Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
80 Reviews
1234.86255
Write A Review
June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

I had been driving pass Go Green Salon for several years, and I kept thinking to myself.......I will stop in there sometime. Well one day I did, I was greeted by the sweetest woman, and quickly realized there was a great synergy there. I have volunteer a few times now and just love it! the young people that come in there to get a wig..............well they get so much more. They are received with compassion, love, kindness, understanding, laughter and joy. Some of the children have cancer and some have Alopecia, and I will say these children make the rest of us want to be brave like them. Thank you Maggie and your team for caring enough to do something about this, and to show that they are not alone, and that there are people who care, willing to come along side and help out!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

My twins decided that they wanted to cut their hair, and decided to donate their hair. We went to the facility in St. Clair Shores Mi to get their hair cut and see the facility that gives children their wigs.
The experience was great. The hair stylist did an excellent job giving each girl
their own style, and the receptionist was very friendly and informative. She showed us the room where young children, get their wigs, the room where teenagers get their wigs, and can also come back for proms and have hair and make up done for them. Then we saw the family room where they have events so that the recipients of wigs can get together and meet other children that are going through similar situations. We also saw a picture of one of the teenagers that models, the receptionist told us that she actually won best hair in .one of her events. They had no idea that she was wearing a wigs for kids wig. My daughters can't wait to go back again!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do nothing

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

I have been a volunteer with Wigs for Kids for a little over two years, and I'm amazed every time I'm involved with them, every person that comes through there doors leaves with a smile on their face, their self-esteem brighter, confidence within themselves much higher, and they all feel like they are part of a family. Wigs for Kids not only do they makes Wigs for Kids they build stronger, happier, more confident people. I am blessed to be part of such a wonderful place, Maggie and the staff are an amazing group of people that never stop giving.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change a thing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My daughters and I have each donated hair two times, and Wigs 4 Kids is our favorite place to send our locks because we love that this organization is local, that children can receive multiple wigs over the course of their need, and that the wigs are fitted so children can wear them swimming and while playing sports. THANK YOU for a wonderful option for us to choose. It's an easy way for us to help ... and truly a gift which touches our heart.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

Our 9 year old daughter was diagnosed with alopecia last fall. She suffered complete hair loss very rapidly. Working with Wigs 4 Kids has been an amazing experience. We were invited to meet for a fitting locally, as representatives happened to be in town for a meeting on our side of the state. Their willingness to grant us the time in their already busy schedule proved their love of what they do, and the kids they do it for. They truly understand how kids are feeling during this hard time, and talk to them at their level to help them cope. The wig we received was fantastic. We are very grateful to the sponsors and the staff at Wigs 4 Kids. We love them!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

I have been a proud supporter of Wigs 4 Kids since it's start. This organization provides a critical service to kids when they need it most. The staff, lead by Maggie, are not only skilled professionals, but perform their jobs with heartfelt love and respect for the children they service.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Wigs4Kids definitely fills a need in this community. I remember when my son was in need of a wig during his bout with Hodgkins. We bought it when his hair was falling out due to the chemo treatments and had it trimmed by a barber in the same building as the wig provider. What a mess.

But,
he wore it every day. That's how important it was to him to have that shield. He went through 3 of them before he was cancer free and his hair grew back.

Now, we have a tremendous resource in Wigs4Kids. They provide the wig for free to the child and update it before it's needed. It is custom made and looks as natural as can be. The dedicated staff is knowledgeable, caring, efficient and hard working. They are a treasure to this community and an asset to any group that works with them.

The long and short of it is just this: They love these kids and it shows. And we love them for what they do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

shoot myself

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

Wigs4KIds is that one in a million group of people that you find once in your life. A review could never do the justice of the dedication, heart and true passion this organization has. You have to see it and feel it to believe it! Wigs4Kids is truly and amazing organization and strives everyday to help every one and anyone that they can. I urge everyone to stop by and see what Wigs4Kids is all about or go to just one event with this group and see truly what it is all about. Your heart will be captured. Thank you for everything you do and everything that you are going to do!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Wigs4Kids is unlike any other organization. Everything is free to the kids it helps, and it's because of donations that this is possible. Maggie works endless hours to get the message out about Wigs4Kids, and on top of that she is woking with the families to fulfill their needs and to bring a smile to their deserving child. The results of her efforts, and her staff, are unbelievable. No child is turned away. I am proud to volunteer for such a great organization, I wish I could help out even more.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

... do nothing. This business model is tuned and running just fine the way it is.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

The Wigs 4 Kids program gave our granddaughter a complete transformation that changed how she felt about herself. She was getting chemo at Motts Children's Hospital. Hunter Marie has bone cancer and because of the treatment she was without hair for a long time.. A family friend suggest W4K and we went to see Maggie. From the very first visit Hunter's esteem was lifted through the roof! They fit her with a beautiful natural hair wig. The kindness of Maggie and her staff is unmeasurable with just a star. They ARE the stars.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing! In addition to the wigs, they have art therapy, healthy cooking, counseling...They also offer other programs to benefit the kids.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Support Wigs 4 Kids with administrative tasks and prepare for fundraisers. Volunteer