Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
1234.823535
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

As an avid supporter of organizations attempting to protect our severely shrinking wildlife populations, I am seriously impressed by the WildCat Conservation Legal Aid Society. I found their organization listed as a resource by Canadian Broadcasting Corporation's David Suzuki for his program "The American Tiger", which was released in 2012 as part of his series called "The Nature of Things" I have found his work to be quite compelling and therefore looked up this organization. WCCLAS is the most serious professional organization that I have found to date to deal with the legal protection of wild cats and the public education of their plight.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

just got back from south africa. i'm so glad Wildcat Conservation Legal Aid Society exists. we need to continue to protect these amazing animals.
i'm glad i'm a part of this organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

just try to get the word out more!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I attended a number of presentation delivered by this organization and they were more illustrative and informative than numerous books and movies on the same subject

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more


1 previous review
August 19, 2011

My only experience with this org is through their Journal, which I contributed to. As you can see the Journal is a serious and comprehensive publication, featuring expert and well researched articles... more

October 24, 2013

WCCLAS is a competent and committed wildcat advocacy organisation. Many people underestimate the importance of animal advocacy, preferring to support more visible and tangible wildlife sanctuaries. But cruelty to animals and poor conservation is always a failure of policy, and advocacy works at a policy level to improve the lives of animals. You can save dozens of animals in a sanctuary, but by changing policies for the better, you can save thousands.
And make no mistake, it is exhausting and time consuming work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

perhaps get more active on social media and Internet marketing of the goals of WCCLAS

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 19, 2011

My only experience with this org is through their Journal, which I contributed to. As you can see the Journal is a serious and comprehensive publication, featuring expert and well researched articles relevant to wildcats.
Lisa Ann was efficient and helpful, and dedicated to her cause..

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

their Journal.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make more use of social networks to spread the message and drive relevant traffic to the WCCLAS website

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

It is with great pleasure that I write this review on behalf of WildCat Conservation Legal Aid Society. I am honored to lend my professional experience as a volunteer advisor to assist in the development of their future programs and services. The CEO is smart, personable, inventive, objective, humorous and humble; these traits are also reflective of the organization. A truly positive advocacy force in the field of big cat conservation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue their growth

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I am happy to endorse the work and mission of WCCLAS. Their contribution to conservation thru education and legal advocacy is a significant one. The information provided on the website and in the Journals is a trusted source of truth in a sea of misinformation. And, as an animal rescue volunteer, I’m especially interested in WCCLAS’s new initiative on prohibiting caged, confined or canned hunts of big cats. The impact of this work could do so much to reduce exploitation and relieve suffering right here in the U.S. Four paws up for more success in the future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

This past July I attended the Law Library of Congress, Power Lunch Presentation – America’s Captive Big Cats given by Lisa Tekancic, Esq., the pres/ceo of WildCat Conservation Legal Aid Society. The presentation defined the various issues related to breeding, possession, trade and conservation along with the associated laws and the problems with enforcement at the state and federal levels. Ms. Tekancic made the presentation interesting through her compassion, objectivity, intelligence and humor. All these traits are necessary to lead WCCLAS and further its mission.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more


1 previous review
August 30, 2011

I am currently working on my third article for the WCCLAS Journal and have been really impressed with the awareness raising work of this comparatively young organisation. The Journal is freely availa... more

October 15, 2013

It is an honour to once again write in support of the WildCat Conservation Legal Aid Society (WCCLAS) as one of the truly great nonprofit organizations. Since my last review WCCLAS has gone from strength to strength, highlights of which include:

Raising significant awareness of the issues
concerning private ownership of big cats in captivity in America through documentary appearances and lectures;

Involvement of WCCLAS volunteer staff in a potentially global project to help conserve the world's few remaining wild tigers;

Confirmation by a leading global tiger conservation partnership that WCCLAS volunteer submissions provided a 'first class analysis' of the issues facing the world's few remaining wild tigers;

The launch of an innovative new WCCLAS initiative to prohibit caged, confined or canned hunting of big cats; and

Significant involvement by WCCLAS volunteer staff in the discovery of the true and alarming extent of the lion bone trade from South Africa to South East Asia.

The above is clear evidence that WCCLAS continues to epitomize the best qualities of a what a true and legitimate nonprofit organization should be.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A - This organization stands out as an example of the level of professionalism and integirty that can usefully be brought to the field of wildcat conservation.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 30, 2011

I am currently working on my third article for the WCCLAS Journal and have been really impressed with the awareness raising work of this comparatively young organisation. The Journal is freely available to view online and the WCCLAS website is also regularly updated with news and developments as regards the issues facing the world's 36 wild cats, both in the wild and in captivity.

Few people realise that there are barely 3,000 tigers and 16,000 lions left in the wild. The tiger could be extinct in the wild in 10-20 years yet this is also not generally known. The WCCLAS represents a breath of fresh air in the wild cat conservation movement in that it gives a voice to a broad cross section of cat conservationists who may not otherwise have been published simply because they don't have MSc and / or Phd after their name. Does this mean the Journal is of lesser quality than a peer reviewed wildlife oriented Journal? Not a bit of it. The WCCLAS Journal is sensible and professional in terms of content and complements the scientific journals perfectly. WCCLAS is exactly what the cat conservation field needed and came along at just the right time, when the world's 36 species of wild cats need all the friends they can get. Highly relevant and highly recommended.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

that the publication of my articles has got me noticed as someone who can legitimately be of use in the field of wild cat conservation from a legal standpoint, ie. by suggesting ways that wild cat range states can improve their wildlife protection laws alongside the scientist conservationists' efforts in the field.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

pump significant extra funds and resources into it so WCCLAS staff and / or representatives could prepare submissions for and attend the international wildlife conservation conferences where the main decisions are made as regards wild cat protection.

October 14, 2013

more


1 previous review
August 18, 2011

I am so proud to serve on the board of directors for the WildCat Conservation Legal Aid Society (WCCLAS). My fellow board members and our volunteer staff are all creative, innovative and experts in t... more

October 14, 2013

I am honored to once again write a review in support of the fabulous wildcat advocacy work and related programs being done by WildCat Conservation Legal Aid Society. A truly gifted group of volunteer professionals who are striving to make WCCLAS the best in providing objective research articles and reports, educational programs, and legal reform. The staff continues their work on one of our most challenging initiatives~our U.S. captive wildcat population database, Project Sabu, which we hope to launch in 2014. I am delighted to work with the staff and am always pleased when presented with new ideas and concepts to address the issues involving captive and wild cats.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None other than to see them continue grow...

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 18, 2011

I am so proud to serve on the board of directors for the WildCat Conservation Legal Aid Society (WCCLAS). My fellow board members and our volunteer staff are all creative, innovative and experts in their respective fields. Everyone generously donates their time and resources and is dedicated to their roles within the organization in order for WCCLAS to further its mission. From educating the public and enhancing the welfare of all wildcats through research and by engaging the legal system is performed professionally, objectively and compassionately.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Contributing to the growth of a young and passionate organization driven by true altruism that gives back not only to the global human community but our shared environment by protecting one of nature’s phenomenal creatures: the wildcats, has given my life a new perspective, meaning and purpose.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

WildCat Conservation Legal Aid Society has a wonderful team of volunteer professionals who mainly work part-time. We all enjoy our work and time spent together building WCCLAS' reputation as the "go-to" wildcat organization for objective, well-researched and accurate information. We receive emails and telephone inquires from individuals, students at all levels, news and media outlets, as well as other NGO's on a variety of wildcat issues. Our CEO will take the time to speak with folks directly and follow-up with specialized written reports. This part of our work is not readily seen, however, we are here and always willing assist with wildcat research.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None; only to see the organization grow.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers