Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
80 Reviews
1234.86255
Write A Review
September 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I first heard about Wigs 4 Kids when I was approached by a Board Member to attend the gala. I was blown away by the stories the children told, and what Maggie has been able to do for them! It is comforting to know that if something were to happen to my children, or any of their friends, that they would have a place to go that feels like home and truly takes care of them!
September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

I had heard about Wigs 4 Kids from a friend who used their services while undergoing cancer treatments. When I was much younger, I used to donate my hair to Wigs 4 Kids. I had recently moved to the area and decided to come check out Wigs 4 Kids and their Wellness Center. I was overwhelmed with the amount of services that they offer to kids. Between wigs, counseling, music, art and drama therapy, nutrition classes etc. - and all FREE OF COST! They never turn a child away - and are always there to help. What a great way to run an organization! The kids of Michigan are lucky to have Maggie around to help them when going through a difficult time.
September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

How I became a Client of Go Green Salon, was quite unusual. I was there on a business meeting with an inexpensive wig on, having a hot flash. Geez could it get any worse. Maggie looked and me and said stay after the meeting I think I can help you.
Maggie being the caring person she is
took me into a private room and we tried on many hairpieces. Which were beautiful, and of course I had to order one. But the caring she showed me that day is the, same caring that she shares with every one of her children. Believe me when I say that they are her children, she will go the extra mile to make sure every child is believing in themselves and confident in the way they look. I don’t think that there is a day that goes by that she is not thinking how to make a child’s life better, or even a older Italian thinning hair ladies life better.
Thank you Maggie for all you do!
September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

Volunteering with Wigs 4 Kids has been and is a great opportunity. The staff is very supportive of the families and you can tell they really care. I helped out at their annual event and it was nice to see the difference that they make.
June 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My daughter's hair was so long & she wanted to cut it. I had known about Lock of Love because of a high school classmate who donated his hair. So I search online for hair donations and found Wigs4Kids. I like it because it was just for kids. I wasn't sure about which organization to donate to so since her hair is thick she said she wanted to donate half to Locks Of Love & the other to Wigs4Kids. She donated 15 inches of hair in April of 2013. Now her hair is long enough to donate again but this time all to Wigs4Kids. We recieved an email last time of a certificate thanking my daughter for her donation so hopefully by now there is a child out there smiling with my daughter's hair on their head. I am so proud of my daughter for willing to donate her hair again that this time I'm hoping my hair is long enough to donate as well.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Maybe have a record of what wig has who's hair & take a picture of that child with the wig. I would LOVE to see who got my daughter's hair.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 27, 2010

I used to donate my hair to Locks of Love, however, I had moved back to Michigan in 2006, I read an article in the NY Times about Wigs4Kids, and was happy to know that this organization gives much mor... more

April 15, 2014

A completely dedicated company that supplies wigs and well-being for children without hair for free. All proceeds go directly to the kids. Maggie Varney, Board Members and volunteers are outstanding. I cannot give enough kudos to this wonderfully run organization. Please look at their website and donate. Sincerely,
Jeanne Ingram

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 27, 2010

I used to donate my hair to Locks of Love, however, I had moved back to Michigan in 2006, I read an article in the NY Times about Wigs4Kids, and was happy to know that this organization gives much more than just wigs to children with hair loss; they uplift these kids morale, and allow them to become part of their family. They provide assistance with grooming and feeling good about themselves, especially in their time of despair. Best of all, Wigs4Kids is located right in my neighborhood of St. Clair Shores, Michigan. I walked in to a warm welcome from Maggie Varney and her staff and had my long hair cut for the last time. (Before I started dyeing it). Whenever I donate to charity, I make sure that the moneys will be well spent and not wasted. This is obvious in the spirit and the growth of Wigs4Kids, especially these last few years. Once a year Wigs4Kids throws a wonderful fundraising dinner with lovely donated prizes and inspirational messages from the wig recipients and the founder, Maggie Varney. Everyone who attends finds the evening a great experience, one we talk about all year long! We always look so forward to the next one!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

watching them grow from a very small space to a complete wellness center, just opened this month.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

its dedication to its mission.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

superb.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

help so many children in pain.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 18, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 13, 2013

We appreciate the donors to this charity. Our daughter came upon the Alopecia disease and her self esteem had suffered. Thanks to Maggie and WIgs 4 Kids , she now has a more confident outlook. For ... more

October 18, 2013

I know wigs for kids is the most personable and caring place. They think of the kids 100 percent. They have helped my daughter tremendously. There is no other organization that cares that much about the kids and their well being.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 13, 2013

We appreciate the donors to this charity. Our daughter came upon the Alopecia disease and her self esteem had suffered. Thanks to Maggie and WIgs 4 Kids , she now has a more confident outlook. For those that are thinking of donating , in anyway possible , this is THE BEST organization to consider.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 23, 2013

more

June 23, 2013

My son had beautiful curly hair. I wanted to make his first hair cut a special experience. So a co worker referred me to W4kids, her daughter had recently donated there. Once we arrived we were greeted right away and everyone was so warm and friendly. My son is six yrs. old, he was three at the time and still remembers doing such a wonderful thing for other kids. Maggie and her staff are great!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

June 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As the former Mayor of St. Clair Shores, I have personally seen Maggie Varney build Wigs 4 Kids from the ground up. My wife, Nancy and I are very proud to be a part of this wonderful organization. The smiles on the faces of the kids and their parents is heartwarming for all to see. We are most proud that she has chosen to showcase the wellness center in St. Clair Shores. I really think they deserve 10 stars!

Robert A. Hison

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 19, 2013

more

June 19, 2013

Wigs4Kids is all about the kids. It's a positive force in kids' lives who are fighting against negatives. It gives Kids who've lost their hair to cancer or other reasons the chance to again be just like all the other kids. Kids can be so cruel to anyone who is less than perfect. If you're struggling with cancer, why should you have to struggle with that too?!? Adults can go anywhere for a wig but Kid's wigs have to be made for them. And once you're one of Maggie's Kids, you're always be taken care of by W4K. There are so many ways to help. Grow your hair and donate! Participate in the W4K events and volunteer your time and if you donate money, know that all $ go to the Kids. Everyone is a volunteer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

win the lottery and set up a foundation to keep it going forever.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Support Wigs 4 Kids with administrative tasks and prepare for fundraisers. Volunteer