Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
65 Reviews
1234.953855
| 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
June 12, 2013

more

June 12, 2013

Ciao! I'm a 24 years old italian girl who has donated her hair to W4K one year and half ago. I think it's deeply human what this association does every day... I'm proud of having helped W4K in giving some happiness to kids who have definately grown too fast for their age!! I will spreading the word to all the people I know (expecially because there's no associationi like this in Italy!!!) because I think it's a duty of everyone to support associations like them (and in such a simple way)! Hope my hair will grows again queekly just to be able to send it to you again :D

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

create a branch also in Italy....

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 12, 2013

more

June 12, 2013

I recently donated 12 inches to W4K. I chose W4K because of the recipient comments and the great information on the website. Not enough people know that there are alternative options for where to send your donated hair. I will definately be spreading the word to all of my long haired friends. Thank you to all of the survivors for sharing your stories I will continue to grow my hair and donate it as long as I can to help as many strong kids as I can!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a thing!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Last year my 8yr old daughter was diagnosed with ovarian cancer and had to get a very strong dosage of chemo she lost her hair immediately. I knew of wigs 4 kids from when i donated my hair but i didn't know what to expect until we went in for our appointment. She was feeling so down when she lost her hair so fast, you can try to prepare kids for something like that but they don't honestly understand until its gone, W4K was able to gave her a wig that same day and they boosted her confidence back up so much when she got her wig she felt like the princesses that she truly is. W4K is so awesome they do so much more for the kids then just give them a wig they help make you feel beautiful again there is all kinds of stuff they do for you they always have classes fun activities going on and so much more they really focus on you and your family needs and they help to give those kids back so much confidence they had lost. W4K is not a 5 star they are off the chart we thank GOD every day for putting them in our lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

CHANGE NOTHING!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2013

more

June 12, 2013

In may of 2011 our staff decided to do a benefit to sponsor a child for a wig. I cannot say enough about Maggie and her staff. I had a wonderful tour of their facility to better understand just how thorough and intensive her program is. They put their heart and soul into the children. It's not just a wig they receive but the entire family gets the love and support off the whole staff so they can in turn love and support their sick child. I left there humbled and amazed. I went back to my staff on fire to have a successful benefit and sponsor a child to receive a wig.
Wigs 4 kids is truly a one of a kind non profit!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

Wigs 4 kids answer my prayers, when my Princess was undergoing Chemo for wilms tumor! With The great staff, within 3 week my girl came out from The salon smiling

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More locations

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

I had been driving pass Go Green Salon for several years, and I kept thinking to myself.......I will stop in there sometime. Well one day I did, I was greeted by the sweetest woman, and quickly realized there was a great synergy there. I have volunteer a few times now and just love it! the young people that come in there to get a wig..............well they get so much more. They are received with compassion, love, kindness, understanding, laughter and joy. Some of the children have cancer and some have Alopecia, and I will say these children make the rest of us want to be brave like them. Thank you Maggie and your team for caring enough to do something about this, and to show that they are not alone, and that there are people who care, willing to come along side and help out!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

My twins decided that they wanted to cut their hair, and decided to donate their hair. We went to the facility in St. Clair Shores Mi to get their hair cut and see the facility that gives children their wigs.
The experience was great. The hair stylist did an excellent job giving each girl
their own style, and the receptionist was very friendly and informative. She showed us the room where young children, get their wigs, the room where teenagers get their wigs, and can also come back for proms and have hair and make up done for them. Then we saw the family room where they have events so that the recipients of wigs can get together and meet other children that are going through similar situations. We also saw a picture of one of the teenagers that models, the receptionist told us that she actually won best hair in .one of her events. They had no idea that she was wearing a wigs for kids wig. My daughters can't wait to go back again!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do nothing

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

I have been a volunteer with Wigs for Kids for a little over two years, and I'm amazed every time I'm involved with them, every person that comes through there doors leaves with a smile on their face, their self-esteem brighter, confidence within themselves much higher, and they all feel like they are part of a family. Wigs for Kids not only do they makes Wigs for Kids they build stronger, happier, more confident people. I am blessed to be part of such a wonderful place, Maggie and the staff are an amazing group of people that never stop giving.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change a thing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

My daughters and I have each donated hair two times, and Wigs 4 Kids is our favorite place to send our locks because we love that this organization is local, that children can receive multiple wigs over the course of their need, and that the wigs are fitted so children can wear them swimming and while playing sports. THANK YOU for a wonderful option for us to choose. It's an easy way for us to help ... and truly a gift which touches our heart.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

Our 9 year old daughter was diagnosed with alopecia last fall. She suffered complete hair loss very rapidly. Working with Wigs 4 Kids has been an amazing experience. We were invited to meet for a fitting locally, as representatives happened to be in town for a meeting on our side of the state. Their willingness to grant us the time in their already busy schedule proved their love of what they do, and the kids they do it for. They truly understand how kids are feeling during this hard time, and talk to them at their level to help them cope. The wig we received was fantastic. We are very grateful to the sponsors and the staff at Wigs 4 Kids. We love them!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Support Wigs 4 Kids with administrative tasks and prepare for fundraisers. Volunteer