Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
96 Reviews
1234.958335
Write A Review
December 27, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 6, 2013

This organization tirelessly rehabilitates Virginia wildlife. If an animal is not releasable, it is given lifetime sanctuary and may become an education animal. I like the fact that they educate the... more

December 27, 2013

This organization cares for injured native Virginia wildlife. If an animal can't released into the wild it is given a home and cared for at the center for the remainder of its natural life. The Center also educates people about Virginia wildlife and also all interested parties to attend wildlife releases and view the goings on at the Center through critter cams. When you donate, you are thanked promptly and made to feel like your donation is important, no matter how large or small it is.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013

This organization tirelessly rehabilitates Virginia wildlife. If an animal is not releasable, it is given lifetime sanctuary and may become an education animal. I like the fact that they educate the public about Virginia wildlife and their habitats. I intend to make at least donation later this year to this organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 27, 2013

more

December 27, 2013

Great organizaton with caring volunteers. They are very responsible with donated money, as they feel that is still the donor's money. The donor has simply entrusted it to the Center. I like that concept. They also have numerous updates on their animals and critter cams, so people can see how the animals are being cared for.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 5, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
December 5, 2013

The Wildlife Center of Virginia exemplifies the wonderful work being done with sick and injured wildlife,making it their mission to return these animals back into their home territory.
Teaching Critter Nation, students in the classrooms, and all those watching the Critter Cams is a valuable
tool. The Center tells it like it is with openness, honesty, and sincerity, with a little bit of humor thrown in.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

This organization is outstanding in all aspects. Their staff is sincere, forthright, humorous and genuinely believe in and model their mission of teaching the world to care about wildlife and the environment in all they do.

I have learned so much and also have so much fun watching the
critter cams at this facility and interacting with a world wide audience through their moderated discussion. I am honored to support them

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This non profit is outstanding and leads others around the world in research and rehabilitation of orphanded or injured animals. They strive to return as many animals as possible back into the wild as they should be. They are a leader of programs adapted around the world and have interns form other countries as well as local to learn and go out and spread their knowledge and wisdom. The employees there are all the best and try to make each individual case patient their top priority and learn from each case.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 27, 2012

more

April 27, 2012

The Wildlife Center of Virginia probably started out as all wildlife rehab centers did - with a small site staffed by a small number of dedicated and unpaid volunteers working together to save the lives of all wildlife in their area. I have personally worked for a nonprofit organization in the past and have found myself working longer that my old paying job, sneaking money from my own wallet for ...extra expenses, and feeling really fulfilled in doing so. The WCV last year became something special to a lot of people all over the world when they took in the Norfork eaglets after their mother was killed by a airplane nearby. They were pretty big eaglets, but not old enough to fly or fend for themselves. One parent is not enough to feed and take care of 3 eaglets. Little did the WCV know what they were getting into! The following of this family was worldwide through a cam installed at their nest and watched lovingly, watched to learn, and watched to see this family produce another brood of eagles that would soon leave the nest. They soon found out, thought, how much they were appreciated as thousands of people contacted them wanting to know how they were doing, did NV have enough to eat today, were the threesome making progress toward flying, and how and when were they to be set free. It became obvious the best course of action was to set up a cam at the Wildlife Center of Virginia so these answers could not ony be told, but seen. The WCV became famous overnight, and dug deeper in their pockets to bring these eaglets to a web channel for everyone to see. It would be nice to believe that all good work reeps rewards, but we all know that is not true. The rewards came from individuals, from the airline company who took responsibility for killing Mom Norfork and raised money to build and fund new flight pens for these 3 eaglets, and from local companies. I don't believe the Center particularly wanted this publicity, but it did lead to fundraisers and finally $20,000 from the Chase Rare Life Award. With this reward and the increase in size of the Center, they were able to buy better equipment to treat these various animals, to be more successful, to teach more vetinary interns, and the list goes on. With all this new equipment and abilities to treat wildlife, their success rate and reputation rose to the highest limits. They are now, I would say, the pioneer in their field and this increase in education has now made them the "go-to" center for help with difficult cases and more wildlife being saved all over the world. At first they did not want nor ask for this status, but soon learned it gave them more and more to give to the wildlife we share his earth with.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

rehabilitating my life after my daughter, Michele, died in 2008 at age 35.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like to see more interaction with Ed Clark and his expertise on the website. He is the founder and President of the Wildlife Center of Virginia.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

Surfing the web.

April 27, 2012

more

April 27, 2012

WCV accepts all patients and treats them with the best medical services and with dignity. These patients are also treated irregardless of their ability to "pay." The center does whatever it takes to heal these patients and also has the ultimate goal of returning these wild animals to their homes. I have to say, prior to being aware of the work WCV did, I really did not give much thought to what happened to our wild friends when they were sick or injured. My outlook on the world around me was greatly enlarged because of coming to know the work they do. They were performing this service, long before the arrival of Buddy and then his siblings which brought them into the spotlight for thousands of people around the world. I would just like to take this opportunity to thank them on behalf of their "patients" that don't speak.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2012

more

April 27, 2012

The WCV is on my list of places to visit during one of their open houses. I got hooked after watching them care for the 3 Norfolk eaglets last year. Also their care and updates of all kinds of different animals is phenominal. Also, watching them take care of NX again after being struck by a vehicle, is awesome. The falcons, bears, hawks and all the updates on many other animals shows how much they care and love wildlife. They do a wonderful job. Becky

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The first time I heard of WCV was when they were given the 3 orphaned eaglets (Mother was killed by an airplane strike) from the Norfolk Botanical Garden’s nest. They went out of their way to accommodate the thousands of viewers by setting up a “Pen Cam” within a few short days so we could continue to watch “our babies” grow and thrive.
Since that time, I have learned of all the wonderful programs they have to teach others – especially school children who will be the future wildlife ambassadors – how to care and love wildlife and respect nature and her many moods.
They don’t just “care” for wildlife and release those they have nursed back to health – they are setting corner-stones for the future survival of wildlife.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 26, 2012

more

April 26, 2012

I have only learned of WCV from the internet and the eagle cam located at Norfolk Botanical Gardens. However, the staff who educate us on their blog and the most caring, devoted individuals who have dedicated their lives to saving wildlife. The number of lives that have been saved is staggering. Ed Clark, the president of WCV, has gathered the best possible staff to pursue the mission, and their hospital has become world renowned. I believe that in the last year, WCV has helped to create an entire online world of wildlife lovers who care about the environment and are attempting to make the world a better place. They deserve as much recognition and support as they can get. My greatest dream is to someday visit their facility.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers