Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
96 Reviews
1234.958335
| 1 ... 3 4 5...10 |
Write A Review
April 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The WCV is an amazing group of talented and dedicated people whose actions have saved thousands of wild animals and educated countless numbers of children and adults. The world is a better place for animals and people thanks to the Wildlife Center of Viriginia.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Wildlife Center of Virginia, also known as WCV, is a phenomenal, caring, educational animal hospital known throughout the world for its expertize and willingness to cater to the wild animal/bird kingdom, and its human followers. A hugely worthy organization. I have learned so very much about our creatures sharing this earth with us, and use the knowledge in my daily life in so many different ways in hope of making life better.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Wildlife Center of Virginia provides medical care for all wildlife and provide training for future veterinarians. Their goal is to mend hurt/damaged/sick animals and release them back into the wild. Last year they saved 3 eagle chicks whose mother was killed by an airplane. Their live web cams are watched by thousands all over the country. This is a wonderful organization and deserves all the support that can be provided.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The wildlife center is a fantastic resource, not only do they serve the medical needs of wildlife, they educate the public.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Educational experiences

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

can't think of any

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

the fact that they are so welcoming to the public, and I admire all the work that they do on a daily basis

Why did you make your donation at this time?

They earned my admiration and respect for all they do

What would you tell others about this organization?

that this is a true gem, that they not only treat sick and injured wildlife, but they educated as well

April 13, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

April 13, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I won’t write about how we came to hear of the Wildlife Center of Virginia (WCV), since you have gotten countless reviews on our beloved Mama Norfolk Eagle’s death in April 2011 and how her 3 eaglets were taken to WCV to grow and fly free. I want to talk about what has happened since then. The main word that keeps coming to mind is a simple one: LOVE. The entire staff of WCV, from top to bottom, extends love, not only to every injured or sick animal that comes their way, but to those thousands of us who have learned to love wildlife as a direct result of being part of their “Critter Cam” and moderated blog. That love has flowed down to each one of us so that now we are an online “family.” A group of us in Texas (TEN—Texas Eagle Nation) were so inspired by the folks at WCV, that when one of our beloved eaglets was hit by a car and returned to WCV for care, we designed t-shirts as a fundraiser so that the funds would go directly to the center to help in her care. We came together from different parts of Texas and had an absolute blast working on this project (we sold over 1200 t-shirts by the way!). We are now lifelong friends and it is a direct result of the Wildlife Center of Virginia’s inspiration in our lives. They do EVERYTHING with great love and joy….it is so obvious the staff loves their jobs, love each other (which is rare in most workplaces), love the animals in their care and most importantly, love releasing those animals back into the wild once they have done their job of healing and rehabbing them. They are inspiring people of all ages through their creative use of social media to learn about and care for all of God’s wonderful creatures, and we are forever grateful.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I started watching the WCV cam when the Norfolk eaglets arrived after their mother was killed by an airplane. I now watch everyday and have learned so much about wildlife, their care and how each one of us can help. Ths staff is wonderful and have made the center the best in this country. I now know how important is the way we live our lives . Our foolishness does hurt wildlife and the Center is the reason I now live my life more wildlife friendly.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

In less than one year, I have learned more from the staff and volunteers at Wildlife Center of Virginia about practical ways to respect native wildlife than I can reiterate. I have learned to not throw out apple cores onto roadways and have assimilated other legal and factually-based perspectives regarding the environment and its creatures through the integrity of WCV. Just when it seems my learning is sated, WVC shares more from their wealth of expertise.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 13, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 13, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

WCV is the most remarkable site I have ever been on. The entire staff is so professional, caring, and is also very in tune with their fans. Not enough can be said about WCV, they are just #1 in my book and I am sure in a lot of other books too.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 12, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

April 12, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

Up until I heard of the WCV last April, I didn't really give deep thought to the birds I see soaring in the air or to possums hit on the road or to even recycling in general. Sure, I'd see the birds in the sky but didn't really care what they were, how they ate, etc. They were living in "their" world and I was living in "my" world. Boy did my thoughts change when WCV rehabbed 3 orphaned eaglets and I would tune into their cam and online blog daily. I can now identify the different birds in the sky and wonder if they have a nest nearby or know they are probably in the area because of food or maybe even migrating. I've become a member of a local non-profit and now enjoy climbing the moutain to watch the various raptors migrate. I've also learned something as simple as NOT to throw an apple core out the car window even though in my eyes, "it is biodegradable". This apple core will draw a mouse onto the road which in turn may draw a hawk or an owl onto the road where their lives are put in danger. I've also learned not to feed bread to ducks and other birds. The bread is just empty calories to them and can cause devastating bone diseases. I've learned that just the smallest amount of lead ingested by raptors can cause lead poisoning and lead to death in a short time. I've also become the recycling monster at home. I now recycle cans, jars, jugs, cardboard, newspapers, plastic bags and anything else that I can find another purpose for other than throwing it in the trash. The education that I've gotten from the WCV has made me a better person to wildlife and the Earth. This valuable education will be passed on to my daughters. If only everyone could learn half as much as what I've learned from the WCV, nature and wildlife would be better off tenfold!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 12, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 12, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

The Wildlife Center of Virginia entered my life last April 2011 when they welcomed the three eaglets from NBG and nurtured them so they could be released back to the wild. My life has been changed; my outlook on wildlife has been expanded and I know I'm a better person because of it. They do such amazing work for any animal that happens to come their way needing help. I've learned so much and have shared my knowledge with anyone who will listen (and sometimes even with those who don't!) It's been a wonderful educational experience; one that I know will continue. I am so grateful for this whole experience. I can't imagine my day not starting without checking in with the WCV.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers