Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
66 Reviews
1234.954555
| 1 ... 3 4 5...7 |
Write A Review
June 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

When my oldest daughter lost 80% of her hair, Maggie and her staff welcomed our family with open arms. They were supportive, provided resources and educated us. They are an amazing organization! We have since sent a couple of friends their way for services. We have encouraged many, many people to donate hair as well. Just a few weeks ago, my younger daughter proudly made her hair donation. Wigs4Kids changed our lives and the lives of countless other children. We are forever indebted to them!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Wigs for Kids, Inc. not only is a great organization for its beneficiaries, but it is also a great organization for donors. I have only donated once, but I plan to be a regular donor in the future. Wigs for Kids, Inc. appreciates its donors. Not only have I received thanks for my donations, but the organization has made a point to keep me posted on the impact my donation has made.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It would be nice if Wigs for Kids, Inc. expanded its services beyond Michigan (I am in the Philadelphia area). But, in order to build capacity, it needs OUR support!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

When I decided to donate my hair, I searched online for an organization that does not charge patients for the wigs. I emailed Maggie to ensure that wigs were given free of charge to kids and other patients. Maggie assured me that they are provided totally free of charge to all patients. I decided to donate my hair to Wigs 4 Kids because, not only do they give wigs to kids, they are also based in my home state of Michigan. Because of my positive experience with Wigs 4 Kids, two of my co-worker got their hair cut and donated it to Wigs 4 Kids. I donated $20 for a t-shirt with my hair donation. I proudly wear my t-shirt and continue to recommend this awesome organization to my friends and family. I am undecided about growing my hair long enough to donate it again. But, if I decide to donate my hair again, I will chose Wigs 4 Kids again!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

W4K is a very dedicated, wonderful atmosphere to be in. Maggie and Kim have a heart of gold and work from their heart and soul. I have never felt so at peace and welcomed every time I was there to volunteer, my mother Virginia worked along side with me when she could and we always looked forward to helping them out any way we could. Maggie and Kim are very special people and the whole staff make it possible to have them be where W4K is today. What a wonderful company to help so many kids and people in need. Keep up the great job! We miss you! Casandra Dennis and Virginia DeKruif..

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

W4K has completely changed my daughters life. Maggie is a extraordinary lady with an enormous heart. We heard about her from another young girl who had been a client after my daughter lost her hair in 5th grade. She has Alopecia. My daughter was outgoing and very active- competitive dancer. She started to withdraw and wore hats all the time. Then she started to pull away from dance because she was embarrassed to be on stage. One simple call was all it took. Maggie does EVERY appointment herself in special rooms set up for her clients for comfort and privacy. They receive rockstar service and attention. And the parents and siblings are a part of it too. My daughter has been with the foundation for almost three years now. Maggie counsels, supports, and loves each and every child. All services r free to the families. Even after a serious bout with very cruel public bullying, my daughter stands strong and confident and that is largely due to Maggie, the great ladies, and other fabulous kids at W4K.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My 14 year old daughter was diagnosed with cancer this year and it completely turned our life upside down. Throughout this terrible diagnosis and treatment we have blessed with amazing things to help us get through this time in our lives. Wigs 4 Kids is one of those blessings! The more people this organization can help the better. Hair is so important to our children's self esteem and socialization and having a wig that looks like her natural hair was a huge advantage when my daughter started to lose her hair. She just started to wear the wig and it is so real looking no one even knew it was a wig and she is comfortable going out in public and being with her friends and it was just one more blessing to make this experience a little easier for her and our family. And not only do they provide these temporary and permanent wigs for free they also hold workshops and classes and have outings where these kids and parents can get together at no cost and just have a good time together or learn something new. From the bottom of my heart I am so thankful to Maggie and her staff they are so professional, caring and knowledgeable. This organization is amazing and the people that work there are truly making kids lives better with what they are doing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My daughters and I have donated hair to Wigs 4 Kids a few times in the past. Last weekend (11/10/12) my daughters (Emily, 6, and Stephanie, 10) donated another ponytail each. They were greeted by the founder who immediately noticed that my daughters had short hair and inquired about their donation! We were given a tour of the facility, and were even shown a few completed wigs. We were impressed with not only the cleanliness of the facility, the beautiful salon, the amazing staff, and how personable the founder was.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

Wigs 4 Kids is a wonderful non-profit that not only provides wigs for children with illness resulting in hair loss but also restores their self-esteem. I have had the pleasure of volunteering for Wigs 4 Kids since it's beginning and have watched it grow from a small grassroots organization run out of an 800 square foot salon into the Wigs 4 Kids Wellness Center that now provides hair prosthetics to hundreds of children a year. Maggie Varney founded the organization and her love of these kids and passion for the cause has driven her to help so many children. In addition to providing wigs, support services such as music therapy, nutrition classes and counseling for the kids and their families are available. It is important to these kids to look like their peers and with bullying being so prevalent in society making sure these kids feel good about themselves is vital. To witness the positive reaction these kids have when they receive their wigs is beyond heart-warming. Many of the families report that their children's grades, relationships and all around outlook improves after receiving their wig. Maggie and Wigs 4 Kids are truly making a difference in a lot of lives and touching a lot of hearts!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2012

more

November 3, 2012

When I received the Wigs-4-Kids newsletter while at work and later read it, I knew that this organization was just what our organization was looking for to help the people in the Community. Since, 2005 the Detroit Region (Michigan) of White Castle System, Inc. has been devoted to raising funds to help this very woth organization. Maggie Varney the founder of this wonderful organization puts her heart and soul into everything she does for these exceptionally wonderful children in this program. Wigs-4-Kids does a wonderful job in helping the children in some of their many challeging day to day experiences. I have never seen an organization more devoted to children, let alone the CEO provides hands on love, compassion, services, skills, devotion, time and the list goes on and on. The devotion and attention that Maggie and her wonderful staff provides is just one lf the many things that drew me to become a volunteer for Wigs-4-Kids. My co-workers always look forward to our yearly and some times twice a year fundraisers and they love to compete to see which person and/or location can raise the most funds and to attend the Annual Wigs-4-Kids Gala. Being a Board Member is just a plus to be able to be a part of helping out and interacting with the Children. If anyone really wants to know whT Wigs-4-Kids is all about just stop by and take a tour of the Wellness Center and come to the Galaand meet some of the loveliest children around. I gaurantee you will be touched by the wonderful things this organization provides for these children!! Cheryl

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2012

more

November 3, 2012

Our family was first introduced to Wigs4Kids from our friend, John. He was getting chemo treatments at the Van Elslander Cancer center where he met Ms. Maggie and saw her interaction with the children there. When he died of his cancer his wife Jenifer requested that donations were to Wigs4Kids because she knew how much John thought this charity. When my daughter, Christine suddenly lost 80% of her hair to Alopecia my mother in law suggested we consider John's charity. I made a call and was placed with an appointment that changed Chrisine. Christine, Mom, and her 2 sisters were at the appointment. She was very apprehensive over all that was going on so quickly. Gently Maggie talked to her about her Alopecia and how she was going to get her a wig that will make her feel better about herself. We went home feeling much better about everything. Christine got her wig and her self esteem improved immensly. The center has fun classes,like painting and baking, that are meant to bring the children together to see the common issue of no hair and not even realize that it is therapeutic that they are not " the only one". Christine knows first hand how good her wig makes her feel and on her own did fundraising with her school(spirt week) to provide a wig for another child. This empowered her to know she can make a difference. Thank you Ms Maggie and your organiztion for making a positve difference in my childs life!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

| 1 ... 3 4 5...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Support Wigs 4 Kids with administrative tasks and prepare for fundraisers. Volunteer