Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
January 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I did a project in Alaska with Wilderness Volunteers and it was outstanding. We built a trail in the backcountry. I loved the people on the team and the week we spent working together.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

My wife and I have been on 2 trips with this organization, one cleaning up illegal campsites in the Sierra Nevada, and the other repairing and improving a trail in Glacier N.P. Both were well-organized and the 10 or 12 volunteers on each trip a good group of people who did a lot of good work in a short (4 days, plus 1 free day) time. Backpacked in to the Sierra, but had a USFS pack outfit bring in tools, food, and kitchen stuff, which was nice. We all took turns with camp chores (cooking, cleaning, hauling water, etc), which were organized by our volunteer leaders, so that worked out well. Liked Glacier because we hiked out to worksite everyday, but could enjoy hot showers a short walk from our campground. In both cases it was clear that the rangers we worked with were very appreciative of our volunteer assistance.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 5, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

Have done several trips with this organization in a few different states. Hoping to do a trip in Hawaii next! It's a great way to see new places and meet new people without the $ it would take to do it on your own. The work is hard but satisfying and at the end of the week you leave with a with a sense that you did something important to help our public lands. The trip leaders I've worked with so far have been entertaining and informative and the office staff (Dave/Debbie) have been helpful and accommodating when I've had issues.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've done several of these trips / work projects. I have been rewarded by good clean fun, hard word, and new friendships. My only complaint about this organization is the main office coodinator Deb. truly not a nice person. Truly a phony in many ways. She is the main reason why I stopped participating with WV and have decided to donate my time and energy to other ventures!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

January 31, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

January 31, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I have been going on WV trips for more than five years, first as a volunteer and now as a trip leader. They offer more than fifty projects a year across the US, including backcountry restoration, trail maintenance, invasive species removal, etc. The projects are very rewarding, in beautiful places, with interesting people, and very affordable. Oh yeah...the food is remarkably good. If you are interested in an outstanding and meaningful wilderness experience, you should check out WV.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7v3G6gYh8fs Volunteer