Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
1234.444445
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a regular weekly volunteer for the Wild Bird Fund for a year, and I am so grateful that this place exists to help injured wildlife. Injured birds arrive in every day, and each one is cared for and given the best medical attention. Just recently a Brant Goose was brought in with a badly damaged leg, and thanks to the skilled veterinarians at the Wild Bird Fund he was operated on, survived, and was able to be released back to the wild.

I have also been lucky enough to attend bird releases both in Central Park and around New York. Last week I released a pigeon that had come in with a damaged foot, and watching him fly away and then landing on his healed foot was one of the most rewarding experiences of volunteering with the Bird Fund.

A great organization that really puts the animals first.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add more centers so that more birds could be accommodated.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I began volunteering with an informative orientation session - there were eleven of us there
varying in age from seniors to a high school student. The session was highly informative and
inspiring, from New York's situation as a major flyover to the WBFs role in caring (and
releasing)
injured and ill birds and small animals. While we were there several people came in with injured birds.
I have been there numrous times now, and that has always been the case. Referrals have consistently been made by the Central Park Conservancy, Animal Care and Control, and the Audubon Society just to name a few - they know they can rely on the Center's professionalism. Last week someone came in from Long Island City with a bird that had been shot with a bb gun and a salesperson from Third Avenue arrived with an injured Woodcock thatd he had found huddled under a construction overhang. The care is gentle, professional,and impressive and is often used as a
teaching opportunity. Representatives from the Center visit schools and programs for young people, including The New York Historical Society education center for children. It also encourages young volunteers to gain certificates and and develop an enduring commitment to caring for wildlife.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

want them to be able to afford a larger staff as they are the only rehab center in New York and treat over 1,000 birds and animals a year. They are a new organization and are working wonders with a small permanent staff and a large number of committed volunteers. They need donations, they put them to good use.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
May 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

If there is a bird whisperer Rita McMahon is it !!! She is a devoted to Wildlife Rescue and is truly compassionate about saving lives. I have experienced her expertise hands on and her loyalty to the birds and her establishment . This is what drew me in to become a Wildlife Rehabilitator and volunteer at the Wild Bird Fund. She is also a wonderful teacher and is very patient. This energy resinates throughout the center with lovely volunteers that care about all the patients and running the facility as a whole. We all work together and try to create a peaceful healing environment for all the patients. I truly support this organization and will take time out from my busy day as a Celebrity & Fashion Make Up Artist to come and help Rita at the Rehabilitation Center. She has also saved my pet Doves leg with her maticulous leg splinting and medical attention. She is my Hero!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
May 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Wild Bird Fund is a wonderful place to work. I've been a volunteer for two years.

Wild birds and other animals, usually sick and injured and in very bad shape, are brought in for treatment from all over New York City, including the outer boroughs. Especially during the spring and fall
we receive many birds that have been injured flying into windows while migrating through NYC, as we’re on the Atlantic flyway, and Central Park is a nice place for avian R&R.

We treat lots of baby birds, songbirds, waterfowl large and small, birds of prey, squirrels, opossums and many others.

The staff is dedicated to healing these animals, works long and hard to rehabilitate them, and always hopes to return them to the wild or find adopters for individuals that can’t survive on their own.


More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Out of all the centers I investigated to volunteer at, the WBF impressed me as the most well-organized, clean, and professional. Since starting there I've only had that impression confirmed. Not every animal that's brought in makes it - that is, unfortunately, the reality of how badly-off many of the animals they receive are. But every single one of them receives a quality of care that most professional veterinary clinics would be hard-pressed to provide, care that gives them a chance they simply wouldn't have had otherwise. I'm amazed at what they do, and encourage you to check them out for yourself!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The recent one-star review printed here was appalling. The comments were distorted, misdirected, misperceived and totally inaccurate. Has the author ever heard of checking sources? Has the author spent any time at the WBF Center to see first-hand what goes on there? More significant: the author’s self-righteous tone speaks deep volumes about him/her—not the organization.

Way before the dedicated WBF Rehab Center existed, I had a strikingly positive experience with the founder, who returned my phone call to reassure me about a duck family found in my local community garden (they were collected and released in the North Lake in Central Park). Her simple gesture of returning a phone call from a concerned stranger set the stage for what has become a commanding influence in the city’s birding and small animal community.

It is due to her astonishing and powerful commitment to healing wild birds and small animals, that has attracted so many talented, exceptional, dedicated and like-minded people to the WBF Center for Rehabilitation and Education.

With all due modesty, I am one of them. My contribution however, is upstairs in the reception area, the perfect location to witness the myriad people clamoring to get the small, broken creatures they find in the city the attention they need. To a person, they are distraught by the animals’ distress and simultaneously relieved to have ‘found’ the WBF. “How long have you been here?” they ask. “Thank God we found you.”

One of my tasks at the front desk is to tell people what we’re about (healing/helping animals in pain). And what happens to the animals they bring in (they’re examined, medically treated, fed, cleaned, cared for and returned to their natural habitats if possible, or euthanized if necessary). No animal at the Center is treated haphazardly or without great care, forethought and compassion. I have witnessed this time and time again. And I have witnessed the gratitude of the people who find the animals and bring them in, eagerly, breathlessly with great relief—time and time again.

The dedicated Center is only one-year-old, just about to start its second year. The growth has been phenomenal. People are learning about us and from us. They bring their children in to learn about birds and small animals in group activities the Center organizes. The Center holds lectures and short workshops on various aspects of animal care. Bird-watching and photography sessions are regularly held in Central Park. Volunteers sign-up by the dozens to learn about birds and how to care for them or to just be around other people who care, who contribute and want to help heal wild creatures who can’t help themselves.

I am getting so much more than I’m giving to the Wild Bird Fund Rehab Center, and I am proud to be a part of it. And, by-the-way, that young person referred to in the review that has so incensed me, is more talented, competent, conscientious, compassionate, intelligent, mature and wise than any six people three times her age. I can only hope I’ll be around when she becomes the remarkable veterinarian she is destined to be.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 7, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 7, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

As a wildlife rehabilitator and a volunteer with the WBF, I would like to respond to the two posts from January 21 and January 22, 2013, respectively.

I was present when the sick bird with lead poisoning was brought to the center at closing and remember the case quite well. Sadly, the
patient died. Sadly, the patient had lead poisoning. But it did not die from lack of care.

The pigeon presented with severe neurological symptoms as well as dehydration and was not in stable condition. The first step in treating any sick or injured animal is to stabilize the patient with supportive care: first you give fluids to correct life-threatening dehydration, then, if emaciated and starving, you administer basic, easy to digest, enteral foods. Then, and only when the bird is hydrated and stable, can you treat an illness like lead poisoning.

The next morning the bird was re-evaluated and determined to be stable enough for blood work. After a high lead level in the blood was identified, we started treatment with DMSA (dimercaptosuccinic acid). This is an agent that chemically binds to the lead so it can be flushed out of the system. However, the treatment is very rough on the patient’s body, particularly the kidneys. Such treatment can only be started when a bird is hydrated because the poisons have to be flushed from the system. Otherwise the very medicine that could save the patient will kill it.
Being a Good Samaritan for a sick animal is a noble calling. We are grateful that people like you exist in this city. We know all too well the trials and tribulations that patients and their caregivers go through before finding us and getting help. Sadly all too often, too much time has passed before a patient can get to us and then there is little we can do to turn the corner on a rapidly deteriorating case.

Regarding the other patient case mentioned on this site: to perform euthanasia, two people are required to sign off on a medical chart before that decision is made. It is never an easy, or lightly made decision. At least one person involved in the euthanasia must be a state or federally licensed rehabilitator.

If a patient displays symptoms consistent with Paramyxovirus (PMV), we take the case very, very seriously. We warn the rescuer of the possibility that the bird may never recover enough to go back to the wild. And then we go above and beyond, testing for lead and treating with antibiotics to cover the alternate possibilities of lead poisoning or meningitis. A viral disease like PMV is contagious, often deadly, and is associated with a very poor quality of life. So euthanasia is often the only humane alternative. I had a bird I was fostering die of PMV in my hands; it was a slow and wretchedly painful death. I was too hopeful for a recovery to consider a humane means for ending her suffering; I kept thinking she would pull through. To this day I regret that decision.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 21, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
January 21, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I rescued a pigeon from the back alley of my building. He could not stand up and appeared to be ill. I took him to the Animal Medical Center on York Avenue, but they refused to treat him. I was given the name of the Wild Bird Fund Rehabilitation Center on Columbus Avenue. The pigeon and I were welcomed by who I thought was a very intelligent and knowledgable expert on the ailments of birds named Zhong. She took the sick pigeon in her hand, which seemed to comfort him and talked to me while holding him. I was gratified to see that she did not put on gloves while holding him. She prescribed treatments for him and I left him in her care. I learned a couple of days later that the pigeon had died from lead poisoning. Apparently, they neglected to test him for lead poisoning for almost 24 hours and as a result he was not given the proper medicine until too late. The Wild Bird Fund seems to be good at treating certain ailments, but a desperately sick bird, fighting for his life, needed to be tested immediately and given the right medicine without delay.

P.S. It is incomprehensible to me why people have such an aversion to pigeons, who are intelligent and lovely creatures and in World War II saved thousands of lives by their extraordinary ability to carry messages. New York City would be a colder place without them.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My work as a volunteer with The Wild Bird Fund (WBF) began in March 2012, a few weeks before they moved into their new home on Columbus Avenue. I was between jobs, so had plenty of free time, and they needed help organizing a few items for their annual fundraiser. As someone who works in project management, often including events, it was a natural fit. But, oh so much more fun than my real job! I was amazed and honored to be working alongside all of the people who waltzed through the door to help. They gave up valuable time and resources to lend a hand, donate money or items - and yet still found the time to care for the animals and ensure that every cage was clean, no dose of medication was missed, and all mouths were fed.
That exhilarating momentum did not wear off, rather with every week that has passed since the fundraiser and the subsequent opening of the WBF center, I watch as operational processes continue to become more streamlined and well defined, volunteers become more capable and confident in their tasks and responsibilities. Our rehabilitators and veterinary technicians too are excelling in their jobs providing top-notch medical care for the animals and becoming more adept at handling the enormous number of patients we receive. Even with their long hours and limited free time they are actively participating in educational opportunities, learning through courses and hand-on experience alongside the veterinarians at Animal General and The Center for Avian and Exotic Medicine.
As for me, within 6 weeks after the fundraiser I was back at work and the new WBF center had opened. While the majority of my free time has evaporated, I still manage to carve out a few hours a week to volunteer at the center. The best I can do right now is to be a member of the Wild Bird Fund and to proudly support the efforts of those who spend day-in-and-day-out caring for and treating the wildlife of NYC.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 3, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 3, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I’ve volunteered for the WBF for nearly two years now. And—seriously—that I keep going back is a testament to the quality of work the WBF does and the impact it has, because I am congenitally averse to wasting my time and intensely committed to the well-being of animals.

I generally work
reception. It’s deeply moving to meet the people who bring us hurt, sick, or orphaned animals, frequently via bus and subway from the outer edges of the city. Before this office opened, there was nowhere to go with these animals unless you could find and afford a vet who would treat them. People are so grateful to find us.

The number of animals that come through the front door is staggering. I would estimate that there are never fewer than 100 animals in residence, and, during migrations and the spring birthing season, up to 250. During those times the place is packed with volunteers who hand-feed babies and the seriously ill and make sure the animals in cages have food, water, a clean place to recover, and exercise.

The volunteers at the WBF are just as committed to the well-being of the animals in our care as the people who bring them to us. The center could not exist without the volunteers, because so far it can only afford to pay a few part-time “vet techs.” Even the animal rehabbers, who are licensed, are volunteers. Fundraising is of critical importance, because we are not yet over the hump that guarantees our continued existence. And the city needs the WBF desperately if we are going to take responsibility for the well-being of our wildlife.

Whenever it’s possible, the animals are returned to the wild, as close as possible to where they were found. Just as you would imagine, returning a bird to the wild is a moving and uplifting experience, whether a hummingbird or hawk, a pigeon or a swan. When release is not possible because the animal can’t survive in the wild, it’s placed in the amazing network of sanctuaries around the tri-state area.

One such bird was Elvis the Canada goose. Elvis ruled the roost, so to speak, around the center until he had a sanctuary to go to upstate and a ride to get there. Another favorite was Ernest the brain-damaged pheasant. What a sweetie! Usually we are careful to avoid getting the animals too comfortable around humans, but since Ernest was not being returned to the wild, it was okay to make a bit of a fuss about him as he strolled around the center.

There are dozens, hundreds of stories about animals the WBF has helped. Please give as much as you can to ensure the continued existence of this critical resource to New York City. The WBF makes a major difference already, but it could do much more with greater financial support. I promise you, your gift will make a meaningful contribution to the well-being of the city’s wildlife. Thank you…and do drop by, with or without a wildlife escort.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing a red-tailed hawk released back into the wild.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of anything that doesn't depend on more money. With what they have, they do an amazing job.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Again, I can't think of anything that doesn't depend on more money: Having more regular staff would improve the volunteer experience.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes, volunteering at the WBF allows me to make a tangible contribution in an area of primary importance to me personally and to the planet as a whole.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Ooooh, many, many different ways: I spend a lot of time there! But I wouldn't go back if the overriding feeling weren't satisfaction.

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers