Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
66 Reviews
1234.954555
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
June 30, 2014

more

June 30, 2014

My daughter's hair was so long & she wanted to cut it. I had known about Lock of Love because of a high school classmate who donated his hair. So I search online for hair donations and found Wigs4Kids. I like it because it was just for kids. I wasn't sure about which organization to donate to so since her hair is thick she said she wanted to donate half to Locks Of Love & the other to Wigs4Kids. She donated 15 inches of hair in April of 2013. Now her hair is long enough to donate again but this time all to Wigs4Kids. We recieved an email last time of a certificate thanking my daughter for her donation so hopefully by now there is a child out there smiling with my daughter's hair on their head. I am so proud of my daughter for willing to donate her hair again that this time I'm hoping my hair is long enough to donate as well.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Maybe have a record of what wig has who's hair & take a picture of that child with the wig. I would LOVE to see who got my daughter's hair.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 23, 2013

more

June 23, 2013

My son had beautiful curly hair. I wanted to make his first hair cut a special experience. So a co worker referred me to W4kids, her daughter had recently donated there. Once we arrived we were greeted right away and everyone was so warm and friendly. My son is six yrs. old, he was three at the time and still remembers doing such a wonderful thing for other kids. Maggie and her staff are great!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

June 15, 2013

more

June 15, 2013

I cut of 29" of my hair for these little kids it only took around a 1 1/2ish to grow it to that length and it got pretty heavy but I hung in the ,taking vitamins and taking good care of it while it grew like a weed,lolol...it is my honor to donate this for these children who will be happy and more comfortable in life dealing with serious illness. god bless them all and I wish them all the best...christine

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 14, 2013

more

June 14, 2013

12 inches where just sent in today... I have done this for many years.... since I learned of it as a kid.... Cost Cutters sending it today. I'm happy I could donate my hair for my possible 8th time? That's my aprox... and I plan on continuing to donate and rope more into it. Hope my donation is useful borfsomeone out there.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes needed from what I saw

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 12, 2013

more

June 12, 2013

My 6 year old daughter had heard about this great program through school and could not wait to participate. We entered the facility and were immediately greeted by warm, happy faces. My daughter, who was donating, along with her older sisters were taken on a tour and explained every detail how Wigs for Kids helps kids in need. She got to see wigs awaiting their owners, watch a video and see memory books of kids who have been helped. The salon service made my daughter feel special throughout her new hair cut. She even recieved a gift and a follow up phone call thanking her and asking if SHE had any questions. This is a wonderful organization and should be commended on their work enriching the lives of our youth! Well done! My daughter has inspired her sisters and they each will be returning to donate soon!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2013

more

June 12, 2013

Ciao! I'm a 24 years old italian girl who has donated her hair to W4K one year and half ago. I think it's deeply human what this association does every day... I'm proud of having helped W4K in giving some happiness to kids who have definately grown too fast for their age!! I will spreading the word to all the people I know (expecially because there's no associationi like this in Italy!!!) because I think it's a duty of everyone to support associations like them (and in such a simple way)! Hope my hair will grows again queekly just to be able to send it to you again :D

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

create a branch also in Italy....

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 12, 2013

more

June 12, 2013

I recently donated 12 inches to W4K. I chose W4K because of the recipient comments and the great information on the website. Not enough people know that there are alternative options for where to send your donated hair. I will definately be spreading the word to all of my long haired friends. Thank you to all of the survivors for sharing your stories I will continue to grow my hair and donate it as long as I can to help as many strong kids as I can!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a thing!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2013

more

June 12, 2013

In may of 2011 our staff decided to do a benefit to sponsor a child for a wig. I cannot say enough about Maggie and her staff. I had a wonderful tour of their facility to better understand just how thorough and intensive her program is. They put their heart and soul into the children. It's not just a wig they receive but the entire family gets the love and support off the whole staff so they can in turn love and support their sick child. I left there humbled and amazed. I went back to my staff on fire to have a successful benefit and sponsor a child to receive a wig.
Wigs 4 kids is truly a one of a kind non profit!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

My twins decided that they wanted to cut their hair, and decided to donate their hair. We went to the facility in St. Clair Shores Mi to get their hair cut and see the facility that gives children their wigs.
The experience was great. The hair stylist did an excellent job giving each girl
their own style, and the receptionist was very friendly and informative. She showed us the room where young children, get their wigs, the room where teenagers get their wigs, and can also come back for proms and have hair and make up done for them. Then we saw the family room where they have events so that the recipients of wigs can get together and meet other children that are going through similar situations. We also saw a picture of one of the teenagers that models, the receptionist told us that she actually won best hair in .one of her events. They had no idea that she was wearing a wigs for kids wig. My daughters can't wait to go back again!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do nothing

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

My daughters and I have each donated hair two times, and Wigs 4 Kids is our favorite place to send our locks because we love that this organization is local, that children can receive multiple wigs over the course of their need, and that the wigs are fitted so children can wear them swimming and while playing sports. THANK YOU for a wonderful option for us to choose. It's an easy way for us to help ... and truly a gift which touches our heart.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Support Wigs 4 Kids with administrative tasks and prepare for fundraisers. Volunteer