Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
40 Reviews
1234.955
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 12, 2014

more

November 12, 2014

From the moment I learned of their existence [formerly World Hunger Year] I knew I had to be a part of this group of dedicated people with a common purpose, the elimination of hunger and poverty and the exponential increase of self-reliance in food and educational outreach.
My Story getting
here:
~ As I sat on the floor of my college gym in 1978 and heard Harry Chapin perform his concert, I was awestruck. Between songs, he spoke of the need to "Do Something when ever we can to make the obscenity of hunger vanish in our lifetime!" Through these words and the songs he sang, I was "hooked"!
When I finally arrived at their New York office in 1992 and began our relationship, it became a labor of love and a true shared experience - a mission now 22 years and counting.
.
From my 1st day stuffing envelopes thru the many benefit concerts and soon, the upcoming annual radio / online fundraiser, Hungerthon 2014, I AM part of a great family. Not just with those I work with on events and programs but, with everyone who makes a difference by participating in WHY Hunger's ethos of commitment to this common goal. Those who give money, time, energy and talent. As well as moral and spiritual support which make our goal that much more attainable.
This is at the core of who this organization is and it started with the two men who inspired me to action - The co-founders, Bill Ayres and Harry Chapin!
Now coming into their 40th year of service, WHY Hunger's tree has many branches. With Grass Roots initiatives such as the recently launched online resource, Building Community Power: A Grassroots Approach to Building Regional Networks for Food Justice to championing the implementation of substantive governmental and global policy change to eliminate hunger to fostering steadfast relationships with socially active / highly visible public personalities through their "Artist Against Hunger and Poverty" and by partnering with Hard Rock Cafe International and Yoko Ono for the annual "Imagine There's No Hunger" campaign - both of which bring the message to the masses thru music that no effort is to small and everyone can make a difference.

I am grateful, committed and truly hopeful that more people will join in these efforts and continue to do what they can - whenever they can!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Be more proactive daily instead of on and event to need basis

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

I'm honored to serve as a volunteer for this organization for over 15 years, The organization has changed to stay relevant, but the overall goal remains the same. You could not find a more dedicated staff, which is a major reason why over 90% of their donations go to the need and not administrative costs.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

I have been a Volunteer and contributor to WhyHunger for many years. I have watched as the organization has evolved and changed but never lost focus of the primary goal. I am proud to volunteer and to contribute to this stellar organization.

Mitch W.
October 28, 2014

more


1 previous review
December 22, 2009

My direct involvement with World Hunger Year began about 16 years ago, when I began volunteering with the annual Hungerthon. I was impressed with the organization's commitment to investing in organiza... more

October 28, 2014

I have volunteered with WhyHunger for over 20 years because WhyHunger is one of the most committed, dedicated and positive staff I've ever known. I especially admire WhyHunger's philosophy of re-investing in the people it helps. WhyHunger helps with the immediate needs of the poor and hungry, while working to get people out of the trappings of poverty. WhyHunger supports grassroots organizations, like soup kitchens with work skills programs, that enable people to become self-reliant. The WhyHunger staff are energetic, creative people who are always expanding our reach to innovative solutions to poverty and hunger.
December 22, 2009

My direct involvement with World Hunger Year began about 16 years ago, when I began volunteering with the annual Hungerthon. I was impressed with the organization's commitment to investing in organizations that addressed the immediate needs of hunger and who also had programs, like work programs, to help people get out of the trappings of poverty....The volunteers and staff of World Hunger Year have an amazingly energetic enthusiasm for their work. I am proud and happy to be a small part of that energy.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

tirelessly committed to solving the problems of World Hunger while being forever cheerful and kind in all the work they do.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

I have been involved with WHYHunger for almost thirty years. A magnificent organization with the most dedicated staff.. they are always looking for new ways to support the promotion of self reliance.
Sad that we still have hunger... grateful that WhyHunger is here to address these complex
issues.
May 6, 2013

more

May 6, 2013

WhyHunger asks the important question, why is there hunger and poverty in a wealthy nation? And then they inspire others to ask the same question and step forward with long term, sustainable solutions. Through their vast network and resources, WhyHunger helps small non-profits grow and maintain their community gardens.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 6, 2013

more

May 6, 2013

I've had the pleasure of working with the team at WhyHunger for the past few years, and have found their compassion for the community and commitment to the cause to be both inspiring and impactful. Bill, Noreen, and the team have a clear vision for the organization and exhibit the on-going dedication needed to pursue and execute that vision. Although my role has been small -- I've held up signs outside of TV studios during Hungerthon, and helped their communications team optimize their online efforts -- it has been truly rewarding. Every small gesture, donation, or effort of support is a treated as a step forward in the war against hunger and poverty in our world. Thank you WhyHunger for providing a platform to serve.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 2, 2013

more

May 2, 2013

WhyHunger is a great organization that fights hunger on a immediate and long-term basis. The National Hunger Hotline provides hungry people with direct sources of food everyday. WhyHunger's work with grassroot organizations ensures that people have healthy and nutritious food sources now and in the future. It is a nonprofit that strives to make a difference in the lives of millions of people worldwide when many of them have gone unnoticed by mainstream media and general public. WhyHunger shines a bright light on one of the most common problems that people worldwide face and for that, they are a leader in the fight against hunger.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 30, 2013

more

April 30, 2013

WhyHunger has flourished by sticking to their late founders message - "When in doubt, DO SOMETHING." WhyHunger not only spreads awareness of hunger in America, it enlightens individuals and organizations to do their part to alleviate hunger through healthy, eco-friendly, and economically sound practices. I had the pleasure of interning at WhyHunger in 2011 and have never been surrounded by more compassionate and forward-thinking individuals. They address every aspect of combating hunger and make connections that truly change lives. I grew so much in the short time I spent with WhyHunger and firmly believe that WhyHunger empowers individuals to get their hands dirty and 'Do Something.'

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 23, 2009

more

December 23, 2009

WHY is an organization of dedicated staff and volunteers working hard to find solutions for hunger and poverty in the world today. As a long time volunteer, I have met and spoken to msny of the recipients of the WHY's help and support and see the difference WHY has made in their lives. It is a really worthwhile organization.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

in a world of so much excess, there are so many people going without food. We can make a difference

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

so dedicated

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

WhyHunger is always seeking volunteers to assist with its programmatic and fundraising efforts! Specifically, we need volunteers to:

Answer calls to our National Hunger Hotline. If you are able to give 8 or more hours a week for an extended period of time, please give us a call!

Assist with our Hungerthon campaign. Tasks range from taking pledges to mailing auction prizes. If you are available to help in November, let us know!

Help out with our Artists Against Hunger & Poverty program. You may be asked to collect money from concert-goers, distribute information about the program, help out with administrative tasks and perhaps interact with our artist members! Volunteer