, surrounding vegetation, etc. I heartly endorse the Wildlife Center of Virginia in Waynesboro, Virginia as one of the top ten GREEN 2012 GREAT NONPROFITS. Thank you.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers